We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Experience”
Review of Tu Tu Tun Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Gold Beach
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Tu Tu Tun Lodge
Ranked #1 of 5 Gold Beach B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Naples, Florida
1 review
“Great Experience”
Reviewed 27 July 2014

We visited the Oregon coast for our 10 day vacation in early July 2014 and stayed in three places. The final highlight being Tu Tu Tun Lodge. We booked the Chinook Suite--it was clean, spacious and cozy at the same time, and had a private patio. The grounds of the lodge were filled with beautiful flowers and landscaping. We chose the breakfast/gourmet dinner plan and every meal was delicious. We sat "family style" and enjoyed meeting the other guests. The service was excellent, including housekeeping, food servers, front desk, and the owner Kyle. There was a tent with three sides for privacy, overlooking the river, surrounded by flowers and trees where they offered massages. We both had a massage at the same time, the therapists were great, and the outdoor atmosphere made it even more special. The Lodge is a peaceful, relaxed, and friendly setting, and our visit there was a great experience.

Room Tip: The smaller rooms did not have a television, our suite did have one but we didn't use it much.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

502 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    434
    52
    8
    6
    2
See reviews for
66
339
12
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (132)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
344 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2014

This lodge has been on my wish list for some time, but it’s a long drive from Seattle for a weekend getaway. So I took the opportunity to stay one night on a road trip to LA, and I’m glad I did. The drive from the interstate to Gold Beach took a while, but it was scenic. Since we drove out on a Sunday afternoon, most traffic was in the opposite direction. The road from Gold Beach to the lodge is fairly narrow and winding, so we were glad we managed to arrive before dark. There were two deer crossing the front lawn as we arrived. A great start!
Tu Tu’Tun is pricey, but everything is top drawer. The staff was efficient and friendly, yet calm and relaxed making it easy for guests to feel the same.
The Rogue River setting is bucolic with the lodge surrounded by trees and interesting landscaping. The architecture is modern with a rustic look and feel. Our room, Bony Point, was so inviting that I could have stayed forever. Besides the huge cozy bed with many types of pillows, there were cushy chairs with ottomans by the fireplace and patio furniture on the balcony so you could sit and read or have a drink while you watch the river. The wide lawn gently slopes down to the river, and there are Adirondack chairs spread around so you can sit a while in the sun or shade.
Dinner is available right at the lodge during the summer, but when I heard it was family style, I wasn’t too excited. I’m not shy but sitting with a group of strangers at dinner doesn’t appeal to me. However, whenever I have the chance to do so, I always wonder why I hesitated. We had plenty to talk about at our table of 8, and the age range was from a young married couple to long-time retirees. Another opportunity for mingling is the pre-dinner Happy Hour in the lobby bar.
Another big advantage of staying at the Tu Tu’Tun is that you don’t have to drive back to Gold Beach to go on a Rogue River jet boat trip--you can get picked up at the dock right in front of the lodge! If you go, don’t forget to layer your clothes because the weather starts out cool and ends up very hot.
I definitely hope I can come back again and stay longer next time.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelingFan22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York, USA
Level Contributor
33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2014 via mobile

My husband & I spent 2 nights at the lodge over our summer vacation. The lodge has only 30 rooms which book up fast. We booked ours in February and several rooms were already taken! All rooms overlook the river which is peaceful and serene.

There are no tv's in the rooms but there is wifi. However I really didn't miss the distractions if technology. It was great to breathe fresh air and listen to the birds chirp.

Kyle & the entire staff made us feel welcome immediately - like we knew them for years.

Dinner at the Lodge is a must. You know when it's time when you hear the school bell - you can't miss it. You meet on the terrace of cocktail hour and then sit family style of dinner. We ate dinner at the Lodge both nights and the food was excellent. What's also great is that you interact with a wide range of people from across the country in a warm and relaxed setting. Our conversations were quite interesting!!!

This is a place where you come to disconnect, find peace and enjoy nature. I wish I had at least another day/night at the Lodge but our travels pressed us southward. I hope to return again soon!!!

Thanks again all at Tu Tu Tun for making our stay relaxing and memorable!

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Andrea E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Escondido, CA
Level Contributor
91 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2014 via mobile

This is our 4th visit to the Tu Tu Tun Lodge. Although there is a fairly new owner, the quality remains extremely high. Everything is in excellent condition and service is terrific as always. Jet boat trip up the Rogue is a must so stay at least two nights to accommodate that (take the long trip to Blossom Bar). Food is gourmet and plentiful. Expensive but excellent overall. Great v

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CARedflame
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
108 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2014

I have always heard about Tu Tu Tun lodge and finally managed to plan a trip that included this somewhat remote property. Everything about it feels so special because they make you feel like an old friend who just arrived; happy to see us, going out of their way to please. The young owner Kyle is on hand to greet you and makes certain he knows your name from the get-go. The lodge is understated luxury all the way, but it's the little touches that make it special; flowers handpicked from the garden for the evening's dinner and hors d'ouevres, an array of fabulous Oregon wines on hand, spring water at your bedside from local sources, beautiful native flowerbeds bursting with color. This is a very small property so you get to know folks during the day and eat dinner together at night. We met people from all over the US who were all traveling onward so the exchange of travel information gleaned from eating dinner together was fun - most were foodies similar to us.
We did take a jet boat ride from Jerry's and it was perfect - the temps were in the 90's that day so water sprays were appreciated. A lot of the river was shaded so it was very pleasant and wildlife was spotted all around. We were picked up directly from the Lodge's dock. We only wish we had more time here - it is truly a place to relax...no TVs, so just the views and the hot tubs at night. Lovely! We will be back.

Room Tip: All rooms face the river, the only difference is some have fireplaces and hot tubs. It's a small...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sanfrann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sonoma, California
Level Contributor
129 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 169 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2014

Go knowing your location and the competition, and you will be glad you choose this spot. We only stayed one night, yet they knew us by name, were super attentive in a very personal way, not in an aloof professional way. It is a rustic-chic inn, not a Four Seasons, but very well done. We found it very well set up and maintained, and charming. We also took the 80 mile jet boat trip, and it was much more enjoyable than I expected it to be. The food was very good given where you are. Do know that it is served family style and you are seated with other guests, so if you are looking for intimate dinner you may need to request to see it they could accommodate your request, but I would guess they would, as they are very service oriented.

Room Tip: No AC but was still OK. Fan might be helpful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TamaraK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
196 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2014

We have just returned from our 8th annual trip to Tu Tu Tun, spending 3 nights, and it was as magical as ever. I am amazed that we can visit this spot year after year and still feel so sad when we leave! The combination of a quality staff, killer view, great weather, fantastic food, beautiful grounds ..we have found nothing like it anywhere. Don't overlook the hiking options at the beach and forest areas nearby - they are fantastic and fun. As usual, we've booked another year and cannot wait to return.

Room Tip: Some rooms have a hot tub and/or fireplace. There are also two homes you can rent if you want more...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LisaT503
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gold Beach hotels
6.6 mi away
Pacific Reef Hotel - Gold Beach
6.6 mi away
Gold Beach Inn
Gold Beach Inn
#4 of 8 in Gold Beach
507 reviews
6.6 mi away
Ireland's Rustic Lodges
Ireland's Rustic Lodges
#3 of 8 in Gold Beach
668 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
Jot's Resort
Jot's Resort
#8 of 8 in Gold Beach
122 reviews
6.8 mi away
Gold Beach Resort
Gold Beach Resort
#2 of 8 in Gold Beach
745 reviews
6.7 mi away
Inn of the Beachcomber
Inn of the Beachcomber
#5 of 5 in Gold Beach
270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tu Tu Tun Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tu Tu Tun Lodge

Property: Tu Tu Tun Lodge
Address: 96550 N. Bank Rogue, Gold Beach, OR 97444
Region: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Gold Beach
Amenities:
Kitchenette Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Gold Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A four-star property which offers fine dining and wonderful hospitality. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Tu Tu Tun Hotel Gold Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing