We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden gem on the coast”
Review of The Landmark Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Landmark Inn
Ranked #7 of 13 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 December 2010

We found the Landmark by accident while traveling down the coast. It is a quaint establishment with unique charm. The Landmark sits by it self on a hill near the old town of Florence. We found Florence to be a sleepy coastal town with many restaurants and thrift-shops. We spent the day exploring the beach collecting shells and rocks. The casino is close by and is open all night. There is also two golf courses in town. I would recommend Florence and the Landmark Inn to my friends and will be back next year.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dustinpax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (185)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

154 - 160 of 185 reviews

Reviewed 22 December 2010

This place is terrible. It's old, not at all well maintained. The towels are so worn you can almost see through them. It was "supposedly" a must stay from Sunset magazine--that must have been decades ago. Continental breakfast included very bad coffee and watered down orange juice.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nlhansen2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 December 2010

A nice place to stay in Florence. We stayed in room 10 which is upstairs. It has a large bed and cozy sitting room with sofa as well as a window nook with a small table, small kitchenette. The room has glimpses of the dunes and the river. Breakfast is very simple, you pick it up in the lobby and bring it to your room. The website is very informative and shows all the details of the room. Good value, would come back. And walking distance the the great Feast restaurant.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WorldTravelers25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2010

Very clean and tidy property located at the top of steep driveway in town. The room was not large, but sufficient for a quick nights stay while traveling the Oregon coast. Parking is limited but you are promised a space, and I never had any issues. A small continental breakfast is included. They have a sauna that can be reserved. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Xenabird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2010

We stayed at the Landmark Inn 2 years ago and enjoyed our stay in room #5 (upper floor) The view was nice and the room was very clean. Bed was comfortable and the kitchenette was perfect.

This year we stayed in Room 1 (lower floor right below room #5) The noise was horrible. I was looking for a quiet three day weekend where we had not much planned and we could lounge in the room and sleep/read whatever. Not happening. The noise from the upstairs neighbors was unbearable. They got up at 5:30 am every morning and were making noise every night until 10 or 11pm. We even tried to take a nap in the middle of the day and within 15 minutes they had returned and were stomping all over. I really can't figure out why you would need to stomp back and forth in such a small hotel room that many times. It was ridiculous.

I also was not as happy with the service this time. The room was still fairly clean, except for mold on the bathroom curtain; but, they asked us every morning if we needed house keeping. Doesn't that come with the rate. They changed our towels out because we requested it and that was it. On that not the towels are small but worse very thin. The shower was cramped, I am not a large person and I kept hitting my elbows on the walls while trying to wash my hair.

The bed sagged visibly and we got up each morning with aching backs.

I also don't like that they charge your cc for the whole stay amount when you check in. We had considered leaving early due to the complete opposite experience we were having.

The spa and sauna room has a nice sauna but the spa is barely big enough for 2 people. We spent our hour trying to not kick each other, it was not big enough to sit side by side.

I love the view, I like that the rooms are generally clean.

The staff was variably friendly, towels are too thin, bed was uncomfortable, too noisy. This time we chose a room with a full kitchen so we could cook breakfast int he morning. The kitchen was big and bright, but barely had enough silverware - 2 each of the utensils. It had 3 pots- no pans so It was tricky to cook our eggs. No ice trays.

Overall this experience was quite different from our last and while we love this hotels location next time we visit Florence we will stay somewhere else.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank h2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
review88602, Owner at The Landmark Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 24 September 2010

There are thousands of people from all over the globe that stay with, who have nothing but words of praise for the staff and their stay Landmark Inn. We are so sorry that the guests who stayed in room #1 had a less than perfect experience.

In every room there is a "GUEST INFORMATION SHEET" that explains the complimentary items such as the continental breakfast, free private Spa and Sauna use, housekeeping services and our "Quiet Hours" policies.

The "Guest Information Sheet" says :
There are many details involved in operating the Landmark Inn, so we ask that if you find anything out of place or not to your satisfaction, please contact the Host on duty and they will do everything possible to make the correction.
“Thank You” from the Staff and Owners of the Landmark Inn

** LOBBY HOURS: The lobby is open from 7:30 a.m. to 10:00 p.m. Please phone (541) 555-5555 1st or (541) 555-5555 2nd, for after hours emergencies.

** COMPLIMENTARY: Coffee, tea, orange juice & hot choclate all the time. Continental breakfast is served in the lobby from 7:30 a.m.- 9:30 a.m.

** SPA & SAUNA: We have an outdoor Spa and Traditional cedar Sauna with outdoor cool off deck and shower in a building at the edge of the woods. Guests may reserve the Spa building for private use between the hours of 8:00a.m.-10:00p.m. Please come to the front desk to reserve your time. We provide towels& key. Because Spas And Saunas generate high temperatures which promotes perspiration and increased heart rate, guests should consult their physician before use. Guests enter Spa & Sauna at their own risk. Alcohol, food and glass are not allowed in the Spa building. ( Spa Tubs / Saunas and alcohol do not mix.)

** HOUSEKEEPING: If you are staying more than one night, we do a room touchup
while you are out
* Your room must be vacated by 12:30pm to receive housekeeping.*
* If you do not want room service, you must come to the lobby and inform the
Host on duty, otherwise you will receive room service.

** QUIET HOURS: In courtesy of others, quiet hours begin at 10:00 p.m.
* HAVE NOISY NEIGHBORS?
Phone (541) 555-5555 Host or (541) 555-5555 Florence Police Dept. and much more...

We have 4 spa tubs here at the Landmark Inn. They are refillable spa tubs, so that they can be cleaned and have fresh water every time they are used. It would be impractical to refill 500+ gallons spa tubs. These are the same spa tubs that they used in the guests previous stay.

We apologize for the inconvenience our guest experienced. We wish that they would have come to us or made the phone call as the "Guest Information" sheet explains, because we would have done everything possible to make the corrections, with a smile :-)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2010

It was late at night, and we called around to different places looking for the best rate. The nice woman on the phone said she could give us a room for $99.00, then she also offered to take $5 off. We decided to stay and we are glad we did! the place was off the main road, and well lit. We arrived just before 10 pm, and the woman at the desk (I think it was Mary something) was the nicest ever! She gave us info on the best ocean parks to visit the next day, and was just very helpful and professional. The room came to less than $100 total, and was appropriately prices.
It was clean, a large bed, decent size bathroom, a living room with sofa, armchair, desk, TV and microwave. The place looked like it was converted from an apartment building into hotel rooms. In the morning they had a free breakfast of coffee, (no cream, just milk for the coffee) cereal, muffins and bagels. They had a toaster you could cook the items with, and they also had OJ, and hot water for the cocoa mix and tea.
Overall, I'm very glad we found this place, and if we were passing through Florence again, I would definitely stay here.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank talulablues93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2010

The rooms are very nice! Huge tv, comfortable beds, great furniture, and a incredibly huge hot tub in the room! Payed 150$, and worth every penny. Only 12 room at this inn, very nice and comfortable. Complimentary breakfast was decent, nothing sppecial, but good. Overall the only thing that's missing is a beach view, other than that it was definitely the nicest place i have ever stayed in for this price!!!!

    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ppavelvb34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
0.2 mi away
Old Town Inn
Old Town Inn
#2 of 13 in Florence
2,057 reviews
0.7 mi away
Best Western Pier Point Inn
0.2 mi away
Lighthouse Inn
Lighthouse Inn
#10 of 13 in Florence
172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#11 of 13 in Florence
15 reviews
0.4 mi away
Le Chateau Motel
Le Chateau Motel
#12 of 13 in Florence
68 reviews
1.2 mi away
Three Rivers Casino Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Landmark Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Landmark Inn

Address: 1551 4th St, Florence, OR 97439-7606
Region: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Florence
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 13 Hotels in Florence
Price Range: £61 - £111 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — The Landmark Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Now rated #1 in Florence on one booking site, one of the "Top 3 in Florence Lodging" on another travel/review site, and top ratings on a second booking site. We have just 12 unique rooms that we built in 1998 and 2008. We sit up on a hilltop, a half-block off the main highway. We are a safe, clean and quiet inn with no bridge or highway noise. Many rooms have bay windows with views of Old Town, the sand dunes, and the river. Our rooms choices go from a cozy single queen to deluxe spa suites. The second floor has vaulted ceilings throughout. New 43" flatscreen TVs are in most rooms. Our hearty continental breakfast includes sausage links & cheeses, 6-7 flavors of bakery bagels, organic granola and organic muesli, all served on real dishes with real silverware. Free Wifi. Free private use of our guest spa building at the edge of the woods is included. We've been Green forever. You're always a winner at the Landmark Inn! We do not have an elevator. We take a deposit equal to the first night at the time of booking. It is fully refundable if cancelled prior to 48 hours before arrival, with no cancellation fee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda and Ebookers so you can book your The Landmark Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Landmark Hotel Florence
The Landmark Inn Florence, Oregon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing