We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gem of small inn with great service”
Review of Tu Tu Tun Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Gold Beach
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Tu Tu Tun Lodge
Ranked #1 of 5 Gold Beach B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 July 2014

Go knowing your location and the competition, and you will be glad you choose this spot. We only stayed one night, yet they knew us by name, were super attentive in a very personal way, not in an aloof professional way. It is a rustic-chic inn, not a Four Seasons, but very well done. We found it very well set up and maintained, and charming. We also took the 80 mile jet boat trip, and it was much more enjoyable than I expected it to be. The food was very good given where you are. Do know that it is served family style and you are seated with other guests, so if you are looking for intimate dinner you may need to request to see it they could accommodate your request, but I would guess they would, as they are very service oriented.

Room Tip: No AC but was still OK. Fan might be helpful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TamaraK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (522)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

207 - 213 of 522 reviews

Reviewed 16 July 2014

We have just returned from our 8th annual trip to Tu Tu Tun, spending 3 nights, and it was as magical as ever. I am amazed that we can visit this spot year after year and still feel so sad when we leave! The combination of a quality staff, killer view, great weather, fantastic food, beautiful grounds ..we have found nothing like it anywhere. Don't overlook the hiking options at the beach and forest areas nearby - they are fantastic and fun. As usual, we've booked another year and cannot wait to return.

Room Tip: Some rooms have a hot tub and/or fireplace. There are also two homes you can rent if you want more...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank LisaT503
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2014

We had the pleasure of staying at the Tu Tu Tun while driving from SF to a wedding in Salem, Oregon. We stayed in the large suite above the main lodge/living room area for the two days before the grand opening (April 29th and 30th) and were spoiled rotten! Food was delicious, service was friendly yet professional, and Terry went over the top, taking my 7 and 9 year olds fishing for the day. We spotted a seal and a deer, golfed, and relaxed in the luxurious pool. Can't say enough about the comfort and service…top notch tranquility!!! HIGHLY recommend.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rebecca M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014

The hotel was perfect for us. We drove up the coast from SF with few stops along the way and when we pulled into the drive way, there was this instant decompression. The whole area was warm and welcoming. Checking in was a delight; it seemed as if they already knew you. We took one of the smaller, least expensive rooms but it was plenty big for 2 of us and loved the balcony facing the river. Oh and that bed was wonderful!
~Do opt for the communal dinner and breakfast package. So worth it! The meals are fantastic and company, diverse and enriching.
~Do take a refreshing dip in the heated lap pool and maybe do few laps.
~Do join in for the social hour for horsd'oeuvres even if you have other dinner plans.
We'll certainly be back. Maybe next time we'll get a room with a hot tub on the balcony.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank scoshi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2014

We needed to decompress and unwind and this is the resort to do it at. By virtue of the size of the Lodge and their attention to details, while everything is very lovely and high end - it is also at the same time comfortable, charming, and easy going. The staff are very attentive to details, helpful, but also warm and charming. There is no snobbery. The site is gorgeous, the Rogue is gorgeous, and the Lodge offers swimming, kayaking, croquette, and put put golf. The food is excellent. We ate breakfasts and dinners at the Lodge twice and were pleased all four times.

The only concern we offer (and the Lodge provides the same warning to its guests) is this - do not take Bear Camp Road from the I-5 corridor west, to get to Gold Beach "faster" (as some GPS and mapping services might suggest for your route). We followed our GPS and took this road and it was not for the faint of heart. It is lovely but unpaved in places, narrow, windy, and extremely high up. At some points the road travels the crest of the mountain. Being there are so many corners and back and forth it is very slow going. There are no guard rails, and the road is not marked except for Forest Service signs.

Bear Camp Road is impassible in poor weather. Don't risk it at all and take either Eugene or Crescent City as east west corridors to/from I-5 for car travel to get to/from Gold Beach.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank BendORDiner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2014

Everyone was so attentive without being pretentious. Absolutely amazing setting on the Rogue river. I wonder what it's like when the water is much higher. The river boat excursions even stop at their dock. How cool is that? Just a fabulous place. The dinners are communal so be prepared to socialize. We met wonderful people and hung around long after dinner was over.
We will definitely be coming back.

Room Tip: There is a three bedroom cottage that is separate from the lodge. What a great place to come with fr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stano49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2014

This lodge is truly special. Without exaggeration, the staff are the most friendly and attentive of anywhere we've ever stayed. We relaxed by the pool, taking in the view of the beautiful gardens. The chef came out and picked fresh herbs from the garden for the wonderful meal he made for the guests. Don't miss the prix fixe dinner, served family style for the small gathering of guests. Sink into the deep soft chairs with a good book. And be sure to catch a jet boat ride down the Rogue River from the lodge's private dock. Next time we'll get a massage in the river cabana. No matter how you spend your time, you'll leave feeling relaxed, pampered, and well-fed.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
Thank Kristina Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gold Beach hotels
6.6 mi away
Pacific Reef Hotel
Pacific Reef Hotel
#1 of 8 in Gold Beach
949 reviews
6.6 mi away
Ireland's Rustic Lodges
Ireland's Rustic Lodges
#3 of 8 in Gold Beach
711 reviews
6.6 mi away
Gold Beach Inn
Gold Beach Inn
#4 of 8 in Gold Beach
546 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.8 mi away
SureStay Plus Hotel by Best Western Gold Beach
6.7 mi away
Inn of the Beachcomber
Inn of the Beachcomber
#5 of 5 in Gold Beach
280 reviews
6.3 mi away
Azalea Lodge
Azalea Lodge
#5 of 8 in Gold Beach
111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tu Tu Tun Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tu Tu Tun Lodge

Address: 96550 N. Bank Rogue, Gold Beach, OR 97444
Region: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Gold Beach
Amenities:
Kitchenette Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Gold Beach
Price Range: £73 - £225 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A four-star property which offers fine dining and wonderful hospitality. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Tu Tu Tun Hotel Gold Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing