We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Country Charm in a Photogenic Location”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Fossil
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Wilson Ranches Retreat Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 2 Fossil B&B and Inns
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
361 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“Country Charm in a Photogenic Location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2014 via mobile

During our brief visit we experienced a comfortable and relaxing visit, and met people from around the world. Dramatic scenery provided this amateur photographer with some great shots.

We saw dozens of deer in the fields and one rattlesnake on the road. WWR is a real ranch operation and the Wilson family is a great example for all of us. Hard, honest work coupled with open arms of friendship and love. We'll have to come back when we can lend a true helping hand with the ranch operations.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Roger T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    73
    13
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
30
36
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pune, India
Level Contributor
45 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2014

We were a group of ten friends who descended on this lovely farmhouse on a chilly Feb eve in 2009, and we loved every minute of our experience there! Once darkness descended, one couldn't see a thing in the boondocks and just walking to the car to get something was an adventure. We tucked in to watch movies with the others guests in the farmhouse, and explored the shelves full of books and games in the basement in extreme glee! The rooms were cozy and we felt great being tucked in warm when we imagined the midst of the wilderness in which we were. The shared bathrooms the next morning were clean and spotless, and all the guests did their bit in that too. The breakfast - now wow, that was something! Everyone sat around a large table and helped themselves to home made grub. The only thing about food - if you check in late and don't have your own dinner, then be warned that the couple of stores in town shut early. Also, the breakfast experience is excellent but the vegetarian options were minimal (at least in 2009, please check with them on this now!). I'd recommend this to anyone who wants to take a spin of the stunningly beautiful and barren Oregon east.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AR698
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
usa
Level Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2014

I very much enjoyed our 2 day stay at Wilson Ranch. Nancy and Phil are great hosts and I they would do anything to enhance your stay. The Homesteader Room with its 3 beds, fireplace, couch and love seat would accommodate a large group. I felt at-home and relaxed here unlike some B&B's. There are many interesting things to do and see in the area including the John Day Fossil Beds and Painted Hills. The location of the B&B is convenient to the town of Fossil yet feels remote and the ranch scenery is superb. Rooms had daily housekeeping which was excellent, towels and amenities are top-notch and breakfast was delicious and plentiful.Last but not least is the horseback riding: the price is very reasonable for the quality, rides are beautiful and somewhat challenging and we saw mule deer every time we rode. Wilson Ranch was the most memorable place we stayed in our 2 week tour of beautiful Oregon.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank knightwatcher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helena, MT
Level Contributor
966 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 444 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2014

Nanci and Phil run a working ranch while having welcomed over 35,000 guests. They utilize a much modified Sears and Robuck house for the dudes. Of course most of the dudes we met had been there many times before and had become real friends of the Wilson's some had roots in the area and were hardly dudes at all

One English couple had never been on horses before and got drafted into helping get some loose cattle back inside the fence. It was the most memorable and fun event of their visits to the US

The breakfasts are huge and at a common table where everyone is soon your friend. It is a hard place to leave We made reservations right then for next year. We had come to Fossil for the car show and bluegrass festival but found it hard to quit petting Duke, thr ranch dog and greeter, and get back into town

The ranch is about 2 miles from town and right at the end of the paved part of the road

The Wilson's are the best. Glad we found them

Room Tip: Ground floor rooms are next to the very clean bathrooms. But reserve any room you can, they go fast.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vintagetrailer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2014 via mobile

Was looking to see Oregon Ranch life from the inside and got more than I expected. Beautiful location and a friendly and wonderful family to show you what Ranch life is all about. Our stay at the Wilson's Ranch was the highlight of our Oregon holiday and we thank them for the down home hospitality. Forget the "dude" Ranch and head to Wilson Ranches Retreat B&B.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nik V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rockville, Maryland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014

I thoroughly enjoyed my stay at Wilson Ranches Retreat. Nancy & Phil could not have been more welcoming or informative. The breakfasts were completely amazing, including the absolute best biscuts in the universe. Even though there is not much going on in Fossil itself, the beauty of the surrounding area more than makes up for it. I experienced ocular-overload: it is so magnificant to drive around and through the John Day Fossil area and Painted Hills on the route Nancy mapped out for us. I hope to visit again in the near future.

Jan

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hambergen, Germany
Level Contributor
162 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2014

Yes, we are from Germany and yes, we still love to experience the "real America", not the one full of blank looking tourists. We lived a few years in Texas and learned a lot about American people during everyday life. We still have American friends, who we visit on a regular basis.
Every time we are in the U.S., we try to travel one part off the beaten tracks. So we found the Wilson Ranch in Oregon, without knowing what to expect. Well, if a location is "off", then its Fossil :-) And how great was it to be guest on the Wilson Ranch! We heard so many intriguing stories. Nancy marked some points of interest on a map so thanks to her we had a great one-day round trip with interesting encounters and a breath-taking landscape.
If you are looking for a place to meet interesting people, this is the right place!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MMOHZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Wilson Ranches Retreat Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wilson Ranches Retreat Bed & Breakfast

Property: Wilson Ranches Retreat Bed & Breakfast
Address: 15809 Butte Creek Ln, PO Box 274, Fossil, OR 97830-8339
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Oregon > Fossil
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Fossil
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wilson Ranches is a 9,000 acre cattle and hay ranch three miles West of Fossil, Oregon. The Retreat has six ranch style guest rooms, two common baths, two private baths, and a spacious living and dining room. Enjoy horseback riding in a geologically and historically rich area of Wheeler County. Wheeler County is home of the John Day Fossil Beds National Monument and has the richest find of prehistoric fossils in the world. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Wilson Ranches Retreat Bed & Breakfast Fossil, Oregon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing