We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would stay again”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Inn of the Beachcomber
Ranked #5 of 5 Gold Beach B&B and Inns
Ketchikan, AK
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Would stay again”
Reviewed 1 August 2014 via mobile

We stopped here, frankly, because it was the first "vacancy" sign we saw! On the outside it looks pretty ordinary, but the room was great. Fantastic beach/ocean view and very comfy bed. The room was very hot when we first got in it, but we left the door to the balcony open while we went to dinner and it had cooled off quite nicely by the time we got back. The desk staff was friendly and helpful, and gave us a couple of great recommendations for where to eat dinner. We would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cnbgardiner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

276 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    67
    80
    32
    46
    51
See reviews for
72
129
16
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2014 via mobile

I stayed just a night here in an ocean front room down below with its own deck and perfect view of the ocean and nothing else. The bed was amazing and the sound of the ocean when I went to sleep was wonderful. The folks that own it are unique and wonderful. I would have stayed longer if I could have. Must have back, lower ocean view room!

Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank FlyRedHawk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arcata, California
Level 3 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2014

At first glance the inn seemed ok. We didn't have reservations and choices in town were limited. Room was clean. Sheets smelled of bleach but not bad. The room was very warm. Clerk told us to just open the sliding door and bathroom window and the breeze would eventually cool it down. I woke up early with a sore back from the bed. We went to breakfast only to find the waffle mix was out, biscuits were gone, and the gravy was almost gone. Fruit cups consisted of plastic glasses with peaches. The room was small and cluttered. We decided to eat in town. The exterior is in need of lots of repair. Siding is rotted in places and the whole place needs paint. Supports for the upper walkway are rotted as was the 4x6 holding up the walkway. Holes in the wood clearly showed the rot. I was also surprised that upper floor had no elevator access. Overall for $150 it's not worth it. We won't be back. Head on to abandon/Coos Bay to the north or Brookings/Crescent City to the south.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
Helpful?
3 Thank Retired707
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Gold Beach hotels

Talent, Oregon
Level 6 Contributor
171 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2014

I should have been a little suspicious when their web site had very few pictures.

On the recommendation of our vet, we decided to try this place, since they take dogs. We hadn't been to Gold Beach in a while.

The room was nice enough. The view was great (we had an upper level room). The bed was comfortable. However, the furniture seemed too big for the room, and we had to re-arrange some of it to get a bedside table on one side of the bed. The lamps were pretty, but one of ours only worked partially. The microwave and cable box both had bright LEDs on them, so we had to unplug those at night.

The breakfast situation was pretty bad. They had waffles available, but the two waffle makers were consumer quality and not the commercial units you usually see in a motel. It didn't really appear that they were that clean. The other hot entrée was biscuits and gravy. While I expect the gravy to come out of a can, I do expect it to be a little more tasty.

We never got to try out the pool and hot tub, as they were almost constantly filled with children during our stay.

A look around the outside of the building make me actually wonder how long it will be standing. It appears that when the current owners purchased the place they just slapped a bunch of paint over everything. A lot of that paint is bubbling now. There is also significant dry rot all around the building. Some of this dry rot is on wood that looks to be structural. Also, some of the metal fittings between the various wooden beams and columns are badly corroded. Yes, the coast is a tough climate, but I've never stayed at a place with such corrosion and rot problems. Make me wonder about the roof, plumbing and electrical systems.

While they do let you bring your dog, you won't get any kind of "dog kit" like a lot of other places provide. It's a good thing we brought our own towels and other things for the dogs.

Needless to say, we won't be staying here again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kolohe280
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Angeles, Washington
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2014

I chose this place off the internet for one night (possibly 2) of a week long road trip with my 6 yr old grandson. The write up they had on their web site sounded delightful, and adventurous too! Family owned, who prided themselves with outstanding customer service, and how they go out of their way to hide glass balls on a couple of beaches for their guests to find. What a perfect adventure for a 6 yr old boy! While checking in, my well mannered grandson made a comment to the young gal working the desk about how excited he was to hunt for the glass balls. Ignoring him completely, she turned to me & loudly spat, "We sell them for $5." Did we catch her at a bad time, what?? What a welcome! A bit later I was reading the guest book in our room with hopes of finding a list of restaurants in the area. There were NONE because they wanted their guests to come to them for ideas, so they could mingle & get to know everyone. How nice! Lets give this office another try. Same young blond chick.... same attitude. I nicely asked if she could recommend a family type place for dinner. With no response from her whatsoever, a brochure for ONE restaurant was tossed aimlessly across the counter. This is customer service?? I sure hope she finds her smile soon, because word of mouth is the worst kind of advertising there is. Inn of the Beachcomber doesn't even deserve a rating in my book... It will be my pleasure to drive on by the next time we're in the area.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Kenzisgumma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bellingham, Washington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 July 2014

We were traveling, long days of driving. I booked this place to enjoy walks on the beach with our dog. We did this but I also needed to be in contact with family. The property had promised internet service and there was none working. When we tried to call the front desk we realized we had no phone. The girls at the office appeared to try and help but were unable. There was no management on sight that really looked after the traveler. It felt like being back in College, paying rent and finding the landlord didn't answer the phone or left someone in charge without the skills to help.

Room Tip: The second floor has a view of the ocean but they don't mention the long flat roof on the other...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephanie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clayton, California
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2014

We've stayed at this location for over 30 years when we are in Gold Beach. The view & beach access are great, location very good. The property has new owners since our last stay, many upgrades, some very nice. The Morris Chairs are great, clean room, bed comfy, nice deck, ample parking. However, there are many thing that have changed that are not so great. The office has a wine rack yet nothing we enjoy, office was messy with an elect. stove used as a table, surf board rentals seemed out of place in the lobby. Our first morning brought an extremely poor breakfast with all appliances either not working or just barely working. We had raw in the middle waffles, pale toast, waffle iron with burned waffle on them & the person in there to help said she didn't have time to clean it. Next the housekeeping was down by one. Had a family member make beds & bring clean towels but didn't furnish clean coffee cups. Ice maker was broken, coffee maker in our room stopped heating water. Last is the grounds - poor to no maintenance. Overflowing trash & garbage in parking lot, mold everywhere on the building & block walls, leaves & trash on the walk from bungalow. Apparently they choose to operate with no maintenance crew. The back lawn area was mowed. Had the same 3 metal poles in the ground (possibly old BBQ stands) that have been there for years. A sitting area with a brick fireplace seems appropriate for the area yet nothing has been done at all.
We were there 3 nights so they did have a chance to correct any & all of our observations, hallway was always dirty, breakfast always unacceptable. The owner had good intentions to upgrade this old motel, but failed at the continuing maintenance issues. Sadly this is our last stay here.

Room Tip: Bungalow is convenient
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alice A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gold Beach hotels
0.1 mi away
Gold Beach Inn
Gold Beach Inn
#4 of 8 in Gold Beach
529 reviews
0.2 mi away
Pacific Reef Hotel
Pacific Reef Hotel
#1 of 8 in Gold Beach
899 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ireland's Rustic Lodges
Ireland's Rustic Lodges
#3 of 8 in Gold Beach
685 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Jot's Resort
Jot's Resort
#8 of 8 in Gold Beach
126 reviews
0.1 mi away
SureStay Plus Hotel Gold Beach
0.4 mi away
Azalea Lodge
Azalea Lodge
#6 of 8 in Gold Beach
108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn of the Beachcomber? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn of the Beachcomber

Property: Inn of the Beachcomber
Address: 29266 Ellensburg Ave, Gold Beach, OR 97444-7719
Region: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Gold Beach
Amenities:
Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Gold Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Inn of the Beachcomber 2.5*
Number of rooms: 47
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Inn of the Beachcomber reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn Of The Beachcomber Hotel Gold Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing