We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Nice!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Gearhart by the Sea
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Gearhart
Reviewed 13 August 2014

This place is great. Went for a wedding that was held there. The food was good and the people that work there are terrific. The room and bed were very comfortable. All wood interior, a lot of history to this place. Very quiet. There are only 900+ people living in Gearhart. Nice ice creamery/fudge shop too., which both were delicious.

Room Tip: Pick a room overlooking the golf course.
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 65diva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (106)
There are newer reviews for Gearhart by the Sea
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

45 - 51 of 106 reviews

Reviewed 16 July 2014

This condo was perfect! Great, great, great for a family getaway. Plenty of room, clean, well equipped and decorated and for the most part toddler proof. No clutter or attractive nuisances :). The kitchen was by far the best, better than my home kitchen, and had everything one could possibly need. Will definitely be returning to 616. This condo is a steal! The kids loved the pool, and I loved this particular condo's location, you can see the pool building and play area so easily from the balcony, with older kids this was definitely a plus. Grandma was super comfortable as well.

I just want to say thanks to the owners, first for sharing their place at the coast and second for having a place that is so well thought out that it functions for the whole family, infant to eighty something. In the past we've stayed at other rooms here at Gearhart, some were on the low side end of so-so. I guess the condos are all owner owned and so it can be a bit of a gamble booking blind. So happy we found 616. Anyhow, I would highly recommend...

Room Tip: All I can say is try to get 616, ocean view
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Annette B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014

You need to train the people at the check-in desk to be more hospitable, especially Sandy. She didn't smile and wasn't welcoming at all. We called to change rooms after we found construction noise too loud for a restful stay. She was very rude on the phone. Our room was finally changed, no thanks to Sandy. The head housekeeper, Mandy was very helpful and got us set up in a very nice quet room. Also, Donna, one of the house keepers was very helpful.
When we checked out a different person was at the desk and my husband said they were very nice. WE have been coming to Gearhart for many years, and we will be back.

Room Tip: view the rooms on line
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Ralph N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014

Hotel location and ocean views were unbelievable and amazing!! Close to everything, but still far away from crowd. Staff were friendly. Rooms were very comfortable. Spacious living room and we got a loft too!! Best priced condo's if you wish to stay closer to beach and cannon beach.

Room Tip: Top floors ex: 4th floor on west wing!!
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Prasith A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2014

Came to Gearheart by the Sea on a Sunday, stayed in room 604, pleasantly decorated and well equipped. Balcony with partial ocean view, bed was not very comfy. Loved this resort, right across from McMenamins and you can drive on the beach with an access road right next to resort. We will be back for sure, but wanting an ocean view next time!

Room Tip: upper floors have ocean views
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lewallen7039
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2014 via mobile

My husband myself and our two young children stayed for five days in room 637. It was comfortably furnished had a nice flat screen tv, was clean and had a beautiful view! The pool was nice and warm and the family had a great time swimming, it was a little confusing getting to the pool the first time but easy after you figure out how to get there the first time. The room had WiFi that was a little spotty and you had to log back into it frequently but it worked so no big deal. Check in was easy and the staff was very friendly. Had trouble figuring out how to start the shower since the pull down mechanism was on the faucet but the front desk helped us sort it out. Over all great stay, hopefully will be back!

Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
Thank tifa1724
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2014

This was our second stay in unit 691 at Gearhart by the Sea. All of the units here are individually owned. This unit is great. It is one bedroom (king bed) with an additional upstairs loft with two twins. The open living area is nice with a huge deck overlooking the Pacific down towards Seaside. The kitchen is adequate in size and remarkably well equipped. Only down side is that the unit (near the end of the building) seems to be a bit removed from their internet connections with spotty connectivity. If this is important to you, a more central unit might be better, buy hey -- you're at the beach!

The property is also adjacent to the Gearhart Golf Links which is fun if you are so inclined and the weather cooperates (we have played here in the past, but not on this weekend trip).

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tom E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gearhart
2.4 mi away
Best Western Ocean View Resort
11.2 mi away
Tolovana Inn
Tolovana Inn
#9 of 15 in Cannon Beach
2,122 reviews
2.5 mi away
Rivertide Suites
Rivertide Suites
#4 of 27 in Seaside
1,476 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Lanai at the Cove
Lanai at the Cove
#1 of 27 in Seaside
965 reviews
2.5 mi away
Inn at Seaside
Inn at Seaside
#7 of 27 in Seaside
1,404 reviews
2.9 mi away
Coast River Inn
Coast River Inn
#6 of 27 in Seaside
301 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gearhart by the Sea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gearhart by the Sea

Address: 1157 N Marion Ave, Gearhart, OR 97138-4072
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Gearhart
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Gearhart
Price Range: £96 - £130 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Gearhart by the Sea 3.5*
Number of rooms: 196
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Gearhart by the Sea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gearhart By The Sea Hotel Gearhart
By The Sea Gearhart

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing