We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great friendly place ”

Homegrown Public House
Ranked #10 of 94 Restaurants in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$10 - US$20
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Featuring Northwest Food and Beverages, a full bar and unique menu at modest prices.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
178 reviews
101 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Great friendly place ”
Reviewed 9 August 2014 via mobile

Wine flight and beer choices great. My wife had the chicken dinner and really enjoyed it. All the food we had was consistently high standard. And they sell dandelion and burdock soda. What could be better.

Helpful?
Thank Paul_K_Oregon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

214 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    126
    52
    20
    6
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Baker City, Oregon
Level Contributor
257 reviews
227 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
“Quaint local restaurant with great food”
Reviewed 5 August 2014

We stopped in today, Taco Tuesday, for our first visit. Wow! I had the albacore tuna fish n chips and a very nice pint of porter brew. The wife opted for the Onion rings with ketchup and Marion berry dipping sauce with a pint of Ginger beer. Delicious! The price for all of it was $32.
Good selection and unique fare. This place will do well and it has porch dinning as well.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Ratfink2u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eugene, Oregon
Level Contributor
139 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Good food, small plates”
Reviewed 31 July 2014

The food was delicious and the drinks were wonderful. We ordered onion rings and garlic fries as starters and they were both delicious. The garlic fries were my favorite of the two, perfectly seasoned. Everyone enjoyed their meals. I had a tuna sandwich which was delicious. The only complaint from the table is that without the appetizers everyone would have still been hungry after their mains.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank AndreaRae13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eugene, Oregon
Level Contributor
34 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Fabulous food”
Reviewed 31 July 2014

We heard about the new pub in Florence and had to give it a try. The food was excellent. We had a couple of appetizer between four of us and we all ordered something different. We found the found delicious and just the right size meal. We visited on Saturday around 5pm. The restaurant was not real busy and the service was fantastic. Highly recommend.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank pammy1955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff
Level Contributor
476 reviews
211 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 350 helpful votes
“GR8 Tasting, Unique, Organic Meals”
Reviewed 22 July 2014

A cozy, small, local place in an Historic building where everything served is organic & locally grown or sourced. It's only 1 block off Hwy 101, but not in the main walking district. I'd have never found it if I weren't across the street at the Pioneer Museum (also a gr8 stop-kids love the "Teacher's Rules").

Tues is $3 taco night and most of the tables were full & eating a variety of tacos (salmon, pull pork, etc) when I arrived at 5:30. I sat in the cozy bar where they featured several local brews and regional wines.

I wanted oysters, and there was only an appetizer on the menu. However, they created a perfect dinner for me with delicious cajun fried oysters, their cilantro slaw and wavy, gravy fries. It was freshly cooked, hot and delicious. I saw the fresh berry cobbler and a decadent brownie desert go by, but was full (thankfully) from my dinner. Server was new, but well coached and attentive.

It was interesting that nothing on the menu said anything about everything being local & organic and non-GMO. I asked after seeing the menu with several vegan options, sandwiches on "Dave's Killer Bread" and reading the Red Duck" catsup bottle. Guess the locals all know it! And now, so do we.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bchgrl9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Homegrown Public House also viewed

 
Florence, Oregon Coast
Florence, Oregon Coast
 

Been to Homegrown Public House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing