We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Can't wait to return” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Gearhart Ocean Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Gearhart Ocean Inn
Ranked #1 of 3 Gearhart B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Can't wait to return”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2011

Love, love, LOVE this cottage.

Location is AMAZING -- just a 5 minute walk from the gorgeous beach and a 5 minute drive to the quaint town of Seaside. It's clean and comfortable, and was fantastically decorated. The backyard was also a great perk; loved being able to have a fire!

Also, the woman who works for the cottages was extremely nice, and it was a pleasure to deal with her.

Would recommend this place, and will definitely be returning :)

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ang3line_p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

228 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    188
    32
    3
    3
    2
See reviews for
67
107
9
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2011

My husband and I and our dog have been staying at the Gearhart Ocean Inn the past 5 years and have loved it! Not like the crowded and loud hotels in Seaside. Very pet friendly and they even leave a dog basket in your room which my dog enjoys the biscuits. Nice little area out back to walk your dog and sit and enjoy. Even has a barbeque. We like Gearhart because it is quiet and you can drive your car on the beach. The staff are the best!! In the past we have stayed on the days that the bakery was closed but this year we stayed earlier and the bakery was open and I highly recommend the danish! Would never stay anywhere else.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ocean5000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newberg, OR
Level Contributor
58 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2011

The Ocean Inn is not on the ocean - it's a couple of blocks away. But it's a stone's throw from the Pacific Way Cafe and Bakery, the grocery and shops in the tiny and tony town of Gearhart. Not luxurious (no spa, fancy lobby or room service) but nicely remodeled and has what you need: micro, coffee-maker, mini-fridge, cable tv, cute nautical decor, nice bedding. There's a little lawn and garden with a Weber grill where you can BBQ. The Inn also has some one and two-bedroom units for families at a good price. We love the quiet charm of Gearhart and it's beautiful, uncrowded beach. This is a wonderful little place in the most upscale town on the Oregon coast.

Room Tip: This is a small property - all the rooms are comparable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Cawater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheridan, Wyoming
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2011

We found our vacation cottage on trip adviser and were pleasantly surprized. The facility was very clean, the staff was friendly and helpful. We stayed in the cottage by the garden shop so the atmosphere was pleasant. There was a barbecue and fire pit on the deck area which we enjoyed for breakfast and dinner.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank richardandlaura1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2011

The driveway in front of all the rooms is chunky gravel and VERY noisy--you hear every vehicle and even every footstep on it. The rooms are right on it, and really need the windows open most of the time so it can't be avoided. This year there's a huge water project in town nearby and the detour goes right by the property, making for more noise (a lot of trucks) and commotion. Not a relaxing place to stay this year, or maybe not at all until/unless they pave their drive.

Room Tip: I can't recommend any room here now
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LovePacNW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DBLGearhartOregon, Manager at Gearhart Ocean Inn, responded to this review, 30 June 2011
We welcome any comments about our charming, beautifully restored Gearhart Ocean Inn. The construction is near a small section of town away from our Inn and the wonderful Pacific Way Bakery, Gearhart Grocery, Dennis’ 7 Dees Garden Center at Fitzgerald’s and much more! Beach access is still a short walk away and the summer is in full swing in quaint Gearhart.

We encourage you to read the glowing reviews before this one about our cozy rooms, plush linens, complimentary beach cruisers bikes and a beautifully landscaped backyard with a BBQ, fire pit and Adirondack chairs for a relaxing beach get-away.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
seattle
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2011

Inn is located just off the first intersection about two blocks off the freeway. This is a very small town with a grocery store, cafe, bakery, ice cream parlor at the intersection. All of these establishments are very charming and nicely-done. The inn itself consists of a series of rooms next to each other, remodeled to a Cape Code seaside style. They make for a very pleasant atmosphere, just as the website's pictures depict. Be aware that these rooms open directly out to the parking and doors are not the heavy-set, secure ones at hotels. So if one is concerned about security they may bring a little anxiety. The rooms offer a small fridge, sink and microwave. The check-in office has a library of DVD's to borrow. Gearhart is only 10-15 minutes from Cannon Beach, and is a great alternative away from the hustle and bustle (and high prices ) of Cannon. The room was stocked with a dog dish, dog biscuits and a blanket for my pet.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank iamkokino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2011

This was a fantastic place to stay, especially considering that it's pet friendly. We stayed for 2 nights in a 1-bedroom suite and had a great time. The kitchenette is fully stocked and we saved a little money by dining in once. What's amazing about this place is that it actually looks like it does on the website - lovely paint choices and linens, beadboard wainscoting, and comfortable seating. My one minor complaint is that the blinds in the bedroom let in quite a bit of light. It made bedtime for our 4 year old difficult ("But it's still light outside!"). It would also be helpful to have a trash can near the office or in another central area for those of us who are cleaning up after pets. Aside from that I don't have a single bad thing to say about it. We'll definitely be back!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hikermc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gearhart
0.5 mi away
Gearhart by the Sea
Gearhart by the Sea
#1 of 2 in Gearhart
3.5 of 5 bubbles 96 reviews
11.9 mi away
Cannery Pier Hotel
Cannery Pier Hotel
#1 of 14 in Astoria
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,145 reviews
10.4 mi away
Stephanie Inn
Stephanie Inn
#1 of 14 in Cannon Beach
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,498 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.5 mi away
The Ocean Lodge
The Ocean Lodge
#2 of 14 in Cannon Beach
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,413 reviews
10.7 mi away
Tolovana Inn
Tolovana Inn
#9 of 14 in Cannon Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,645 reviews
15.0 mi away
The Inn at Arch Cape
The Inn at Arch Cape
#3 of 4 in Arch Cape
4.5 of 5 bubbles 103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gearhart Ocean Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gearhart Ocean Inn

Property: Gearhart Ocean Inn
Address: 67 N Cottage Ave., Gearhart, OR 97138
Region: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Gearhart
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Gearhart
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Gearhart Ocean Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Featured on NBC's TODAY Show! Meticulously restored New England-style attached cottages with gas Franklin stoves, comfortable sofas, fluffy robes and wonderful beds. Choose among cozy studios, family suites with 1-2 bedrooms or a larger 2-bedroom cottage. In the heart of charming Gearhart. Steps to dining, golf, shopping,tennis and a gorgeous, quiet beach. Complimentary DVDs, beach bikes, games and spacious backyard with fire pit & BBQ. We welcome your well mannered dogs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Gearhart Ocean Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gearhart Ocean Hotel Gearhart

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing