We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Got wifi? No...”
Review of Crater Lake Resort

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Fort Klamath
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Crater Lake Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 September 2013

Here are my two main complaints about this place. 1) They advertise free wifi. Well, it is free but it's also practically nonexistent. Was unable to do more than check email and even that took an agonizingly long time. 2) the water smells like sulfur. To the point where brushing my teeth made me gag. Surely they could spring for a filtration system - the smell of rotten eggs was really overwhelming.

I don't mind rustic; in fact I was expecting that. But I felt a little cheated with our tiny "cabin". Additional info: The bed was fine. There is a refrigerator and microwave, which was convenient. The general store was barely stocked. And there was not a single decent restaurant anywhere nearby. It's about a 25 minute drive to Crater Lake National Park.

Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Mairead O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jsolve925, Owner at Crater Lake Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 26 March 2014

We are always trying to get better. WiFi has been a problem without a solution out in our neck of the woods but finally we have a much better option. In the off season we have upgraded to faster and more reliable 4th generation service and know it will make those trying for relaxation yet connection much happier with us.
We have also found a ecologically sound way to rid our water of the natural sulfur that our local spring water is know for. Our new system leaves our natural spring water completely odor free yet retains the natural spring water benefits

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (135)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

85 - 91 of 135 reviews

Reviewed 3 September 2013

Very poor Wi-fi, no TV in the cabin, no restaurants in town. While the cabin was clean, we were unable to check our business online or watch TV. They had free DVDs in the little store but this was not what we had in mind. We were on the creek but the bed was in front of the window? Weird....Get to Klamath Falls and make the drive to Crater Lake. Bad value at $125.

Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Osageartist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jsolve925, Owner at Crater Lake Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 27 March 2014

We are sorry that you didn't enjoy your visit with us. We feel we are worlds (and over 30minutes) away from Klamath Falls. We do hear you on the need for more and we have addressed a few of your specific concerns. We have upgraded our WiFi service, enhanced our Cellular reception with a universal booster and finally added TVs with local and basic cable to the rooms. We can't enhance the natural beauty it is about as good as it gets. A lot of other great things are happening at Crater Lake Resort. If you find yourself back up our way would would love to show you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2013

After reading the other reviews I was expecting a little more. We had a room overlooking the creek. It had 2 beds, but this is possible because they have converted what should be a small living room into a bedroom, there is no place to sit and overlook the creek except on the bed. A small table was in the corner with a couple of dining room chairs. A small grill is located on the deck which is connected to the back of the next unit. The bathroom window opens on to the adjacent deck, so you cannot leave it open or your neighbors can see in the bathroom or you can see in their unit.

There is a small kitchen with everything you need to cook and wash up your dishes. Small stove, small refrigerator, no oven.

There is a small play area for children, lots of grassy area. Canoes you can use for free, but the area where you use them is quite small, looked like the life preservers were in need of replacement. A short walking path around the area. Small store that carries a few items, but make sure you bring everything you need. There are a lot of mosquitoes so bring los of spray. The wi fi did not work for us, speaking to others staying there they said it only worked certain hours of the day and was turned off around 9pm. No TV. Our cell service was spotty, it you stood under the right tree you could get service.

Located about 35 miles from Klamath Falls, so I would stay there next time we go to Crater Lake. Lodge is located near the road so is a bit noisy a times when trucks go by.

We found hair in one of the beds! Ugh.

Water odor is horrible, sulfur smell. Bring bottled water to drink.

Room Tip: Pay the additional money for a room that overlooks the creek. Bring your own drinking water. Bring...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank waytoofun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2013

Beautiful place to stay outside of Crater Lake. The people who work their are very friendly and the cabins are very nice for a family of 4. They have plenty of activities, including canoeing, to entertain you when you aren't at the National Park. They offer free movie rentals to guests, have a barbecue grill for each cabin (gas fed), and a nice play park for the kids which also includes a fire pit for roasting marshmallows! I love this place!

Room Tip: They have cabins on the creek or away from them. I don't know about all of them, but keep in mi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank t o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jsolve925, Owner at Crater Lake Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 27 March 2014

Thanks so much for the kind review. We are gearing up for our May 2014 opening and if you loved us last year you should really love us in 2014.
Many new upgrades enjoy! We also have TACO THURSDAYS !! to announce.
If you can stretch your weekend out please join us for a complementary Mexican Fiesta every Thursday Night in May and June. We know how hard it is to pack and get on the road and wanted to make it nice and easy to enjoy our little slice of heaven. We would love to have you back to see all of our improvements.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2013

As another reviewer has written, this place is all it claims to be. It is about a 20-30 minute drive to Crater Lake, mainly because once you get close to the park on the quiet highway 62, there is a 45-mph speed limit. We stayed in a two-bed, single room cabin away from the creek, and it was all we needed for the six nights we were in the area. The cabin was exceptionally clean and quiet. When the policy says quiet time on the grounds runs from 10 p.m. until 7 a.m., they mean it. We never heard a peep from anyone even though we kept the windows open all the time (there is no air conditioning, but there were two fans in the cabin). The only negative I will mention is that the water smells and tastes like sulphur. You will want to bring bottled water for drinking, making coffee, etc. The two-bed cabin is completely open, with two queen beds, a dining table and small kitchen area that has a combination refrigerator/two-burner stove and a microwave. The refrigerator is a good size, though not full size. It is probably twice as big as the little cube dorm-style fridges. There are plates, cups, glasses, utensils, pots and pans, and a couple of other pieces of glass cookware. There is a separate bathroom with counter-top sink, toilet, and shower (no tub). There are other pieces of furniture and a long countertop outside the bathroom where you can place your luggage, etc. There is a TV/DVD combo. While there is no TV reception, there is a nice DVD library in the store, and you can simply check out the DVD's at no cost during your stay. Some have mentioned canoes and kayaks for free use on the creek. There are no kayaks, only canoes. However, you are free to use them, only needing to sign a standard waiver for use. There are plenty of bicycles for kids to use, as well as a game room with a somewhat tired air hockey and foosball table, but plenty of jigsaw puzzles and books. There is a pickle ball court, some swings, and a nice children's play area. The two-bed cabins (not creek side) have charcoal grills outside them; however, there is a large propane grill on the back porch of the store that you are free to use. I grilled hamburgers on it one night after one of the staff, Allan, had already cooked his dinner. He left it on for me to use and even finished cleaning it up after I was finished. Allan and Angela were most helpful and friendly. This is a very laid-back environment, very clean and quiet, and just what I was hoping for in a place to stay in the area. Be sure and purchase your groceries and other needs before you get here, because it is very remote. We came up from northern California and stocked up in Grant's Pass on the way, purchasing a disposable Styrofoam cooler to place our cold goods in. However, we later learned that there is a Walmart in Klamath Falls, which is about 30-40 minutes away. Hope this review helps - you won't be disappointed with this great place!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jules1013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2013

This is a well managed RV park sandwiched between a quietish road and a quiet river (upon which you can canoe with free canoes provided by the park). All full hookup pitches are gravel with nearby services and you are guided into your pitch by the owner (because he has never quite recovered from an RV hitting the camp toilet). Our pitch was quite narrow. Free wifi exists but it is very slow, the camp shop is quite well equipped and stays open till late, overnight charges are very reasonable. There are some biting flies so precautions have to be taken. The toilets and showers were spotless. They have a free DVD library. It is a good place to stay but despite its name, it is over 20 miles from Crater Lake.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PaulHarvey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2013 via mobile

We never thought we'd get there but when we did we were pleasantly surprised. The cabin was on the creek with our own private deck. There was a big picture window by the bed looking right into the creek. You can canoe or kayak around in the creek. The hosts were very nice and helpful also. I wish we could have stayed more than one night!

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank deb s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Crater Lake Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crater Lake Resort

Address: PO Box 457, Fort Klamath, OR 97626-0457
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Oregon > Fort Klamath
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Speciality Lodging in Fort Klamath
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We also have 20 camping sites. We have added in room TV with local and basic cable options. Enhanced our WiFi service and expanded our fresh food and local gifts selection in our resort store. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Crater Lake Hotel Fort Klamath

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing