We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overpriced Tourist trap”
Review of Sea Lion Caves

Sea Lion Caves
Ranked #5 of 42 things to do in Florence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Considered the largest sea cave in the United States, this site is where Steller sea lions and their cubs take shelter each year. Sea Lion Caves is a privately owned wildlife preserve and bird sanctuary. The Caves has been in operation since 1932 preserving and protecting the wildlife under our care. We are open 363 days a year only closed on Christmas and Thanksgiving day. Our normal hours of operation are 9 am until dusk year round. We are not a zoo and the animals are free to come and go as they please. The sea lions can usually be found at either of four locations on the property; in the Cave, in the water, at the Lookout/rockery, and on other nearby rock ledges. HOWEVER, THE SEA LIONS ARE NOT ALWAYS IN THE CAVE OR MAY BE MIGRATING OUT OF AREA - THEY ARE WILD ANIMALS AND COME AND GO AS THE PLEASE. CALL AHEAD FOR INFORMATION. Self-guided are the rule, but guided tours are available.
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children
Silverdale, Washington
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Overpriced Tourist trap”
Reviewed 17 July 2014

I guess I went during the wrong month (August), because I saw maybe 20 sea lions, and for the price of admission, it was extremely disappointing. Don't expect to spend more than a half hour there, if that.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank bratzilla07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
William C, Guest Relations Manager at Sea Lion Caves, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review based on your visit to Sea Lion Caves. We are certainly sorry that you’re experience was less than expected. As you are probably aware, Sea Lion Caves is an all natural wildlife preserve. Non of the animals are kept in captivity and all are free to come and go as they please, so everyday is a unique experience at Sea Lion Caves.

Sea Lion Caves is much more than just a natural habitat for Sea Lions and other marine animals. Sea Lion Caves is proud that we are part of the Oregon/Cape Perpetua Marine Reserve. Sea Lion Caves is also the home of America’s largest sea cave, and some of the most incredible ocean vistas on the entire Pacific coast.

Here’s what a Trip Advisor guest said the day after your visit “Very Unique. We spent a couple of hours there. There are several lookout points on the cliffs. The cave is really cool and kind of surprisingly. Definitely worth the stop.”

Our admission price is $14.00 for adults, $13.00 for Seniors, Children 5 to 12 are $8.00 and Children under 4 are Free. Parking is Free.

We believe that our pricing is very competitively priced with similar “family friendly” attractions. Sea Lion Caves. We’re nothing short of wild!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,173 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    364
    387
    279
    103
    40
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lemont, Illinois
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“A tourist trap...and some good engineering”
Reviewed 17 July 2014

It is what it is. A place to appease the kids. Overpriced, with the typical gift shop. But you know what you're getting.
There's one screen to see into the cave thru. So hopefully you can get a place to stand/see. Not sure it was worth $14/adult, but whatever.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank barbarino2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 6 Contributor
90 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Be prepared for the smell”
Reviewed 15 July 2014

I loved seeing Sea Lions, but I recommend everyone needs to be prepared for the smell. After going down 280 ft into the caves you will walk into the caves where you will be faced with the smell of 100s of sea lions. Make sure to visit the caves as well as the lookout.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank haveatums
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Super Unique”
Reviewed 14 July 2014

My wife, son (8) and I toured the sea lion caves in July 2014. It was a cool, but a bit on the expensive side. It was super unique and we were glad that we stopped to tour the cave and outdoor viewing area.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Davis M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Casselberry, United States
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Expensive, but still a neat stop.”
Reviewed 13 July 2014

We were there in June and there were some sea lions in the cave. There were some pups and nursing moms, and some pregnant moms. It is an impressive grotto. We were able to get a $1 off admission on our mobile phones, so we saved a few dollars. The fudge in the fudge shop was delicious....especially the marionberry, and they gave out free samples. My kids enjoyed the pit stop. I wouldn't make it a destination, but if you are traveling up the coast its a good diversion for an hour or so.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Peri G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sea Lion Caves also viewed

Florence, Oregon Coast
 
Florence, Oregon Coast
Florence, Oregon Coast
 

Been to Sea Lion Caves? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing