We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“On the golf course”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
McMenamins Gearhart Hotel
Ranked #2 of 3 Gearhart B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
33 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“On the golf course”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2012

Reputed to be the first McMenamins with TVs in the room and private baths. Recently opened on a nice historicGearhart golf course. Nice bar and staff. We did not eat here. Very restful and quiet night. Just off the lovely Oregon Coast.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Craigseu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    36
    29
    15
    5
    5
See reviews for
13
56
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Beaverton, Oregon
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2012

Took my wife on our 9th anniversary to the coast and we love mcminemins (usually) but was highly disappointed with the McMenamins Gearhart Hotel. Here is why:

We paid 200+ for the "captains" room.

The room was a 10'x10' closet. granted it was high quality wood, floors, showers etc, it was TINY.

No air conditioner... there was a fan in the window that's it and the kitchen fumes drifted up to our room :|

We went to the mcminemins web site and couldn't make reservation online (the system wasn't working) ended up calling mcminemans to get the room booked.

We were told the room was lovely and we would have a window over looking the golf course. This was partially true. We mostly had a window that facing a parking lot and could barely see the golf course. Lame....

There is no beach access. The only way to the beach from the hotel is to drive a couple blocks down a road and then drive down another road onto the beach itself. Good if you have an AWD or 4x4 but risky otherwise. Also there is no view of the ocean at all from the hotel just a view of a giant hotel that blocks ocean view.. yuck.

We went to the bar downstairs and couldn't get waited on (we were sitting at the bar) for about 5 minutes, when we did get waited on, the bartender was "odd" seemed like she was just not with it for what ever reason. Tried to order terminator, and was told it only comes in the large bottle. we ordered our drinks, and it took about 10 minutes to get our drinks (we could hear her talking in the other room...bizarre). Later upstairs we found terminator on tap. :|

We are really nice people, not rude, we don't expect a lot, just honesty, good value for our money, and prompt service. We got very little of this.

Very disappointing stay. If you are going golfing only this might be a hotel to stay at. If you are looking for beach, sunsets, a large room with a view, stay elsewhere.

Room Tip: only stay here if you want to golf. not good for romance. rooms are tiny.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank mikeb_traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, BC
Level Contributor
98 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2012

We stayed at gearhart hotel for one night. It is expensive but most of the hotels are in this price range at the oregon coast. Our room has a big shower fits two people, two big windows and spacious. Staffs are very friendly and welcoming. In the morning , we had our breakfast at the pub downstairs patio looking out to the golf course. It is a perfect getaway.
However, the room has no AC. It could be stuffy in the summer time. And the wi-fi is not quite strong and stable.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank agentCodyboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2012

This is the third hotel which opened April 2012, on or near this site on the old Gearhart Golf Course over the century. We didn't play, but we enjoyed lovely meals, including breakfast on the veranda overlooking the St. Andrews-style course (but with 65-year-old pines). Typical McMenamins artwork and detail highlighted our room with bath. Our short walk (less than a block) to the beach three times in 24 hours, (once for a glorious sunset) was therapeutic and refreshing.

Room Tip: Our room overlooked the golf course, but we were upgraded to this King room as the mid-week business...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thebandb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gearhart
0.1 mi away
Gearhart by the Sea
Gearhart by the Sea
#1 of 2 in Gearhart
3.5 of 5 bubbles 97 reviews
11.5 mi away
Cannery Pier Hotel
Cannery Pier Hotel
#1 of 14 in Astoria
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,156 reviews
11.8 mi away
Commodore Hotel
Commodore Hotel
#7 of 14 in Astoria
4.0 of 5 bubbles 203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Astoria
10.9 mi away
The Ocean Lodge
The Ocean Lodge
#2 of 14 in Cannon Beach
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,440 reviews
11.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express and Suites Astoria
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to McMenamins Gearhart Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about McMenamins Gearhart Hotel

Property: McMenamins Gearhart Hotel
Address: 1157 N. Marion Avenue, Gearhart, OR 97138-4072
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Gearhart
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Gearhart
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — McMenamins Gearhart Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
McMenamins Gearhart Hotel is located in the historic Kelly House, the same building that houses McMenamins Sand Trap Pub and Gearhart Golf Links pro shop. Eighteen guest rooms were constructed on the third floor of the Cape Cod-style building, featuring king- or queen-sized beds with en suite bathrooms and decorated in a Pacific Northwest coastal style integrating McMenamins' signature artwork. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia and Booking.com so you can book your McMenamins Gearhart Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing