We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Lovely Lunch with friends.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Side Door Cafe

Side Door Cafe
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Child-friendly, Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Brunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: At Side Door Cafe, our locally owned,family operated restaurant is focused on providing the best food around, with the highest levels of customer satisfaction - we will do everything we can to exceed your expectations. Side Door Cafe proudly serves locally trolled fish, farm fresh organic produce, & all natural beef. With a variety of offerings to choose from, we're sure you'll be happy dinning with us. All of our menu items are prepared by our Chefs to order for your pleasure.
Level Contributor
75 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Lovely Lunch with friends.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2014

Had to wait for a table but worth the wait. Service was good but he only checked back once! The crab croissant sandwich with avocados were fantastic. The salad had cucumbers tomatoes and the dressing was a tasty vinaigrette. We had to share a raspberry torte for dessert. The prices are higher but the quality is there as well.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Patpett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

346 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    227
    87
    17
    9
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Oroville, Washington, United States
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Fabulous Crab Cakes - plain ol mashed potatoes!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2014 via mobile

We went here for a nicer dinner, we were expecting to pay a bit more for formal dining. The crab cakes were amazing and the steaks topped with fresh crabs kept the men full and happy. My only disappointment was the mashed potatoes had no kick, seasoning, or anything special. For paying the amount we did - some salt, garlic, or something to jazz them up would have been nice.

Helpful?
1 Thank Michele F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
“Improvement needed”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2014

The service was excellent but the food left much to be desired.
1. Rasp salad greens were a assortment from a store.
2. Albq tuna melt toast was burned with too much mayo.
3.quiche was far from the best.
4. coconut cream pie was not a southern recipe that is so good.

All in all we expected more from this restaurant and that is why we gave it a 8 rating.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Dennis H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Delicious!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014

This is such a great restaurant. Fantastic food without trying too hard. We ate there two days in a row because we loved it so much.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank JBLuvTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“I LOVE this place!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2014

I love this place so much I want to move in and eat here every day. I wanted one of everything on the menu so I could at least go every day for a month and have a great variety.

We started with the steamed clams, which had huge pieces of meat in them. They came with little parmesan toasts that you need to fish out quickly so they don't get soggy and you can still enjoy their crunch. Our other appetizer was the crab cocktail special, complete with carrot chips, jicama strips, avocado and giant lumps of crab and just the right amount of cocktail sauce. Everything was absolutely fresh.

Entrees were the crab cake dinner and honey-mustard-crusted salmon. The crab cakes were served with a delicious tomato sauce that enhanced the crab cakes perfectly, and a fluffy cheesy mashed potato. The salmon was the perfect amount of moist flakiness, not underdone or overdone at all. The berry sauce on top just added another layer of delicious.

If we hadn't pigged out on the fresh bread and appetizers, we would have gotten dessert. I'll save that for next time.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank KatAlex11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Side Door Cafe also viewed

Lincoln City, Oregon Coast
Lincoln City, Oregon Coast
 
Lincoln City, Oregon Coast
Depoe Bay, Oregon Coast
 
Gleneden Beach, Oregon Coast
 

Been to Side Door Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing