We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect Oregon Coast Hideaway” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Blue Heron Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Florence
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Blue Heron Inn
Ranked #2 of 6 Florence B&B and Inns
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
180 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“Perfect Oregon Coast Hideaway”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2011

About 2 miles east of busy Oregon Coast city Florence, on Hwy 126 leading to Eugene, sits the quiet and charming Blue Heron Inn. Hosts Stella and Maurice do everything possible to make each guest feel welcome and comfortable, to point out local sights beyond the guidebooks' pages, and to provide the conveniences of home in a place that lets you know you've gotten away from everyday stress and routine. We even had a small, inviting, private balcony overlooking the garden's birdsong and blooms where we could enjoy a glass of wine, a very romantic setting! Breakfast was outstanding, with crisp Belgian waffles mounded with fresh fruit and some of the best coffee we've had this side of Paris. (They even inquired about everyone's food allergies and created a gluten-free version for one guest.) Should we visit Florence again, reserving a room at Blue Heron is at the top of our planning agenda.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank patandmaryjo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    26
    15
    3
    5
    3
See reviews for
4
37
2
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
hollywood
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 October 2010

Stella and Maurice could not have done a better job of caring for the four of us.The stay was wonderful and the food was great! If we go back to this area again we will stay at the blue heron again.Absolutely wonderful!

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank calliopeHollywood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oakland, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2010

Maurice greeted us at the door when we arrived. My partner was sceptical, he doesn't like B&B's much. Maurice had an agenda and went over a lot of information about the house and chatted about his life. It was fine, he was nice, we were ready to escape and then we did. He had shown us the half n'half drawer and where there was cereal if my husband awoke early along with a coffee plan for him. He tends to get up at 6am and want coffee, so Maurice created a plan and it was set if needed. He also gave us a good recommendation of a restaurant "The waterfront depoe" which was delicious and served the best raspberry lemon drops ever. Florence is pretty, but not much to do. We went to the casino only .5 miles from the Blue Heron and won. Came back to our Bridal Suite and enjoyed the bath- we did have to rush back in order to use the tub before 10pm- but that made sense to us. We actually slept in, the bed was very comfortable and awoke in just enough time to get ready for the 9am breakfast. We met Stella, Maurice's partner and heard their story, very sweet. We chatted with the other people who were nice and we ate breakfast, which was tasty. All in all it was a very pleasant trip, my guy actually thought it was nice and he said he would go back- I already recommended it to my parents who were driving through Florence a week later.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeniwendel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Level Contributor
69 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2010

The Blue Heron is a homey little B&B. It is decorated country style- like my grandma might decorate. Though it is not a decorating style I would choose (when decorating my own place), I found it to be clean and cozy. The host and hostess, Maurice and Stella, are welcoming and very sweet. The provided us with excellent restaurant recommendations and helped us secure a reservation at one of their favorites. We loved the restaurant choice and were very grateful. Breakfast was tasty. On the day I stayed we had waffles with fresh fruit, sausage, and banana bread plus coffee, tea, and orange juice.

Other posters comment on the rules, and I did notice that the owners have particular ways of doing things that they expected guests to follow. This didn't bother me because I found Maurice and Stella to be incredibly gracious and sweet, but I could see how this might not work for others.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sfran_adventurer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bountiful, Utah
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2010

The Blue Heron is a nice get away next to a beautiful river and just outside historic Florence.
We enjoyed a friendly atmosphere, and wonderful breakfast each day.
The room was spacious and comfortable.
My only complaint is the lack of privacy and window coverings; and a sense of our every move being monitored and our every misstep corrected.
Our hosts were friendly, but quite political. We went on vacation to escape the cares of the world, and didn't feel like discussing politics (especially those differing from our own) while trying to relax. We very much felt like guests in someone's spare bedroom.
Overall, this was a pleasant experience and I would consider a return visit, but not my favorite B&B experience.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank travelerman555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salt Lake City, UT
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2010

My sister and I went through Florence as we vacationed on the Oregon Coast. Staying at the Blue Heron Inn was one of the highlights.
First, the setting is incredible. We pulled into the parking lot and I spent a few minutes just taking pictures of the nearby trees and incredible waterfront view. It was really stunning; the view from the porch could be a post card.
Maurice and Stella greeted us, showed us around, and recommended several restaurants; they even got a table reserved for us at the restaurant of our choice.
Our stay in the Victorian Room was quiet and comfortable.
Breakfast was a real gourmet treat. My sister and I really watch what we eat, so our hosts made a special light omelet with peppers just for us. The fruit, yogurt, toast, and juice were delicious as well.
If I stay in Florence again, the Blue Heron Inn will be on my list.

  • Stayed April 2010
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jiggabel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2010

OMG!! What a disaster! These people are crazy! They converted a part of their house to a few ugly rooms. We were fortunate enough to get the lovely pepto bismol room with written instructions for everything! And we were told we could have coookies in the kitchen anytime. Well, we got back late and hesitantly got a nasty old pinwheel cookie and threw it away! We unfortunately slept in and greeted the morning to a loud voice banging on the door stating "BREAKFAST IS READY" a few moments later we got another bang on the door screaming "BREAKFAST IS ON THE TABLE" Worst B&B we have EVER stayed at!!! PLEASE bypass this one if you want a pleasant stay in Florence!! The owners need to give up the B&B business!!

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank nancy_amelia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Florence
3.1 mi away
Best Western Pier Point Inn
2.9 mi away
Old Town Inn
Old Town Inn
#1 of 12 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,897 reviews
1.8 mi away
Three Rivers Casino Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#9 of 12 in Florence
3.5 of 5 bubbles 168 reviews
23.5 mi away
Adobe Resort
Adobe Resort
#5 of 11 in Yachats
4.0 of 5 bubbles 489 reviews
5.5 mi away
Driftwood Shores Resort & Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Heron Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Heron Inn

Property: Blue Heron Inn
Address: 6563 Highway 126, Florence, OR 97439-9223
Region: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Florence
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Blue Heron is a 1940's country home with gorgeous river views of the Siuslaw River just five minutes from the center of historic Florence, Oregon. It is featured in the Best Places to Kiss. Guests can delight in viewing the herons and other wildlife with your innkeepers, Maurice and Stella. This comfortable inn, upgraded and modernized, makes a perfect getaway, with unsurpassed hospitality. This is a non-smoking bed and breakfast inn, however smoking is allowed on outside patio.The Victorian room is reminiscent of an era gone by with its lace, brass and antiques. The Heron's Nest has an incredible view of the river from the secret dormer hide-a-way with twin beds. The Bridal Suite offers a comfortable sofa seating arrangement, king size bed, a whirlpool bath, ceiling fan, cozy electric fireplace, and expansive windows with views of the river. If you need a suite the Raspberry Cream Room with its whirlpool tub can be opened up to the Victorian Room. Enjoy the river from the deck of the comfortable Country Room.Enjoy a spectacular view of the Siuslaw River while feasting on a gourmet breakfast. Fresh fruit, juices, and homemade yeast waffles with strawberries or smoked salmon quiche are popular menu items. You may relax in the living room and enjoy the view, watch TV or retire to our new video room for a movie or just relax in the private lounge area for quiet reading where books and magazines are available.Historic Old Town Florence, the Oregon Dunes, Sandpines Golf Course, the Sea Lion Caves, Haceta Lighthouse, the local airport and the convention center are just minutes away. After a busy day of exploring, return for cookies and tea! In May, come for the Rhododendron Festival. Enjoy dune buggy adventures and sandboarding. Historic Newport is just an hour away.Come and enjoy the ambience of this charming bed & breakfast on the Siuslaw River. It is a place for relaxing and making joyous memories and new friends. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Blue Heron Inn Florence, Oregon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing