We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Edwin K B&B” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Edwin K Bed and Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Florence
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Edwin K Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 6 Florence B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Tucson, Arizona
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Edwin K B&B”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2013

My sister, Jeanne, and I recently stayed at the Edwin K B&B - what a nice experience. We didn't know we grew up in a Craftsman-style home in Tacoma, WA until we stayed at the Edwin K. We enjoyed going thru the book they had on that subject and recognized so many homes in our growing-up neighborhood.

The B&B was fully occupied when we were there and we enjoyed meeting people from all over the US and Canada at breakfast.

We thought the breakfast was wonderful - no need for lunch. However, since we stayed two nights, the breakfast didn't change much from one day to the next - a little variety would've been appreciated. But the table was beautifully set and we loved that Marv said grace before breakfast - it was a nice way to start the day.

We loved the proximity to town and we took advantage of that.

My sis and I had the Summer Room and it was perfect for us. We had a nice balcony and left the door open at night so the waterfall could lull us to sleep.

Jeanne lives in Central Oregon, so I go up for a visit in the summertime and we try to find a place where the two of us can go and spend a little "sister time" together. (She visits me in Tucson in the winter).

We would re-visit the Edwin K without hesitation. It felt like the staying in the house we grew up in - with so many more amenities.

Thank you, Marv and Laurie.

Janet Holt
Tucson, AZ

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank angelsmom2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

195 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    159
    20
    11
    4
    1
See reviews for
24
121
5
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Alexandria, Virginia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2013

This was a beautiful house and very clean. I was excited to stay in a Sears Craftsman house and prepared to love it. The beds were comfortable, the rooms were pretty, the house was comfortable.

I am not a fan of the "romantic" bathtub in a bedroom but it is a matter of taste and I can live with it. I knew the room we booked had a separate shower (many have clawfoot tubs with the surround shower curtain) so the bathtub didn't bother me. Our shower was large, clean, and wonderful
BUT
1. If you very closely look at the pictures on line you can see the toilet in the background. What does not draw your eye and no one in the 20th century would expect is the fact that there is NOT A DOOR TO THE TOILET. There is a screen -not a floor to ceiling screen- more like a saloon door to the toilet. There is no way to lock this or in our room to latch it. You would have more privacy in a public reststop.

2. I am not a guest in your home. This is your business. I was absolutely dumfounded when the owner said "lets say a prayer" before breakfast. I feel very comfortable praying before meals and my guest join me BUT THIS IS A BUSINESS. Not everyone shares your views and you have no right to inflict your values. The appropriate "would anyone mind if I said a prayer" is respectful to your guests of different beliefs.

3. We like to meet and talk to our fellow guests but the innkeeper's monologue at breakfast kept conversation to a minimum. Each time we started a good conversation we were interrupted by another "course" and a speech.

4. The 5 course breakfast was- a great yogurt and fruit dish ; a usual breakfast of eggs, meat and friend potatoes, a passed fruit tray (really- for 10 people maybe 6 strawberries- each guest was afraid to take more than their share, a passed tea bread plate and a tiny scone. Not impressive.

Room Tip: Look closely at the pictures.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank ihatescreennames026
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huntington Beach, California
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2013

I will be back no doubt. Perfect costal accomodations with a true five course breakfast, beautiful rooms and great hosts, very informative of local things to do and history of town. They seem to be very busy so I am happy we made reservations, this is a real bargin.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Spring Room but we did see a few of the others and they are all big and decorated i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashland, Oregon
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2013

The Edwin K. B&B is as good as the best B&Bs I've stayed in -- and I've stayed in oh so many. With gracious hosts and a truly decorous home, Marv and Laurie invite you in and treat you with warmth and professionalism. Yes, there are some of those decorative items I personally dislike (such as the occasional teddy bear, angel, lacy artifact, and artificial ivy) but the elegant atmosphere at the Edwin K. is so inviting, and the hosts so genuinely kind, I could happily live with the aforementioned tchotchkes.

The rooms are lovely. Immaculate, restfully colored, well-lit, and exceedingly well appointed. Hair dryers? Yes. Shampoo and conditioner? Yes. Reading lights? Yes. Wine glasses? Yes. Double headed shower? Plenty of hot water? Quality towels? Yes. Yes. And yes.

Some of the rooms have jacuzzi-style tubs, others have small balconies looking into a pristine garden. Any would give a weary traveler sweet dreams.

And then there's the breakfast about which other reviewers have written. It's marvelous, imaginative, fresh, and if it's too much food, well, that's easy... You just don't eat more than a bite or two of each beautifully presented course.

Marv is also a tour guide of sorts. He gives each guest a sheet outlining sites of interest and how far from the Edwin K. each is. But, you don't have to go far from home when staying at the Edwin K. And you needn't use your car. A moments walk takes you to Florence's Old Town and the wharf where, last weekend, the fishermen were selling fresh tuna and mammoth crabs from their boats. There's also a great book shop in the neighborhood and plenty of cafes. So, the Edwin K. is prime real estate for ease-of-getting-around-town.

And one last point about the Edwin K.... For history lovers, it is a piece of living history. Purchased in 1914 as a Sears "Modern Home," every single piece needed to build it (lumber, plumbing, electrical, doors, knobs, light fixtures, etc.) were selected in that year's Sears catalogue and sent to Florence "ready to assemble." Marv and Laurie have reproductions of those early Sears kit home catalogues to devour, if that's your thing -- as it was mine.

I heartily recommend this B&B. My husband and I are returning next month for Florence's casual vibe, coastal air, walks in the sand dunes, and the rest and recuperation to be found at the Edwin K.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WingingHereToThere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denmark Western Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2013

This property is a house of some historical importance - as Merv will be pleased to outline to you with a complete run-down, sometime in your stay. However it is not a home, as travellers will start to feel uneasy and stifled by the obvious care one needs to take. This extends to the white fitted carpet, the bric-a - brac and treasures that adorn almost every horizontal space. The claw foot bath perched on a dais in the bedroom is a positive hazard for anyone a little unstable, as there is nothing to prevent you falling out if you slip. The much vaunted formal five course breakfast has two courses of unnecessary cakes and commences sharp at 9.00 am - too late for most.
The interior is scrupulously clean, but has an atmosphere of hospital strength disinfectant.
With religious literature abounding, together with " for sale " jewellery, this does not represent a relaxing stay.
Sorry, but this was disappointing - perhaps the owners are trying too hard

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank sllim233
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edwink, Owner at Edwin K Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 14 August 2013
We want to thank you for taking the time to give us your comments. Our guests' happiness with their stay is important to us. We are sorry you did not feel comfortable here. We can assure you, this is our home, and do everything we can to make guests feel at home while they are here. We do have white carpet, but only in the 4 rooms upstairs; the rooms downstairs and the dining room and front room are hardwood floors. We do not require guests to remove their shoes, and we let guests take their drinks to their rooms, including red wine and coffee which occasionally get spilled in the rooms on the white carpet. While a few people think there are too many decorations, most people have said we have each room decorated beautifully.

We realize that the claw tub may not be safe for some people with handicaps, and therefore, we try to encourage them to choose another room. All of our rooms are quite different, and that is why we try to get people to go online and view the rooms so you can choose a room you would be most comfortable in. Many people love the claw foot tub. We had other rooms available at the time of booking, and at that time, you only required one of the cheaper priced rooms. It is unfortunate that you did not inform us you were not happy with this room when you checked in as we did have a couple of other rooms we could have happily moved you too had we known.

Thank you for your comment that our place is very clean, but we are sorry if the disinfectant we use was offensive to you. We have to disinfect each room when guests leave - that is also the health department rules. We use a very low-scented one that has a very light odor, and kills most every kind of bacteria and disease, and have to pay a high price and special order this product. We do take pride in a very clean establishment, and work very hard to keep it that way.

Our five-course breakfast is a very substantial breakfast, and is more food than some can eat. That is why we pass around trays or plates for the last three courses so you only take what you want. Many people love the breads and the scone... in fact, some have said the scone was their favorite part of the meal. We serve coffee and tea at 7:30 for those early risers, and with everyone eating together at one time, the 9:00 time is the best time for most people. We realize some people like to eat earlier, but many people like to eat later - so we serve at a time that is in the middle.

We do provide a Gideon Bible (so do most hotels and motels), along with one small book of encouragement in each room. We are sorry this has offended you, as that is not our intention. Many people are hurting in these hard times, and have thanked us for providing this encouragement.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
86 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2013

Stayed only one night and the setting is quite nice, however for the price there are other options in town if you're not looking for all the frills. The little touches in service were very nice, including the sherry service at coffee in the afternoon and the option of the jacuzzi in the room but the MANY rules around what you can and can't do, including how you remove your make-up was a bit off-putting. We travel a lot and understand the need to keep the white towels white, but there are better, gentler ways to approach these things. Assuming that everyone was going to 'ruin' their towels with make-up or washing their cars, bikes, or motorcycles (??? - yes, this was stated in their 'handbook') with them was going a bit far. On the positive side, the service was friendly and the breakfast was nice with lots of choices, and because of the location at the end of a street it was quiet. The room we were in was a bit too 'frilly' for me but it was the last one available so it worked and there are other room options that seemed a bit less victorian or overdone. Also, the prayer that they held before breakfast was a bit too personal for me. I'm all for each to their own but wouldn't recommend it as not everyone holds the same beliefs and this made a few people uncomfortable having not been forewarned based on the comments people made.

Room Tip: Book in advance so you get the choice you prefer as all the rooms are different.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank TamisCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edwink, Owner at Edwin K Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 12 August 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write this review. We are glad you were satisfied with the location and service you received with your stay here, but are troubled that you felt this was too pricey and too frilly for you. Unfortunately for many guests who travel without reservations during the peak season, there may not be many places left in town with rooms available. Regarding this situation, all of our rooms were already booked except this room, which may not have been the room / rate you would have requested had you made a reservation - we do have other rooms that are less expensive without double Jacuzzi tubs, but all of those were already booked in advance for this date.

Many people love the room you were in, especially those on their honeymoon or celebrating anniversaries. Others would rather have a less romantic room, and that is why we always suggest you make a reservation. We would rather have you choose the room you want, not have to take the last room available.

When someone shows up looking for a room without a reservation, we always show them the available room(s) and tell them what the room rate is. It is then their decision whether they want to stay with us or not.

As far as our rate, we have tried to keep our rates affordable during this tough economy. We have only raised our rates $10 in the last 5 years. One other motel nearby is $179 for a double Jacuzzi tub room (ours is $185), and another motel has rooms that start at $180 without any Jacuzzi tubs, and they do not have the amenities and the five-course breakfast that we serve. Nor do they serve tea and sherry in the evening to their guests.

We do have one page of "Things to know about your room and the B&B" in a book in each guest room. We are sorry if you were offended by this - that is not our intention. We do not like to have to mention the "rules," but we have included them on this page because of incidents that have happened. Specifically, the one you mentioned about removing make-up, we provide quality towels and linens for our guests, and many of these towels, wash cloths, and pillow cases have been ruined from make-up and mascara. So we mention that we have provided a make-up remover cloth and a specific wash cloth to remove make-up, and ask that they not use the white towels and wash cloths for this purpose. We also have had some guests use the quality towels to clean their golf clubs and shoes, and wipe down their cars or motorcycles. So we also mention on this page that we will gladly provide cleaning towels if requested by a guest. These "rules" are only here because we have spent thousands of dollars stain removal products and on new towels and linens because of stains that could not be removed on otherwise perfectly good towels and linens. We want our guests to have clean, unstained towels and sheets.

We realize that most motels do not provide their guests with "rules" of what towels to use, and that they most likely have a lot of the same problems with stains that we do. However, they usually do not have the quality of towels and linens we do, and they also have large commercial laundry machines, where as we only have one normal capacity washer and dryer to do all of our laundry in. Removing stains is much easier and better in commercial washing machines.

Also, along with a few "rules" are other helpful things for guests to know, such as when breakfast is served, check-out time, etc.

We do not mean to offend anyone with a short prayer at the breakfast table. It is only to ask for safe travels for our guests and to bless the food they are going to eat.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Level Contributor
350 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2013

This B & B is a real jewel on the Oregon coast! We experienced gracious hosts (Marv and Laurie), excellent breakfasts and stimulating conversations with other guests. Our room was very comfortable and quiet. We would return to this B & B anytime we're in Florence.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pdl03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
0.1 mi away
Old Town Inn
Old Town Inn
#1 of 12 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,897 reviews
0.5 mi away
Best Western Pier Point Inn
1.5 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#9 of 12 in Florence
3.5 of 5 bubbles 168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Three Rivers Casino Resort
0.1 mi away
River House Inn
River House Inn
#2 of 12 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,134 reviews
4.9 mi away
Driftwood Shores Resort & Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Edwin K Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Edwin K Bed and Breakfast

Property: Edwin K Bed and Breakfast
Address: 1155 Bay St, Florence, OR 97439-9350
Region: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Florence
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1914, the Edwin K Bed and Breakfast defines the traditions of fine accommodations. You may choose from six spacious beautiful rooms that offer custom designed private baths. A five-course breakfast is included for those staying in the B&B. Tea, sherry, and cookies are served at 5:00 p.m. each evening. In addition to our B&B facilities, we also a separate Apartment Suite that sleeps 4 people and is suitable for families and/or those who want more privacy. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Edwin K Bed And Breakfast Florence, Oregon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing