We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Feels like home!”
Review of Gearhart Ocean Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Gearhart Ocean Inn
Ranked #1 of 3 Gearhart B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Portland, OR
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Feels like home!”
Reviewed 7 August 2012

Gearhart is a relaxing and charming beach town - you can't beat it for a wonderful family getaway! We rented the Gearhart Cottages for several days with another family. The Cottages are super clean and you will feel like you are staying in your own home. The owners have thought of everything! It's the perfect place to rent with another family. The cottages are twins - each of our families had our own space, but we shared front and back porches and a gorgeous back yard and deck for BBQing, games, and a firepit for s'mores at night. A perfect spot! We will definitely be back!

Room Tip: The cottages are identical and you will be happy in either!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Julie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

231 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    189
    34
    3
    3
    2
See reviews for
67
110
9
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Fairbanks, Alaska
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 August 2012

This place is awesome and I would strongly encourage anyone who wants to stay in Gearhart to stay here. It is close to the ocean, our unit had a kitchen, and the staff was extremely helpful and nice. It is a perfect home away from home, and if you stay here do not forget to ask about the bikes!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mhdunlap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2012

Gearhart is a wonderful small beach town, and Gearhart Ocean Inn is the perfect place to stay. The rooms are charming and beautifully decorated, and immaculate. The hotel is pet friendly, which is such a nice feature. The staff was helpful and friendly. The hotel offers complimentary DVDs and bikes. We had an amazing week, and I would recommend the hotel to anyone!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shellie E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Ramon, California, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 August 2012

These cottages are the best of both worlds. They have the space of renting a small house without the hassle and they have the amenities of staying in a luxury hotel. Unit #14 has a spacious private front yard with Adirondack chairs a 4 person seating area and wood fire pit. inside is a family room with 2 large sofas, a bedroom with 2 bunk beds a small fully furnished kitchen a fantastic bathroom and a bedroom with a king bed for my husband and myself. It gave us the relaxing feeling of staying in a cabin at the beach which is what I wanted. The staff was wonderful. The location was very nice. 2 blocks from the beach. In the morning my husband and I walked across the street to the bakery and got a chocolate croissant and coffee, It was VERY relaxing.

Room Tip: Unit #14 sleeps 6 and is perfect for a family.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Linda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
seattle
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2012

my husband and i were recently married in gearhart and we stayed at the gearhart cottages. the entire staff was so wonderful and welcoming. tracy even brought us flowers from her personal garden when she heard that we loved her hydrangeas and wanted to use them in the wedding bouqets! the entire staff really embodied the welcoming, warm, small town that gearhart is. the cottage was cute and well kept and clean with a lovely yard. it was everything i could have wanted and more! thank you, thank you tracy and staff! we will definitely be coming back!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kristen n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2012

All around an awesome experience! The staff was super helpful, the room was cute and comfortable and everything is within walking distance. We didn't get in the car once all weekend long. Although this is the Oregon Coast and it rains a lot, this place would have been perfect rain or shine!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Abby S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woodinville, Washington
2 reviews
Reviewed 30 July 2012

Stayed one night in Unit #8. The unit was perfect for my friend and I to share a bedroom, she got the full size and I got the twin...the pillows and bedding were divine. I usually bring my own pillow, but these beds had an abundance of big fluffy pillows with quality coverings. We had a nice kitchenette, liviing area and the bathroom is so nice, love the inbedded rock base with rain head.

Glad it was pet friendly, good to know for a return trip. The staff and owner were so nice, came up and chatted about the history of the place and offered the use of BIKES, DVDs, etc...they has extras like fire wood to purchase.

The grounds were clean and beauifully landscaped. Loved the bench, we enjoyed our Pastries and coffee from the local bakery a half block away...and the cafe is so good too...

I rode all over town on the bike and after dinner we took a nice long walk, the town encourages pet walk, for they have dog do baggie stations everywhere. GO SEE Gearhart!

Room Tip: lots of styles to choose from, from suites to singles.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gearhart
0.6 mi away
Gearhart by the Sea
Gearhart by the Sea
#1 of 2 in Gearhart
99 reviews
11.9 mi away
Cannery Pier Hotel
Cannery Pier Hotel
#1 of 14 in Astoria
1,190 reviews
2.0 mi away
Best Western Ocean View Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.5 mi away
The Ocean Lodge
The Ocean Lodge
#2 of 14 in Cannon Beach
1,504 reviews
3.6 mi away
Lanai at the Cove
Lanai at the Cove
#1 of 27 in Seaside
900 reviews
15.0 mi away
The Inn at Arch Cape
The Inn at Arch Cape
#3 of 4 in Arch Cape
103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gearhart Ocean Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gearhart Ocean Inn

Property: Gearhart Ocean Inn
Address: 67 N Cottage Ave., Gearhart, OR 97138
Region: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Gearhart
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Gearhart
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Gearhart Ocean Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Featured on NBC's TODAY Show! Meticulously restored New England-style attached cottages with gas Franklin stoves, comfortable sofas, fluffy robes and wonderful beds. Choose among cozy studios, family suites with 1-2 bedrooms or a larger 2-bedroom cottage. In the heart of charming Gearhart. Steps to dining, golf, shopping,tennis and a gorgeous, quiet beach. Complimentary DVDs, beach bikes, games and spacious backyard with fire pit & BBQ. We welcome your well mannered dogs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Gearhart Ocean Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gearhart Ocean Hotel Gearhart

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing