We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Gearhart by the Sea
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Gearhart
Richland
Level Contributor
47 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great stay!”
Reviewed 4 April 2014 via mobile

My husband myself and our two young children stayed for five days in room 637. It was comfortably furnished had a nice flat screen tv, was clean and had a beautiful view! The pool was nice and warm and the family had a great time swimming, it was a little confusing getting to the pool the first time but easy after you figure out how to get there the first time. The room had WiFi that was a little spotty and you had to log back into it frequently but it worked so no big deal. Check in was easy and the staff was very friendly. Had trouble figuring out how to start the shower since the pull down mechanism was on the faucet but the front desk helped us sort it out. Over all great stay, hopefully will be back!

Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank tifa1724
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    32
    28
    15
    14
    10
See reviews for
47
33
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Beaverton, Oregon
Level Contributor
39 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2014

This was our second stay in unit 691 at Gearhart by the Sea. All of the units here are individually owned. This unit is great. It is one bedroom (king bed) with an additional upstairs loft with two twins. The open living area is nice with a huge deck overlooking the Pacific down towards Seaside. The kitchen is adequate in size and remarkably well equipped. Only down side is that the unit (near the end of the building) seems to be a bit removed from their internet connections with spotty connectivity. If this is important to you, a more central unit might be better, buy hey -- you're at the beach!

The property is also adjacent to the Gearhart Golf Links which is fun if you are so inclined and the weather cooperates (we have played here in the past, but not on this weekend trip).

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tom E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
151 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 November 2013

Two of our children and their families spent two days and one night (in two different units) at Gearhart by the Sea. Our Unit (#652) which allowed our dog, was well located, fairly modern, clean with possibly the best equipped kitchen we have encountered in all our travels. The two bedrooms with two bathrooms were much appreciated, albeit without a hair dryer. The living area and kitchen were very large and opened onto a full width balcony. The office staff was pleasant, knowledgeable and accomodating to our needs. When in the Seaside area, we will certainly return to this condominium complex.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wanderers1001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newton Abbot, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2013

We'd driven down from Vancouver and arrived late on a busy holiday Friday. We were greeted by helpful staff across the road in the hotel where admin for this flat is located. The flat itself overlooked other holiday homes with the ocean beyond. The accommodation was very spacious, well equipped and ideal for a self-catering stay. Shirley in admin' was very helpful even to the point of locating a candle to dress our dining table. Excellent value and if we are ever in the area again then we'd probably choose to stay here (or perhaps one floor higher up where the ocean view might be more impressive). Pretty handy location for a base from which one can explore Oregon and the Colombia River.

Room Tip: Higher floors will enjoy a better ocean view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LuzechSpur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
westminster
Level Contributor
28 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2013

My husband and I arrived in Gearhart, after driving from Portland. We opened the door to find a beautiful condo, nicely furnished, with a welcoming deck. I wouldn't consider the view to be an ocean view, however you could see beyond the units directly in front and see the ocean beyond. We were treated to a different kind of view in the morning! A herd of elk wandering the grassy bluffs beside the beach! What a great first night on the Oregon coast!

Room Tip: our unit #613 was beautiful. Since each unit is privately owned, you never know what to expect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank p_vanallen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington
Level Contributor
100 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2013

I have stayed at this property many times and have had some wonderful memories but that WAS NOT the case this summer. We rented the UNIT #660 as a pet unit to take our sweet dog. We have always stayed in pet units and have NEVER had a problem like this unit. The overwheling odor of cat urine hits you as soom as you open the door. I Called front desk immidiatly so they would know #1 it was NOT from my obidiant, very housebroke pet and #2 do something about it, my eyes were watering up. They sent housekeeping who asked ' where is it concentrated' Ummmm the carpets , the bedroom, the clostes... that would be everywhere. She spend 30 seconds spraying one room. The unit is old , the balcony HAS ripped up torn indoor fake grass/carpet that is a hazard, the closets are broken and the shower door is broke, the kitchen is NOT fully stocked,. Not even a cookie sheet? AND to top it off, the cat previously there had scratched up the carpet at the door and exposed the carpet tact nails. Housekeeping had the nerve to tell me, 'sorry , we told maintenence but he didn't want to do anything about, so be careful' I stuffed a towel over it and onto the nails to be sure we didnt step on them, they were extreamly sharp. :-(
BAD experience in this unit, dissappointed managment keeps this in the rental pool. There are safety hazzards.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank radgirl00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Gearhart hotels

Scappoose, Oregon
Level Contributor
38 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2013

Stayed for two days in August. Beautiful unit with ocean view. Nice indoor pool. Unit was well equipped, it was very comfortable. My only complaint was that it was not cool enough to use the fireplace! On our last morning we saw a small herd of elk walking along the bluff above the beach! Wish we had spent more time there!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sue h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gearhart
2.4 mi away
Best Western Ocean View Resort
2.6 mi away
Rivertide Suites
Rivertide Suites
#4 of 27 in Seaside
1,310 reviews
11.2 mi away
Tolovana Inn
Tolovana Inn
#9 of 14 in Cannon Beach
1,842 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
River Inn at Seaside
River Inn at Seaside
#3 of 27 in Seaside
925 reviews
11.5 mi away
Cannery Pier Hotel
Cannery Pier Hotel
#1 of 14 in Astoria
1,190 reviews
0.6 mi away
Gearhart Ocean Inn
Gearhart Ocean Inn
#1 of 3 in Gearhart
231 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gearhart by the Sea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gearhart by the Sea

Property: Gearhart by the Sea
Address: 1157 N Marion Ave, Gearhart, OR 97138-4072
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Gearhart
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Gearhart
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Gearhart by the Sea 3.5*
Number of rooms: 196
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotel.de, Agoda, Priceline and HRS so you can book your Gearhart by the Sea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gearhart By The Sea Hotel Gearhart
By The Sea Gearhart

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing