We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay off the beaten path”
Review of Gilchrist Inn

Gilchrist Inn
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Gilchrist
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Gilchrist Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Gilchrist B&B and Inns
Reviewed 30 October 2013

Marlene is the best, and for a reasonable price runs a fantastic little inn. Great value, comfortable, clean, and away from it all. Couldn't recommend this place highly enough -- and you support the local community surrounding.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tonyandersen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (23)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

15 - 21 of 23 reviews

Reviewed 15 August 2013

Want to get away from motel rooms, this is a great place to stay. Condo,living room, full kitchen, patio furniture, and a BBQ. Great prices. Great place for large families. Need to make reservation early. Also, bring your own hair dryer.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bearturtle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2013

These 2 bedroom homes are a must stay when in the area.. Your host, Marlene, is an absolute doll and a joy to get to know. When you walk into one of her beautifully decorated rental homes, you immediately realize the hours and thought that went into her making this your "home away from home". She has anticipated most of her visitors needs with all the little extras: lotions, toiletries, plush towels and bed linens, fans in every room, fully equipped kitchen with everything needed to make a meal, if you so desire. Each unit has a patio out back with a grill for entertaining .So many extras are included, and if you need anything, Marlene is only a step away. A wonderful spot to stop over, or stay a while.

Room Tip: Themed cottages, Harley Davidson, Lady in red, ask when you get there...she will have something to s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Texasislandgirl1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2013

We were on our way to Chiloquin Oregon and needed a place to lodge for the night. I found a listing for the GIlchrist In=n and took a chance. What a wonderful surprise! The Inn was originally compay built and owned apartments (Gilchrist TImber Co, I believe) - so each "room" includes a master bedroom, a guest room, a full living room, a nice kitchen and a shared bathroom. For just $95/night it was a bargain. Each room is also decorated n a specific motif, and is filled with beautiful old woodwork. MArlene the owner is a kick, very friendly and talkative.

Room Tip: Ask Marlene about which rooms are available (each is decorated differently).
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank K M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2012

We booked one night at the Gilchrist Inn and were thankful for all of the great reviews of this place. It didn't disappoint. For the price, you get an entire apartment. Full kitchen, separate living/tv room, and 2 bedrooms. Clean, well furnished, very comfortable. Would definately recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Suzanna1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2012

We started our search for lodging around crater lake rather late and it took lot of effort to shortlist anything which was available. On hindsight, this was all for good, because we found and booked Gilchrist inn.

Excellent place, large, clean, very good and safe surroundings. I would recommend this place to anyone traveling with family.

My only regret is we should have booked this place for 2 nights instead of 1 night which we had booked.

There is no swimming pool, i clicked accidentally below and now cannot uncheck it.

Room Tip: All units seem to be very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank anilKash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2011

The Gilchrist Inn and it's caretaker Marlene provide a perfect retreat for the weary traveler. On a road trip from SF to Boise, we cruised the northern Sierra's and Crater Lake. Arriving at the Gilchrist we were greeted with a nicely decorated, very spacious, and fully stocked oasis with lovely couch and bed, two TVs, comfortable decorations and a kitchen with all the fixins. Marlene offered us a bottle of wine from her personal collection at cost and we settled in for some important recovery. By morning we were recharged and sad to leave so soon. Marlene gave us a recommendation for breakfast which was nothing if not unique and actually very tasty, and off we went. Forty minutes later as we were about to head out of town, there is Marlene in the restaurant, hunting us down because we had forgotten our itinerary in the room. She went out of our way to save us a whole bunch of grief, and we were shocked and so appreciative. It was a great time and we wish her the best with her business. Check out the Gilchrist Inn. It really is a labor of love and you won't forget it's charm.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Lady In Red room. A full accommodated duplex that could comfortably support a small...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank syncr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Gilchrist Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gilchrist Inn

Address: 225 Mississippi Dr, Gilchrist, OR 97737-3242
Region: United States > Oregon > Gilchrist
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Gilchrist
Number of rooms: 5

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing