We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Definitely unique! ”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
McMenamins Grand Lodge
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Forest Grove
Prairie Village, Kansas
Level 6 Contributor
130 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Definitely unique! ”
Reviewed 15 August 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for just one night. After reading the reviews, we requested a room on the first floor and they were more than happy to accommodate.

Upon arrival, our room was pretty warm, but we opened the window and turned on the fan. We were leary of leaving the window open when we ledt, so we didnt but it does cool off pretty quick. Hung out at a couple of the places on property that evening and had a nice time. Tried the soaking pool in the morning and it was very relaxing!

The shower and toilet situation is very different. Not horrible but I don't think I'd want to do it for more than a few nights as getting up in the middle of the night to go to the bathroom was a bit strange :-)

Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank DTJB8000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zack B, Manager at McMenamins Grand Lodge, responded to this review, 12 October 2014
Hello,

Just wanted to say thank you for taking the time to write a response about your stay, and if you have any other feedback please don't hesitate to let us know.

Thanks,
Zachary Barrer
Property Manger
Grand Lodge McMenamins
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

238 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    59
    101
    44
    16
    18
See reviews for
47
109
12
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Midhurst, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
68 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2014 via mobile

We stayed in two McMenamin's hotels and visited one other during a three week road trip in Washington and Oregon. This one followed the slightly kitsch, vintage theme but transplanted to a huge spread surrounded by gardens. Range of bars and restaurants with decent food and excellent beer. Service was friendly. Don't be put off by shared bathrooms - they are excellent and plentiful!

Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank janeyk419
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gordon S, Manager at McMenamins Grand Lodge, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Janey your road trip sounds like it would have been a blast. Thank you on behalf of all the staff of the Grand Lodge for the glowing review. We are thrilled to hear you enjoyed your time. If you are ever in the Pacific Northwest please stop by another of our awesome properties.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, WA
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2014

Not a typical hotel. More like a large guesthouse experience to stay and//or eat with family and friends. If you want typical hotel amenities (i.e, AC, TV, in-suite bathroom), stay down the street at Best Western or Forest Grove Inn. Thanks to those McMenamin boys the venerable Masonic orphanage/old folks home is a great spot for a lodge. The grounds with spacious lawns, landscaping and high hedges are a major asset. The décor with emphasis on artwork and history is something I like. Common sitting rooms and balconies are relaxing places to sit outside your room. Lots of events with bands and movies. Restaurants have pleasant settings both inside and outside on the lawn. Menu for dinner quite expensive. Not too many things caught my eye for breakfast and lunch, except for the dishes with feta (i.e, omlette, gyro).

The staff was generally fine. Seems much quieter and availability/pricing is much better Su-Wed. I would recommend a second floor queen. First floor is quite busy with traffic. The basement seems a bit buggy (spider, moth, etc) without open windows. Three recommendations to the management: active debugging in the basement and invest in fitted mattress covers and snug fitted sheets. The bed is a bit busy. Finally, suggest to guest that they remove their towels, soap, etc from the shower when they finish. It isn't a private bath!!!

Room Tip: Best bet; second floor queen, especially on the wings.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank van360573
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gordon S, Manager at McMenamins Grand Lodge, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Hello Van,
Thank you so much for your review. Your detailed description will help future guest gain a understanding on the unique nature of the Grand Lodge. I too enjoy the history of the almost 100 year old property. As a staff we will continue do everything we can to keep out the creepy crawly creatures along with persistent cleaning of the the common bathrooms. We will look forward to see you again in the future at our location or another historic McMenamins property.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level 5 Contributor
43 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2014

If you've never stayed at a McMenamins property before, there a couple of things to take note of. First off, the shared bathroom thing isn't as inconvenient as it sounds. The shared bathrooms offer privacy and are in proportionate supply. Second, note that neither the Grand Lodge nor Edgefield have central air. They have box fans in each room... and you'll want to use them.

That said, what this property may lack in modern amenities, it makes up for in character. Multiple bars and restaurants on the property. Live music, lawn games, and late night movies outdoors. The food is good and the drinks are easy to find with quirky bars around every corner.

Ruby's Spa offers massage services, hair and nails. Mallory is a whiz at an up-do!

We stayed for a wedding and it was the perfect venue. Think grown-up slumber party. We stayed the night before and the night after with a large group. We got dressed formally for the wedding, but this place is casual enough that we also spent some time in public in pajamas.

Great for fun... and not to be taken too seriously.

Room Tip: If you're there over a hot day, ask for a room on the first floor!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jennphonic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gordon S, Manager at McMenamins Grand Lodge, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Jenn I would like to extend my sincere thanks for your fun review. Watching the weddings this season has been so much fun for us at the Grand Lodge. Beautiful weather meet with spectacular weddings, live music and summer movies on the lawn make for a ton of fun. We value your stay and your time at our Lodge. Perhaps you can come back during another season. October is always fun as well as our New years Eve celebrations. Kuddos to your mention of the bathrooms. The more positive comments about them the lower the concern will become for future guest. Take care and thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yukon, Oklahoma
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2014

I came here with some friends from the area and really enjoyed it! I'm not really much of a bar guy, but I enjoyed the fact that you could something from one bar in the lodge and walk around with it anywhere else on the site. We spent most of our time in the "Doctor's Office" bar which had a shuffleboard table and pool and I had a great time.

We also ate at the restaurant, which I believe was the Iron Grill, and I really enjoyed the food. I had some kind of Canadian pizza that was very good. The prices were a bit high, but I enjoyed the food.

I also enjoyed the artwork and general atmosphere of the place. I did not stay overnight, but I would definitely like to come back for a short stay some time!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zack B, Manager at McMenamins Grand Lodge, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
Brian,

thanks for taking the time to say some nice things about us. Please visit us again soon!

thanks,
Zachary Barrer
Property Manager
Grand Lodge McMenamins
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Rafael, California
Level 6 Contributor
148 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2014

I was here with a party of six, kids and adults. We all universally loved this place. For the kids, the disc golf was a hit. For the adults, having a freshly crafted boysenberry ale while on the frisbee golf course was a hit. :).

The original art work was really unique, and made for a great walk around the hotel. The free tour of the lavender lady room (self guided, to look for the ghost) was also quite a hit.

We had a room with shared bath Nd a room with private. Both were Greta. The shared bathes really nice, with marble, and I never saw anyone else in there.

We liked the Japanese style smoking pool as well. Very relaxing!

The grounds were beautiful, the food was decent, and we would go back in a heartbeat.

Room Tip: Shared bath is a reasonable option, and the shared baths are convenient and liberally sprinkled thro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Angewaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gordon S, Manager at McMenamins Grand Lodge, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
I really enjoyed reading your review. You captured perfectly several of the reasons of why like the Grand Lodge so much. I think the McMenamins have a hit on their hands at the Grand Lodge with all the activities along with the history and captivating artwork. They put a fun spin on so many thing. Keep your eye on the company as we will continue to impress. Thank you for your time and considerate review it is gratifying to read.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level 6 Contributor
146 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2014

This isn't your typical chain hotel. The Grand Lodge is a great place to unwind, enjoy the spa, bar hop without having to drive anywhere, and then go back to a decent room.

I love the "made over" concept of the McMenamin's brand. They took a beautiful masonic lodge and turned it into a fun campus with a spa, soaking pool (like a hot tub but a touch cooler), little places to hang out with friends, disc golf, and more. The beer is incredible, and I love the food. There really is no reason to leave the grounds.

The rooms may not be for everyone, but I find this to be charming. They are small without a television or bathroom. There is a sink, and then you grab your towel and go across the hall for a shower. Because the building is old, it smells a little musty, and my room had a fan, but no AC. The bed was comfortable enough (although I could have used more pillows), the amenities are a nice quality, and the towels were big. I love the robe and could have used some slippers as well.

I was initially concerned about the noise since my room was right next to Doc's Bar, but they shut the doors to the bar and put up signs regarding guests sleeping. I found it to be no noisier than a typical hotel.

I didn't have problems with service, as mentioned in the other reviews. The people at check in were helpful and all the bartenders and staff were very nice and expedient.

Room Tip: If you have ANY issue with noise, make it known during check in, and they will try and find the most...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cyanhead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gordon S, Manager at McMenamins Grand Lodge, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
Hello Cyanhead,

First off I want to thank you for the review of the McMenamins GL in Forest Grove. It is so wonderful to hear you have been at several of our locations where you could immerse yourself in the rich artwork, history and unique qualities of each pub, brewery or hotel. Your continued loyalty to McMenamins is greatly appreciated. I know I speak for all staff when I say thank you. At the Grand Lodge we will continue to strive to make every guest stay the best it can be. We look forward to seeing you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Forest Grove
0.4 mi away
Best Western University Inn & Suites
0.2 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn & Suites
22.2 mi away
McMenamins Hotel Oregon
McMenamins Hotel Oregon
#2 of 6 in McMinnville
318 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Portland West/Hillsboro
7.8 mi away
Residence Inn Portland Hillsboro/Brookwood
7.9 mi away
Larkspur Landing Hillsboro
Larkspur Landing Hillsboro
#6 of 19 in Hillsboro
174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to McMenamins Grand Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about McMenamins Grand Lodge

Property: McMenamins Grand Lodge
Address: 3505 Pacific Ave, Forest Grove, OR 97116-2017
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Oregon > Forest Grove
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Forest Grove
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — McMenamins Grand Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Make a grand escape to McMenamins Grand Lodge! It's all in the details here, with the stately columns and winding drive, wide green lawn, 77 European-style guestrooms, restaurants, movie theater and small bars and some of the most fantastic artwork to ever grace these walls. Built in 1922 as a Masonic & Eastern Star home, the Grand Lodge has stories to tell. Renovated and opened by McMenamins in 2000, what was once tranquil and serene is now vibrant and colorful. Here the walls do speak... As do the doorways, the hallways, and even the overhead pipes. (Look up...)Inspired by the history of the city of Forest Grove and the building itself, McMenamins' artists have infused the Grand Lodge with original artwork and historical photographs - all tributes to the cast of characters who left their mark before us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your McMenamins Grand Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mcmenamins Grand Hotel Forest Grove
Mcmenamins Grand Forest Grove

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing