We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Deep Fried Green Beans are a must!!!!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Port Hole Cafe

Port Hole Cafe
Ranked #3 of 30 Restaurants in Gold Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, Local cuisine, View, Kids, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, After-hours, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Gold Beach, Oregon
1 review
“Deep Fried Green Beans are a must!!!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2014

Worth a visit and you must try the Deep Fried Green Beans, they are DEELISH....The server, Lacy, was very friendly and accommodating, she was obviously raised well! The kitchen crew went above and beyond to ensure our meal was just the way we ordered it. The male host seated us promptly and was interacting with all the customers. This café offers it all.....Excellent service, Top Notch Food, Local Brews and a view of the Rogue River......Well what are you waiting for.........they are open daily!

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Wendy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

587 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    230
    192
    115
    28
    22
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Springfield, Oregon
Level Contributor
41 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Great views and good food!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2014

This was our second dinner stop for our weekend getaway, and we had a much better experience than the night before!

First off, the place is great. Windows overlooking the port, clean and welcoming interior, and waitstaff that was friendly even though they were busy!! We were happy to have such great service after our underwhelming customer service at another restaurant the day before.

The food was excellent. The fish & chips were amazing; golden brown, crunchy (they used panko for the breading), and flaky. Truly a great meal. I had the popcorn shrimp. The shrimp was fried perfectly, and the portion was huge for less than $10. Great meal for a great value.

Then, their pies............what else do I need to say other than homemade awesomeness!! Their blackberry crunch was wonderful, and their chocolate peanut butter pie was decadent and awesome for our in bed snack later that night.

This is a must stop place for lunch or dinner your next visit to Gold Beach!

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Jon R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Orford, Oregon
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Port Hole View”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2014

Good food, right on the Dock, with views of the boats and sea life, and they seem to keep pretty busy...their food is worth going back for!

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jim K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peoria, Arizona
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Homemade Food. Beautiful view.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2014 via mobile

Great food. Great Service..Lacy, our server was swamped as it was prime eaten hour but she was enjoying her job and had a lot of fun with it. I had the special $15.00 Halibut and chips.it was delicious. Their coffee was hot and fresh. ** THIS IS WHERE ALL THE LOCALS GO FOR A GOOD REASON. ONLY downfall..its not in my hometown dar-
nit.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank poolgrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Orford, Oregon
2 reviews
“Local Love It!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2014

All round GREAT meal in a comfortable, friendly and right on the water location. Lots of local families enjoying the longest day of the year with staff who work as a "well oiled machine" to provide some of the best service we've had.

Be sure to try local Arch Rock Brewery Beer and do NOT miss the Pies (both the hypnotic sign and one of more than a dozen tempting choices).

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank 351Steve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Port Hole Cafe also viewed

 
Gold Beach, Oregon Coast
Gold Beach, Oregon Coast
 

Been to Port Hole Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing