We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Slice of Heaven”
Review of Gearhart Ocean Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Gearhart Ocean Inn
Ranked #1 of 3 Gearhart B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
50 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Slice of Heaven”
Reviewed 3 August 2014

What a wonderful haven. Couldn't have had a better time. They think of everything down to the last detail. They are innovative and it's the little touches that made my stay so wonderful. Cannot wait to go back. Bakery, restaurant, grocery store and candy/ice cream shop, gift and antique shops all within a couple of blocks. Beach is not crowded like Seaside and Cannon Beach. As you turn off of Highway 101 to get to the hotel, check out the family run barbeque place....it's beyond yummy. I confess I went there two nights in a row and got takeout, brought it back to the hotel and enjoyed the beautiful evening in private yard along with my fellow guests.

Room Tip: Each is different. Something for everyone depending on what you like and want from a room. I appre...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chloris B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

231 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    189
    34
    3
    3
    2
See reviews for
67
110
9
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Philomath, Oregon
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 31 July 2014

The Fitz cottages at the Gearhart were awesome; they are right next to the Fitz Nursery and are private and very comfortable. Our family gathered there for a week long vacation and there was something for everyone to do: public tennis courts within walking distance (great quality: courts were open every time), ocean, golf, a great bakery and quiet streets. A great place to stay if you want to catch the hustle and bustle of Seaside (5mins away) or the picturesque Astoria to the north. Staff was great; movie selection was good. We were able to grill out every night and the rooms were updated, clean and quaint with access TV in every room. We are definitely going back next year---a new family favorite! Only drawback? No laundry facilities so for a long stay plan ahead.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alucke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DBLGearhartOregon, Owner at Gearhart Ocean Inn, responded to this review, 11 September 2014
Dear Guests,
So glad the Fitz Cottages filled the bill for your family. See you next year, or sooner!
--Tracy & Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Canada
2 reviews
Reviewed 23 July 2014

Fantastic Inn in Oregon. Close to the ocean. Quiet, comfortable, cozy and clean. My wife and I stayed at this location for over a week. Initially it was to be a few days, but we decided to extend our stay and do day trips throughout Oregon.

The staff are friendly and helpful. This location has a level of professionalism that we found impressive. At no time did we feel like we were staying in a five star hotel were it was the expectation of the staff to be professional at all times. We found the staff at the Gearhardt Ocean Inn to be genuine in their professionalism and more importantly they make you feel as part of and treat you as family. My wife and I have traveled extensively, but this was the first time we stayed at a location that made us feel like we were coming "home" each day after our adventures.

Gerald and Joey

Room Tip: Gearhardt Ocean Inn has rooms and then one bedroom cottage suites
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank glyoung
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DBLGearhartOregon, Owner at Gearhart Ocean Inn, responded to this review, 3 August 2014
Dear Gerald and Joey,
We are humbled by your kind words about your stay at the Gearhart Ocean Inn. Thank you very much.
Most sincerely,
--Tracy Hooper and staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 16 July 2014

Yeah, yeah, everyone says that Manzanita and Cannon Beach are the best places on the Oregon Coast but I'm putting Gearhart at the top of my list. The people in this little town are awesome, it's super dog friendly, and everything you need is right there. Cute little bakery (check), well stocked grocery store (check), oh, and the beach just down the road (check)! We've stayed at the Gearhart Ocean Inn twice now and both visits were beyond our expectations. It's super clean, very comfortable, with tasteful finishes/decor. I'm a designer and can really appreciate the effort that's been put into styling this property to keep a beachy and tranquil cottage feeling. We've stayed in both a "King Studio" and a "One Bedroom Suite" and the rooms are both great. For a quick overnight we'd do the king studio again, for a longer stay we'd go with the suite as it has separate living/sleeping quarters. Also, I was a little worried about hubby and I sharing the "extra long full-sized bed" in the one bedroom suite, but it ended up being just fine and snuggly. We brought our dog and she loved sitting near the fireplace after a long day of running on the beach. Plus there are cruiser bikes to borrow and a cool garden fire pit for roasting smores at the end of the day. We were so at home and didn't want to leave! I couldn't recommend this town and the Ocean Inn enough. The Owner was so nice and even had a lovely handwritten birthday card for my husband when we checked in. We will be back!

Room Tip: We stayed in #9 (One Brdm Suite) and it was perfect! #10 also looked like a good choice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank artgirl1313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DBLGearhartOregon, Owner at Gearhart Ocean Inn, responded to this review, 3 August 2014
Dear Gerald and Joey,
We are humbled by your kind words about your stay at the Gearhart Ocean Inn. Thank you very much.
Most sincerely,
--Tracy Hooper and staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albuquerque, New Mexico
1 review
Reviewed 7 July 2014

We were looking for a quite place to stay on the northern Oregon coast that offered a nearby beach setting and some good golf options. The Gearhart Ocean Inn was a perfect find. Gearhart Golf Links is a few blocks away and there are two par three courses nearby as well. We stayed in one of the king studios and the room was really nice, not very spacious, but enough to relax and prepare simple meals. The room was very clean, bright and warmly decorated, and the king size bed just right! The staff was very helpful and knowledgeable about things to do in and around the area. Gearhart is a wonderful little town to stay in and is close enough to Seaside for more dinning options. This inn is a great value and has many wonderful amenities. We would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Antmannm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DBLGearhartOregon, Owner at Gearhart Ocean Inn, responded to this review, 3 August 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for the high praise (coming from you as a designer) about the Gearhart Ocean Inn. We are delighted that you enjoyed your second stay as much as the first. Hope to see you again & again.
--Tracy & staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bainbridge Island, Washington
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2014

We’d never been to Gearhart before and had no idea what to expect either from the inn or the place. Both far exceeded our expectations! The inn is really lovely, tucked away in a nice neighborhood about a block from the beach. Our room was perfect, beautifully decorated and equipped. It was clear that every detail had been thought of - comfortable bed, good coffee for the coffee machine (even decaf), wifi, wood stove, refrigerator and a table for two. It was quiet too. The building and grounds are meticulously maintained too with pretty landscaping.

The service was great too with friendly helpful innkeepers. We’ll definitely be returning!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank clairesmi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ithaca, New York
1 review
Reviewed 2 July 2014

We liked the small town nature of the community and really enjoyed the cottage feel of the Gearhart Ocean Inn, with an easy walk to the ocean as well as the amazing bakery/cafe and stores. Biking around town and on the beach (with bikes provided by the inn!) was a great bonus. Gearhart and the Ocean Inn are nicely located for easy trips up to Astoria and down to Cannon Beach and Manzanita. Thanks for the wonderful hospitality. This was our first time on the Oregon coast and we expect to be back!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GEAR8FL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gearhart
0.6 mi away
Gearhart by the Sea
Gearhart by the Sea
#1 of 2 in Gearhart
3.5 of 5 bubbles 99 reviews
10.5 mi away
The Ocean Lodge
The Ocean Lodge
#2 of 14 in Cannon Beach
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,464 reviews
11.9 mi away
Cannery Pier Hotel
Cannery Pier Hotel
#1 of 14 in Astoria
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Best Western Ocean View Resort
10.8 mi away
Tolovana Inn
Tolovana Inn
#9 of 14 in Cannon Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,784 reviews
10.4 mi away
Stephanie Inn
Stephanie Inn
#1 of 14 in Cannon Beach
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,631 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gearhart Ocean Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gearhart Ocean Inn

Property: Gearhart Ocean Inn
Address: 67 N Cottage Ave., Gearhart, OR 97138
Region: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Gearhart
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Gearhart
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Gearhart Ocean Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Featured on NBC's TODAY Show! Meticulously restored New England-style attached cottages with gas Franklin stoves, comfortable sofas, fluffy robes and wonderful beds. Choose among cozy studios, family suites with 1-2 bedrooms or a larger 2-bedroom cottage. In the heart of charming Gearhart. Steps to dining, golf, shopping,tennis and a gorgeous, quiet beach. Complimentary DVDs, beach bikes, games and spacious backyard with fire pit & BBQ. We welcome your well mannered dogs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Gearhart Ocean Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gearhart Ocean Hotel Gearhart

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing