We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location SUPERB, Inn somewhat tired”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Driftwood Shores Resort & Conference Center
Ranked #6 of 13 Hotels in Florence
Reviewed 21 September 2013

After one day on the premises, the words that came to mind immediately were "complacent" and "much deferred maintenance." They seem to be doing nothing about maintaining floors, walls, molding, etc.in the public areas which communicates real indifference. For example: the floor in the main elevator is worn through in a number of places. Oddly put steps seem to have been a problem, as they are now painted with yellow warning paint and signs. Nearly everywhere could use a fresh coat of paint. The guest rooms are dated, the sinks and toilets seemed to be engineered for second-graders, and the bathrooms could stand with some grab bars. The thermostat which clearly has heating AND cooling settings could be labeled to the reality that only heating happens, no cooling, so if you want your directly-west-facing room cooled off, open the slider and the room door and let the wind get it done. That said, however, making our reservation was easy, and the check-in quickly accomplished. The locale is beyond fantastic--it's on a part of the Oregon Coast that's relatively off the beaten track, and the beach access is so easy we even saw people with canes and walkers making the trek out to the shore line. The lovely small town of Florence is just a few miles south, with a number of small-town waterfront type shops and restaurants.

Room Tip: All rooms face straight west. They have an astonishing array of rooom configurations, from three bed...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ExTourOperator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (651)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

454 - 460 of 651 reviews

Reviewed 18 September 2013

We booked this at the last minute while on a road trip. It is about 2 miles outside Florence which was the only negative. We got a good deal on the phone, the room itself was enormous, opening onto a balcony overlooking a huge beach and the ocean. The room has a full kitchen which was so well equipped we decided to cook a meal ( a real treat on a road trip!). The room and bathroom were very clean, there was no noise from other rooms or from outside, so we had an excellent sleep. No problem with wifi although mobile phone reception was patchy (try the car park for reception and make friends with other phone wielders!).The view alone is enough to recommend this hotel, however we also thought it was great value with friendly helpful staff. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rod m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2013

The room was spacious, well-equipped and immaculately clean. The view was glorious! The wifi worked well. The restaurant served a fantastic breakfast, also with an ocean view, at really quite a good price. Florence is lovely. We liked that the town is on the estuary with a harbor, while the hotel is on the beach. It kept the hustle and bustle away, though it was there (and a short drive) if you wanted it. Front desk service was great. Excellent value for money. I would like to come back.

Room Tip: I don't think you could go wrong in terms of the view: all rooms are ocean view. We chose a thir...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Veronica S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2013

We spent one night here on our way down the coast. The room was extremely small but adequate. It appeared the interior had some updating, but the outside needed some cosmetic work. Really not too bad for an older hotel on the ocean. The huge beach was beautiful!
The adjoining restaurant was interesting. The food was just edible, but with our selection of a steak and a salmon salad, they seemed offended that we expected bread with our meals. We are from the south, and bread accompanies most every meal here. We were told bread would cost us $3.00, so we ordered the bread, and paid the extra charge. Our drinks were never refilled. The following morning, we opted to travel down the road a bit for breakfast.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sharon B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2013

Open the door to your room, and the full beach panorama greets you. If you want a beach view, this is the place. Stayed two nights. Very pleasant room (ours had kitchen), even a recliner to kick back and watch the birds and people on the beach. Access to beach right outside rooms. Very friendly and helpful staff. A ways outside town so very quiet and relaxing. Truly a get-away from it all.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sherry G G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2013

We stopped for one night on our trip up the coast. View was almost wonderful enough to make us forget about how much updating the room needed. Be prepared, it is way out of town. Loved the beach front, but didn't love the thin walls. Will probably plan to stay in one of the nearby towns on our next trip.

Room Tip: Try for a top floor. Less noise, but further to the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DPBSpringville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2013

The beds were very comfortable! We had a 2 queen with kitchen. The room was big and had a balcony, we were on the 2nd floor. View and beach access are the best! We only reserved 1 night, but they found a room we could stay the second night too! The kitchen is very usable with enough cookware and all to make a meal if you wanted. Bar for the kids to sit and eat/ play at. Small table also. The pool room was very warm..too warm for my husband! My daughter had fun at the pool. My son said wifi worked, but slow for games. We will go back soon! Florence is a great place and this hotel has the best beach front!

Room Tip: Get one on second or third floor and leave door open to hear the ocean while you sleep! All rooms h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tammy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Florence
5.4 mi away
Best Western Pier Point Inn
4.9 mi away
Old Town Inn
Old Town Inn
#2 of 13 in Florence
2,062 reviews
22.5 mi away
Deane's Oceanfront Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Lighthouse Inn
Lighthouse Inn
#10 of 13 in Florence
173 reviews
3.6 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#12 of 13 in Florence
16 reviews
19.8 mi away
Adobe Resort
Adobe Resort
#5 of 11 in Yachats
560 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Driftwood Shores Resort & Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Driftwood Shores Resort & Conference Center

Address: 88416 1st Ave, Florence, OR 97439-9112
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Florence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Florence
Price Range: £87 - £248 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Driftwood Shores Resort & Conference Center 3*
Number of rooms: 137
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Driftwood Shores Resort & Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Driftwood Shores Hotel Florence
Driftwood Shores Florence
Driftwood Shores Resort & Conference Center Florence, Oregon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing