We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Loved this place”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Fort Klamath
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Jo's Motel and Campground
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Fort Klamath
1 review
“Loved this place”
Reviewed 18 August 2013

This place was a great find! 20 bucks for a great tent site by a beautiful river. Clean, well stocked shower house, a shared fire ring with free wood. And an organic deli!! Jo and her husband were total sweethearts; they have worked to make it feel like family and the pride they have in their place is apparent. The neighboring cows did start mooing kind of early.....

Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Anne A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    18
    22
    8
    4
    10
See reviews for
19
28
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Salinas, California
Level Contributor
60 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2013

Let's face it: lodging near one of the most beautiful places in North America is expensive. Jo's offers an alternative. I have read some reviews that describe the "staff" as rude, gruff, whatever. My experience was quite the opposite.

We greatly appreciated the covered parking (we stayed in one of the attached cabins). The room was cozy, bed was great. When my partner and I were there, we had no problem with insects, though that could have been due to the ambient temperatures.

No question: when we next go to Crater Lake, we will definitely book a reservation at Jo's.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eugene, Oregon
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2013

Our stay in a small cabin was pleasant, peaceful and nice. Plenty of room in the cabin for 4 and the small grocery and deli was well stocked with organic and sustainable foods and necessities. Cell phone and access was okay, for the most part, for all of us even with from different carriers for those who need to be connected. Ask any questions before the office closes. Access to Crater lake was easy.

Green Features: Very good, Green practices Energy-efficient lightbulbs Waste is composted Recycles Staff training on green practices
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank soccerdok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Redmond
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2013

We'd been at Crater Lake National Park and seriously considered camping there until we spoke to a few people that had been there the night before and were practically eaten by mosquitoes. We checked out the camp ground, still thinking we'd stay there until the mosquitoes attacked! It was late afternoon and had no intentions of being sequestered indoors until darkness fell. The grocery store in the park at Annie Creek gave us a page of "local" places to stay and chose Fort Klamath because it was the closest at only 27 miles away and appeared to have the most selection. WHAT A BEAUTIFUL DRIVE into that area of the Klamath basin, lush cattle ranches surrounded by densely forested mountains. We were only able to locate 2 of the 8 places listed in Ft Klamath (maybe they were farther away but used Ft Klamath as their address), it's not much of a town; no restaurants, no fast food, limited cell service... But what a find Jo's Motel and Campground was! IThey also have a small organic grocery store and it appeared that Robin, one of the owners, was making sack lunches "to go" for their motel guests. It appeared that at least 4 of their rooms were rented but we never heard a sound from the motel guests or their vehicles. The campground backs up to the Wood River, with a "foot traffic" only portion along the river for tent camping. There are 3 fire pits with firewood provided, 2 horseshoe pits and the grounds were well watered with a very clean rest room/shower/laundry facility. We had a great spot with water and power hook-ups, in the shade and watched a variety of birds. THEN THE MOSQUITOES ARRIVED...YIKES...we walked to the store and Robin let us generously sample the organic/herbal repellent she sells in the store! Amazing stuff and NO CHEMICALS or sticky residue :o) What a beautiful little place to end a long day of travel and begin a new one. The sky was clear and we just laid back and took in the stars; no light pollution in Ft. Klamath!! Other than an occasional barking dog or bellowing cow it was pretty darn quiet. The place is old but has been given A LOT of TLC by the current owners, they are very friendly and hospitable.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lynne A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eugene, Oregon, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 April 2013

We stayed here for one night on our honeymoon road trip. It's far from modern and the amenities are limited, but the couple who runs the place is sweet and accommodating and the place is very clean. I found the little wood stove and colorful quilt to be extremely charming and we will definitely stay here again. Two tips that will make your trip more enjoyable: 1) they close the check-in early and cell phone service is extremely limited up at the lake, so if you're planning on visiting the lake before checking-in make sure to call them before you head up to the lake. We decided to stay at the lake to watch the sunset and then couldn't find a cell signal. It all ended up working out, but could have been a problem. 2.) There are NO restaurants open late in Fort Klamath or nearby. If you decide to stay at the lake to watch the sunset, make sure you have dinner already purchased! We ended up eating leftover road trip snacks and drinking warm wine. In the morning we found out that the hotel has a lovely organic store. We know now for next time :)

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kyle K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
87 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2012

After reading the reviews on Tripadvisor Jo's Motel sounded like a place we wanted to try. We had been to Crater Lake that day but called ahead to see if they had a room. No problem, all rooms available. Since all lodging was closed at Crater Lake Jo's seemed to be our only bet.

We pulled into Jo's about 6 pm, Robin had stated earlier that the store would be open till 7 if wanted to get any frozen pizza or sandwiches, which was very nice. We opted to drive 20 minutes to a Mexican restaurant south of there.

We were the only ones staying that night. Room was cozy, with a nice gas fireplace to heat the room. No T.V. or Wi Fi. Free DVD's to watch on a 13 inch TV. Kind of retro. The only complaints we had was that the bed was hard as a rock. Also if you are planning on leaving early the Cafe does not open until 9 am. Most people want to be gone before that. We did.

We did wake up to the first snow storm of the season which was quite beautiful.

Room Tip: All rooms were separated by a car port
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BRahlf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ellijay, Georgia
Level Contributor
61 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2012

Jo's Motel presented itself late in the afternoon after a hard day's travel. It is a small roadside 6 unit motel plus a few separate cabins with a built in cafe/grocery . . . if you like veterinarian/organic food. Anyway, it was the only thing within 25 miles and we stayed there. Heated an organic frozen lasagna for dinner in the cafe microwave. No phone, no TV, no internet but the room was clean and the shower small. It is what it is with no excuses but a little expensive for what it is. While an adequate place to sleep I would plan ahead better and drive further or pay a lot more at the Crater Lake Lodge.

Room Tip: Bring your own food as they have kitchens available
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TestPoint
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fort Klamath
16.0 mi away
Crater Lake Lodge
Crater Lake Lodge
#1 of 1 in Crater Lake National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 863 reviews
10.3 mi away
Crater Lake Inn & Retreat
Crater Lake Inn & Retreat
#1 of 2 in Chiloquin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 22 reviews
61.3 mi away
Shelter Cove Resort & Marina
Shelter Cove Resort & Marina
#1 of 3 in Crescent Lake
4.5 of 5 bubbles 25 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jo's Motel and Campground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jo's Motel and Campground

Property: Jo's Motel and Campground
Address: 52851 Highway 62, Fort Klamath, OR 97626-3424
Region: United States > Oregon > Fort Klamath
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Fort Klamath
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Organic Food and Lodging serving visitors to Crater Lake National Park. Full organic grocery store with breakfast and espresso. Kitchens and gas fireplaces. Pet free. Suites, cabin, singles, camping, RV. Communal firerings. On the Wood River. 1/2 Hour to Crater Lake. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing