We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“great place to stay if your skin is the right color”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Fort Klamath
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Jo's Motel and Campground
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Fort Klamath
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“great place to stay if your skin is the right color”
Reviewed 30 April 2014

My family stayed here for what originally was going to be 3 nights but we ended up leaving on day 2. Beds were not fantastic but not horrible either. My brother and his girlfriend stayed in a different room than us and had a pretty major mosquito swarm in their room. His girlfiend who is very dark skinned and asked if they could get some bug spray or if the issue could be otherwise dealt with. The woman at the conter became extremely hostile and said "You're a third worlder, did you try going like this?!?!? *commenced to slap her arms simulating killing mosquitos" My brother got involved and the woman became much more polite (he's white).

Maybe that was an isolated incident but when we ended up going down the road and staying at a different place the people there were not too shocked by what had happened.

Again, maybe that person was having a bad day when this occurred but our family will never stay there again and would not recommend staying.

Green Features: This hotel is very much into using only green stuff. Almost to their detrement. Mosquito infestations and ant problems were things we witnessed.
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
16 Thank Matthew P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    18
    22
    8
    4
    10
See reviews for
19
28
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Longmont, Colorado
Level Contributor
75 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 November 2013

We stayed 3 nights at Jo's in mid-October. We would definitely go back. We had to leave Eugene a day early and had not problem getting in an extra night (although they were pretty full--they only have about rooms). Great location for us: 20 miles to Crater Lake, 30 miles to Klamath Falls ("Where Fortune Calls"), about an hour and half to Lava Beds National Monument. Weather was cold but clear and we spent a ton of time outside. Ft. Klamath was a real fort until about 1892. It currently has about 30 residents.

The room was great, bed comfortable, everything we needed in the room. We bought some really nice coffee and the proprietors had no objection to giving us a coffee maker. The heat is provided by a gas "fireplace" (kind of a wood stove but gas fed). Room/bathroom very clean. Beautiful views all around--Ft. Klamath is on a wide plain with mountains all around. Sketchy cell service, no internet or TV, but they do have TVs with DVD players in each room with some old movies. I enjoyed relaxing and watching Chinatown and the very old Robin Hood (with Errol Flynn).

We had to leave Eugene early and missed the Saturday Farmers' Market. Robin wasn't sure if the Farmers' Market in Klamath Falls was still going, but she called a friend there and found it was--we got some great stuff. If you go to KF, make sure to stop into Leap of Taste (great coffee and lots of other stuff) and the Thai Orchid (fantastic food).

They have some food in the store and a limited menu of things they cook, but also have limited hours. You are in the middle of nowhere and need to plan for that (good place to be we think!). There's Mexican place about 15 minutes away that is fantastic. Other than that, you can go to the casino (15 minutes), Klamath Falls, or the places at Crater Lake (depending on when you're there and if they are open).

We were not camping but are campers. Jo's has several sites we walked through on a starry cold night. The sites won't be shady--few trees--but several are right on the small river (Wood River I believe) which makes them appealing.

We enjoyed Jo's!

Room Tip: All rooms seemed about the same, but for a little extra you can have a kitchen. Since there are onl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TomK959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashland, Oregon
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 November 2013

I've stayed here a few times, as our family lives in Ashland about 2 hours away. They have such clean rooms and really nice staff. The carports are so nice in the winter and colder months when we get in late in the evening. It's really nice to be able to grab some groceries in their store and cook in our room (two toddlers make eating out hard, so the lack of restaurants doesn't bother us).
The food they serve is all organic, by the way, so it's not cheap. If you're into that sort of thing or don't mind, you have to check this place out. It's the closest place to the crater lake south entrance, too.

Green Features: Pretty sure everything they used here was eco-friendly or organic. They definitely recycle and use recycled paper products. My daughter gets rashes from detergents and perfumes and she didn't react to anything while we stayed here.
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tanyas247
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belton, Texas
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2013

88 degrees when we arrived at 5:00. Had reservations for several months. When we get there, lady says "Oh, we haven't aired out any rooms". Room had no air-conditioner and was HOT. Room was very musty, dark, hot and felt dirty. We told her that it would not be satisfactory but she refused to give out money back. We left. First time that we ever left that trip advisor let us down.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
15 Thank mikekay2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
las vagas
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2013

After our stay at the Monforts in Couger, we rode around Mt Hood and then on to Crater Lake, where we stayed at Jos Motel and Campground. There was no food on offer at 7pm except Microwavable from the store. The coffee costs $5 extra and you can not get breakfast until 9 am, the towels were clean, but well used, the place needs a revamp and gravel is less then ideal for parking motorcyles. Those are the minuses. The rooms were rustic and pleasant. Again in the middle of nowhere and so cell phone reception was poor and no TV, just DVDs, but it is good to get away from technology and just enjoy the surroundings. Even the wine and beer were organic, the place had the feel of a hippee commune. there was a river behind the campsite, and a beautiful country church. The beds were a little hard and small, but we were able to get a fair nights sleep, tho we had to use our camping pillows too. The staff were lovely and receptive.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hyawatha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
salem
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2013

I recently stayed at Jo's for two nights and while the accommodations were clean, I did not feel safe because a strange man let himself into my room @ 8 p.m. with a key; did not introduce himself; did not explain his presence; said "I didn't know you were here" (didn't knock on the door or check registration to see that I had checked in). The following evening when I returned to the room it looked like it had been ransacked (glad I took my personal belongings w/me that morning).

The bed was hard and lumpy and the pillows were flat-flat-flat. No extra blankets/pillows.

There are better looking accommodations w/in 2 miles of this place.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
13 Thank deedee k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 18 August 2013

This place was a great find! 20 bucks for a great tent site by a beautiful river. Clean, well stocked shower house, a shared fire ring with free wood. And an organic deli!! Jo and her husband were total sweethearts; they have worked to make it feel like family and the pride they have in their place is apparent. The neighboring cows did start mooing kind of early.....

Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Anne A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fort Klamath
16.0 mi away
Crater Lake Lodge
Crater Lake Lodge
#1 of 1 in Crater Lake National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 863 reviews
10.3 mi away
Crater Lake Inn & Retreat
Crater Lake Inn & Retreat
#1 of 2 in Chiloquin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 22 reviews
61.3 mi away
Shelter Cove Resort & Marina
Shelter Cove Resort & Marina
#1 of 3 in Crescent Lake
4.5 of 5 bubbles 25 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jo's Motel and Campground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jo's Motel and Campground

Property: Jo's Motel and Campground
Address: 52851 Highway 62, Fort Klamath, OR 97626-3424
Region: United States > Oregon > Fort Klamath
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Fort Klamath
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Organic Food and Lodging serving visitors to Crater Lake National Park. Full organic grocery store with breakfast and espresso. Kitchens and gas fireplaces. Pet free. Suites, cabin, singles, camping, RV. Communal firerings. On the Wood River. 1/2 Hour to Crater Lake. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing