We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Heaven!”
Review of Tu Tu Tun Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Gold Beach
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Tu Tu Tun Lodge
Ranked #1 of 5 Gold Beach B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Pasadena, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Heaven!”
Reviewed 24 October 2013

I had been here as a child and took my husband back this summer to relive the magical experience I remembered from my childhood. It was even better as an adult! It sits in a beautiful valley along a river where you can spot harbor seals, bald eagles and osprey. The atmosphere is beautiful and peaceful and has something for everyone : horse shoes, croquet, a pool, pool table, fire pit, golf etc. The evenings are spent enjoying complimentary gourmet appetizers and then a communal meal of locally grown, delicious contemporary cuisine. You'll meet new friends and enjoy the surroundings! Also Jerry's Rogue Jets will pick you up outisde Tu Tu Tun and take you on a tour of the Rogue river. This is a must do as you will not only learn about the area and see tons of wildlife but also enjoy some rapids. Everyone at Tu Tu Tun makes you feel right at home. It was such a wonderful trip. We were so sad to leave but vowed to return as soon as possible!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sml012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

497 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    430
    51
    8
    6
    2
See reviews for
66
334
12
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (130)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
50 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2013

The Tu Tu Tun is located on the Rogue River approximately 5 miles in from the coast and Gold Beach, Oregon. Signage on 101 and the lodge's own website provide excellent directions to it. It was recommended to us by a friend of my wife who has been bringing her family here from California for over 30 years! The setting is gorgeous and peaceful. The rooms (we were in 201, I believe) are very luxurious, with fireplaces and balconies (in our case) or patios (downstairs), and at least one apparently also has a hot tub. The people at the lodge are uniformly INCREDIBLE! Everyone is very nice, and certainly make you feel taken care of, as other reviewers have noted. A good breakfast of eggs cooked to order or a daily special is included, as are a three- or four-course dinner. They are served at "family" style tables of six or eight people, and so if that isn't your thing, you shouldn't stay here. It's not my thing either, normally, and I was quite bored the first night of our stay, but the second night was a lot of fun with new people, whom we saw again for breakfast the next day. The lodge offers kayaking and other lodge-type sports. The Tu Tu Tun is a real find, and I hope we have another chance to stay at it.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DrX55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami,FL
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2013 via mobile

We have stayed in a lot of 5 star hotels around the world but they take it to the next level at this hotel. One of our sons had an ATV accident the day we were checking in. We were stuck in an emergency room most of the day. We were contacted several times by the lodge and they had sandwiches, soup, desert and wine in our rented home when we arrived at 11 pm. Terry even waited for us. Ended an awful day on a high note. Thanks to everyone at the Tu Tu Tun Lodge.

Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank claudio756
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
46 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2013

My wife and I were driving up the coast from California to Washington and needed a place to stay somewhere around Gold Beach. Trip Advisor recommendations were off the charts about this place so we called and the last room available. We arrived on a sunny October fall evening. Check-in was like meeting old friends. Jocelyn made us feel at home immediately and acquainted us with this rather small intimate lodge on the Rogue River. The room was small, but cozy and every thing was very tastefully done. We had a glass of wine on the balcony and admired the sun on the river and turning of the leaves in the forest beyond. Our walk on the well tended grounds and garden was delightful, the black cat with white socks joined our tour. There is an orchard and several hole golf chip and putt course on the road side and a dock at the riverside. The Pool and terraces looked very inviting though we didn't have time before dinner to take a dip. Appetizers are served in the living room of the lodge with Kyle (the owner) and Jocelyn as hosts behind the well stocked bar. Wine tasting and mingling with the other guests while appetizers are served is a nice way to meet your soon to be dinner partners. Dinner in the adjacent dining room was a smoked rib eye steak with roasted vegetables and Yorkshire pudding after a homemade soup. The whole experience was intoxicating. The selection of the dinner partners was very carefully done as you have 8 at a round table. We enjoyed getting to know the other guests and had a lively discussion while we enjoyed the spectacular dinner and setting.

Morning coffee and orange juice is delivered to the room with a Kindle loaded with the Oregonian. At turndown you get a pint milk bottle of the local creek water which was sweet and delicious. Breakfast was also a group affair and equally as enjoyable. We were sorry our stay was only one night. We will be back!

Room Tip: A fireplace room with soaking tub would be optimal. Book early! We enjoyed the upper level view an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BrotherK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
76 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2013

We were in Gold Beach, Oregon in October. Our son and his family had stayed here in 2008 and loved it. That Christmas they gave us a gift certificate for one nights stay. I had put it away so we could use it when we wanted to. A couple of months ago I was going through some papers and came across the gift certificate. My husband called to see if it were still good and it was, so we decided to go over his birthday in October. We stayed 2 nights and wish we could have stayed longer.
What a Treat!!! The staff, including housekeeping, are outstanding. They treat you as if they had known you forever. They know you by your first name every time you see them, they are always asking if they can do anything for you. The rooms are beautiful. Good size bed, fireplace, patio facing the rogue river, deep tub (no jets, you fill it on your own), we filled it with hot water at night after dinner and relaxed and watched the stars. They have a small 6 hole golf course that we played, kayaks for your use, balls and ball gloves, croquet, a pool table, just so many things to do.
Rooms do not have tv's, but you realy don't miss it because there are so many other things to do.
In the afternoon they have tea, water with fruit, sodas and variety of cookies. You can relax by the fireplace, down at the boat dock, on their patio, the pool or anywhere on the grounds because the whole lodge faces the river. They have a chef on site and dinner is family style and dress is casual. Dinner starts off with cocktails, if you wish, hors d'oeuvres, and meeting other people staying there. The dinner is 4 courses. The main course is a choice of fish of some kind and another dish chosen by the chef. If you cannot eat either, they will fix somehing you can. If you don't want to eat there they will tell you about other places in Gold Beach.
There are so many other things about this wonderful place that you really have to go and experience it yourself.
We absolutely enjoyed our stay and hope to return in the future.

Room Tip: It is a little hard to find. But if you follow signs of the Four Seasons it is on the same driveway...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paula J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lake Jackson, Texas
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2013 via mobile

Outstanding lodge with excellent food and even better service. They address you by your name throughout your stay. One of the nicest stays at ANY hotel or lodges I have ever experienced. Recommended without reservation.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank rc51michael
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2013

The staff at Tu Tu Tun Lodge was amazing in many small and personal ways. We recently stayed for two nights in late August of 2013 and this place was truly one of the highlights of the trip. The staff was calm and professional and initimate without being too familiar by recognizing us by first and last names, quickly accommodating our styles with dinner sitting partners and recommendations for activities. The food and serving of meals was genuinely low key, simple and delicious with stimulating conversations all around. We did take the Jerry Rogue River boat ride for 4.5 hours and went kayaking on the river solo. Too much fun. The rooms were pleasant with balcony room (ground level) our choice, small complex, very quiet, very romantic and nature all around. My husband's favorite memory could have been playing a round of green putting golf with the local celebrity deer, named BOB, or even walking through the fantastic herb, vegetable and flower cutting garden and getting insights from the on-sight horiticulture staff. The staff was responsive to our requests to modify the heavy comforter bedding to a cooler bedspread, removal and storage of lots of shams and pillows and making it a simply lovely example of understanding customer service at its best. We would definately recommend this place and hopefully will return one day to enjoy again. We would also recommend staying on site and not going out to a local area for meals because it is a hidden and somewhat more remote location and is considered romance away from the masses.

Room Tip: Choose a floor level if you would like the feel of nature moving into your room more easily. Still h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hot2TrotCLT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gold Beach hotels
6.6 mi away
Pacific Reef Hotel - Gold Beach
6.6 mi away
Ireland's Rustic Lodges
Ireland's Rustic Lodges
#3 of 8 in Gold Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 661 reviews
6.6 mi away
Gold Beach Inn
Gold Beach Inn
#4 of 8 in Gold Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 496 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
Jot's Resort
Jot's Resort
#8 of 8 in Gold Beach
3.0 of 5 bubbles 120 reviews
6.8 mi away
Gold Beach Resort
Gold Beach Resort
#2 of 8 in Gold Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 735 reviews
6.7 mi away
Inn of the Beachcomber
Inn of the Beachcomber
#5 of 5 in Gold Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tu Tu Tun Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tu Tu Tun Lodge

Property: Tu Tu Tun Lodge
Address: 96550 N. Bank Rogue, Gold Beach, OR 97444
Region: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Gold Beach
Amenities:
Kitchenette Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Gold Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A four-star property which offers fine dining and wonderful hospitality. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Tu Tu Tun Hotel Gold Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing