We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice room, sounded like a woodpecker in the ceiling though.”
Review of The Landmark Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Landmark Inn
Ranked #8 of 13 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Eugene, Oregon
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very nice room, sounded like a woodpecker in the ceiling though.”
Reviewed 1 January 2012

We stayed at this place in room 12 for a special evening on new years eve. After returning from the casino we noticed what seemed like a woodpecker in the ceiling (the office was closed). Shut the bathroom door and tried to ignore it but could not sleep a wink. The disturbing part is that when I confronted the desk early in the morning he asked "did you leave the bathroom window open"? I said no, it is 35 degrees outside why would I do that. He seemed to then be familiar with a problem that made the bathroom vent do this unless the window was open? Really?? I went back to the room cracked the window and tried to get a few winks, it appears that I "did not open it far enough". Very nice place, but not impressed with how this was handled at all. Don't try to sleep in room 12.

Room Tip: Do not pick room 12 if you want to sleep!!! They know about this problem and do not tell you!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank P D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
review88602, Owner at The Landmark Inn, responded to this review, 11 January 2012
Yes! We have "Very nice rooms"... We have hundreds of guests with us, who love the Landmark Inn. We are sorry that this guest experienced what sounded like a woodpecker in his room. It was not a woodpecker, although we have woodpeckers and many other wonderful birds in the woods that surrounds the Landmark Inn.
We are a modern Inn that practices going green. Room #12 is a new building that was built just 2 years ago. The bathroom vent fans have a small aluminum flap on them. The flap helps retain heat in your room until the vent fan is turned on.
When the wind outside blows just right (heavily, which it was) it would make the aluminum flap, in room #12, sound like a woodpecker. This was a very hard difficult phenomenon to find because it did not happen all of the time. A short time ago, we learned that if you opened the small window above the shower (about 1 inch) the air pressure in the room changes and the woodpecker sound stopped. Well now the woodpecker (aluminum flap) is gone altogether... The little aluminum flap has been ripped out.
In everyone of our rooms there is an information sheet that states that if you are having any kind of problem with your room, please contact the front desk or phone the provided phone number which contacts the owner directly. So far we have been able to solve just about every reasonable problem presented to us.
Come and stay with us! It is our goal to make you happy, just like the hundreds of other
guests that have stayed with us in the past. Have a great day! :-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

174 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    76
    60
    26
    6
    6
See reviews for
25
105
9
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 December 2011

This is 2nd time we have stayed here when visiting relatives for the Holidays and really get a good night's stay - excellent Continential breakfast with sausages and cheeses, lots of different kinds of begals, organic cereals and excellent coffee and teas. The Inn sits up on a hill and has a great view of the sand dunes and the River and is close to Old Town (at least our room did both times). Found the atmosphere to be very quiet and peaceful. Rooms are not like typical hotel but more like home - the new mattresses were a pleasant addition we did not expect. We felt price was very good and are some of the cleanest rooms we have ever stayed at!

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cindy123Ohio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woodland Park, Colorado
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 December 2011

The little missus and I have stayed at the Landmark Inn twice, and on the last occasion, we stayed for four days as a getaway/strategic planning retreat for our businesses. We spent many hours in our large room over the course of th\ose days. It was adequately appointed, although a newer television would have been a plus. The staff/owner was pleasant and helped make our stay pleasurable,

The inn sits atop a small hill, higher than all it's surroundings, all by itself, on the edge of old town. A great location for just about anyone. A nice view, nice room, nice staff, close to everything. A winning combination.

Just wish they allowed pets!!

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tim L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
review88602, Owner at The Landmark Inn, responded to this review, 6 December 2011
Thank you very much for sharing what you liked about our Inn!

We wanted to let you know that we were just inspected by the health department, and the inspector came from our rooms saying "You have the cleanest motel rooms in Florence! And there aren't too many of those!" This is the umpteenth year in a row they have told us this. Thank you!

And yes, everyone loves the comfortable new pillowtops!

We look forward to seeing you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 November 2011

I stayed in July with a friend, and we did stay in the least expensive room. If the hotel improved the mattresses, I would stay again, but let's just say the springs in the mattress got to me after two nights (and my request to be switched to another room was not honored unless I paid the difference). Not sure if our choice of (least expensive) room was an indicator of the mattress quality, or if all the rooms have similar mattresses. I'd rather pay more elsewhere to ensure a comfortable mattress.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank newvolution
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
review88602, Owner at The Landmark Inn, responded to this review, 16 November 2011
Dear Readers,
We now have all new pillow-top mattresses. We welcome you to the Landmark Inn to try them out. Have a wonderful day...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Redmond, Oregon
1 review
Reviewed 14 October 2011

We stayed two nights in one of the small rooms, which was adequate for our needs. The location is just two blocks from the waterfront, with shops and places to eat great seafood. While the room was clean, I felt that the towels need to be retired as they were rather dingy. The tv in our room was small and rather old. A flat screen would update the room considerably. A major concern was there is no security lock on the door; a doorknob lock with old fashioned key is all there was. In all our years of travel, we've never stayed where there was no inside latch or deadbolt.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ava W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
review88602, Owner at The Landmark Inn, responded to this review, 16 November 2011
Dear Readers,
Please read all of our reviews. Every day guests tell us how much they love staying here.

We have visited and stayed at many small inns all around the US, which have door locks just like ours. In 18 years of business, we have not had any problems. A host lives on the premises at all times.

The towel supplier calls our towel color 'beige.' Different shipments do have shade differences, but none of our towels are dingy. They are beige.

About 80% of the motels in Florence have 'old-fashioned' TVs. Our newest spa rooms have 42" flatscreen TVs. Please try Rooms #11 and #12 for the newest TVs.

And by the way, we just got all new pillow-top mattresses!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbia, Missouri
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2011

This hotel was easy to find as it sits higher than most everything else in town. The staff was very friendly and helpful. It had been a cool rainy day and we were offered hot chocolate when we walked in. How nice and welcoming! The beds were just a bit hard, but the place was squeaky clean. My husband is a builder and we wondered about the placement of some of the lights (not ideal) but overall, we were satisfied. Good price, too! I would recommend The Landmark Inn to anyone!

Room Tip: We had room 7. If you have difficulties with stairs, choose a room on the ground floor. This has no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MissouriBlondie_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
review88602, Owner at The Landmark Inn, responded to this review, 16 November 2011
Dear Readers,
We have all new pillow-top mattresses. We would be happy to accommodate you on your next trip to Florence.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ukiah, California
2 reviews
Reviewed 25 August 2011

We were so pleased to have found this place! The service was the best. Thank you to the very best hosts (specially Ron and Ronald).
The room was comfortable and cozy.
We will come back for sure.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jessica B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
0.2 mi away
Old Town Inn
Old Town Inn
#2 of 13 in Florence
1,983 reviews
0.7 mi away
Best Western Pier Point Inn
0.2 mi away
Lighthouse Inn
Lighthouse Inn
#11 of 13 in Florence
164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#9 of 13 in Florence
172 reviews
1.3 mi away
Three Rivers Casino Resort
0.4 mi away
Le Chateau Motel
Le Chateau Motel
#12 of 13 in Florence
64 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Landmark Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Landmark Inn

Property: The Landmark Inn
Address: 1551 4th St, Florence, OR 97439-7606
Region: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Florence
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 13 Hotels in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — The Landmark Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Now rated #1 in Florence on one booking site, one of the "Top 3 in Florence Lodging" on another travel/review site, and top ratings on a second booking site. We have just 12 unique rooms that we built in 1998 and 2008. We sit up on a hilltop, a half-block off the main highway. We are a safe, clean and quiet inn with no bridge or highway noise. Many rooms have bay windows with views of Old Town, the sand dunes, and the river. Our rooms choices go from a cozy single queen to deluxe spa suites. The second floor has vaulted ceilings throughout. New 43" flatscreen TVs are in most rooms. Our hearty continental breakfast includes sausage links & cheeses, 6-7 flavors of bakery bagels, organic granola and organic muesli, all served on real dishes with real silverware. Free Wifi. Free private use of our guest spa building at the edge of the woods is included. We've been Green forever. You're always a winner at the Landmark Inn! We do not have an elevator. We take a deposit equal to the first night at the time of booking. It is fully refundable if cancelled prior to 48 hours before arrival, with no cancellation fee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your The Landmark Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Landmark Hotel Florence
The Landmark Inn Florence, Oregon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing