We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pretty - but BE Careful if you are swimming in it!”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Hagg Lake

Hagg Lake
Ranked #4 of 10 things to do in Gaston
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Lakes in or around Gaston or Forest Grove Oregon
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Pretty - but BE Careful if you are swimming in it!”
Reviewed 24 June 2014

Don't open your mouth! Unfortunately when I did a triathlon in this lake a couple of years ago, I got Giardia - AND so did my friend! Pretty gross and I did have to notify my local health department but I also notified Washington county, don't really know what can be done about Giardia in a lake except maybe warn people!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
5 Thank Jake G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    16
    9
    2
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Gaston, Oregon, United States
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Nice days to fish”
Reviewed 26 November 2013

Enjoy walking,biking,fishing,boating,sunbathing,picnicking,BBQ Great walking trail to the Dock for wheelchairs. In the heat of the summer the dock is high for fishing best to go in June or July. They stock this lake with trout. so fun to watch the little ones catch fish if you have patience for that.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Michele D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amman, Jordan
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Bees, Bees, more bees!”
Reviewed 29 June 2013

I never enjoy this park! My husband takes us to this park often because he loves to go for the fishing, although he rarely catches anything:) The kids and I hate this park. It's hard to enjoy anything with all the bees, flies, and mosquitos. Not much for the kids to do. Swimming off the boat ramp is dangerous, and there's no beach. Worst of all is there's hardly any trees in the picnic areas or near the lake, so be prepared to suffer in the blaring heat of the sun. This park gets extremely hot in the summer months, so go prepared. The drive to Hagg Lake can be dangerous, lots of drunk drivers! We much prefer Silver Falls State Park.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank AmericanInAmman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheridan, Oregon
Level Contributor
86 reviews
39 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“What do you want to do?”
Reviewed 7 May 2013

Fishing, swimming, hiking, bicycling, picnicing, boating, or other adventures. Close by is Tree 2 Tree, a zip line venue for special adventure for the family. The setting is beautiful and biking and running events are held there during the summer. It costs $5 to enter the park.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Gunny75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hillsboro, Oregon
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Close, easy access and beautiful!”
Reviewed 8 April 2013

Boating, Fishing, great scenery, able to catch fish, easy access for boaters, picnickers. It's not far from home, so we can take grandchildren for an outing without it consuming an entire day!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank RR M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Hagg Lake also viewed

 

Been to Hagg Lake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing