We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Beach Location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Inn of the Beachcomber
Ranked #5 of 5 Gold Beach B&B and Inns
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Fantastic Beach Location”
Reviewed 16 August 2014

My family had an excellent time at this place. The inn is in Gold Beach with a population of around 2000 residents. We stayed 3 nights due to car problems. Our car had a bad fuel pump and we stayed here from Saturday and left on Tuesday. But, it was not a bad place to be stuck! Our room had a view of the ocean and it is a short walk through a parking lot and some sand dunes and your are on the beach. It probably takes only about 2 to 3 minutes. I would give the room a star for being clean, well furnished and having a a microwave and refrigerator. I would give another star for the view and the really comfortable bed that had a thick memory foam mattress. Another star would be for the excellent service. Every employee seemed to go out of their way to help us out and felt really sorry for us. Finally, I would give 2 stars for the value of staying at this place. This place cost about the same as any of the other places including Motel 6 that is down the road... but it offers so much more! They have a pool and jacuzzi (needs update but we did not care), free use of over 400 dvd movies, free wi-fi and a nice breakfast that includes fresh fruit, yogurt, hard boiled eggs, waffles, cereal, bread, danish, coffee and juices. Basically, the juices, fruit, yogurt and coffee are available all day long. Anyway, I would definitely recommend this place to anyone.

Room Tip: Get the rooms with the ocean views. It is really worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank M Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

274 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    67
    79
    32
    45
    51
See reviews for
71
129
16
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Eugene, Oregon
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2014

175/night for a suite with a jacuzzi on the back deck. Seemed like a great deal and had high expectations. Nope. Opened the door and our view is the roof of the bungalow below us with the ocean in the distance. Seagulls perched on the bungalow roof waiting for handouts. They'll wake you up darn early screaming at each other. In the bathroom, the toilet paper had literally two squares on it, but the maid staff was kind enough to fold it over in an arrow to appear that they did something. One of our towels had a huge stain on it (how does this get by the maid staff?). It was a non-smoking room that reeked of smoke. Smokers out back (in another non-smoking room) killed the jacuzzi experience 50% of the time along with waking us up early to listen to their smoker hacking. The indoor pool was cold and dilapidated along with the hot tub. This place would have been nice in 1982, but they clearly haven't put much work into it since. The ONE positive is that the king bed had a memory foam and was perfectly soft along with the pillows. Overall, avoid this place. There are much better deals to be had driving a bit further.

Room Tip: Higher floor if possible - better view of ocean and not bungalow roof.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Blake A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Gold Beach hotels

Long Beach, CA
Level 6 Contributor
129 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2014 via mobile

I arrived in Gold Beach without a reservation, and lucked out. When I saw the name, The Inn of the Beachcomber, I was hooked. The young man in the office was very nice and helpful, and the ocean view room was definitely worth the small additional cost. I had a first floor room from the parking lot,but it was second floor on the beach side, with a private balcony with a fantastic view of the beach. I stayed for 3 days, and wished I could have stayed longer. I'm not a breakfast person, but did go in one day,and it was a little crowded,but all right. The room was lovely, and the bed very comfortable. Would love to go back.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ladysailor715
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
Reviewed 10 August 2014

We stayed there 5 nights. The view from our room was beautiful, with an access to a little walk along the coast.
The town is small so it's easy to just walk to the restaurants or the bars.
The breakfast are great sharing moment.
Parking is easy.
Room service everyday. Nice Tv, wifi, fridge.
Looking forward to go back !

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ketchikan, AK
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2014 via mobile

We stopped here, frankly, because it was the first "vacancy" sign we saw! On the outside it looks pretty ordinary, but the room was great. Fantastic beach/ocean view and very comfy bed. The room was very hot when we first got in it, but we left the door to the balcony open while we went to dinner and it had cooled off quite nicely by the time we got back. The desk staff was friendly and helpful, and gave us a couple of great recommendations for where to eat dinner. We would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cnbgardiner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2014 via mobile

I stayed just a night here in an ocean front room down below with its own deck and perfect view of the ocean and nothing else. The bed was amazing and the sound of the ocean when I went to sleep was wonderful. The folks that own it are unique and wonderful. I would have stayed longer if I could have. Must have back, lower ocean view room!

Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank FlyRedHawk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arcata, California
Level 3 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2014

At first glance the inn seemed ok. We didn't have reservations and choices in town were limited. Room was clean. Sheets smelled of bleach but not bad. The room was very warm. Clerk told us to just open the sliding door and bathroom window and the breeze would eventually cool it down. I woke up early with a sore back from the bed. We went to breakfast only to find the waffle mix was out, biscuits were gone, and the gravy was almost gone. Fruit cups consisted of plastic glasses with peaches. The room was small and cluttered. We decided to eat in town. The exterior is in need of lots of repair. Siding is rotted in places and the whole place needs paint. Supports for the upper walkway are rotted as was the 4x6 holding up the walkway. Holes in the wood clearly showed the rot. I was also surprised that upper floor had no elevator access. Overall for $150 it's not worth it. We won't be back. Head on to abandon/Coos Bay to the north or Brookings/Crescent City to the south.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
Helpful?
3 Thank Retired707
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gold Beach hotels
0.2 mi away
Pacific Reef Hotel
Pacific Reef Hotel
#1 of 8 in Gold Beach
883 reviews
0.1 mi away
Gold Beach Inn
Gold Beach Inn
#4 of 8 in Gold Beach
516 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ireland's Rustic Lodges
Ireland's Rustic Lodges
#3 of 8 in Gold Beach
673 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Jot's Resort
Jot's Resort
#8 of 8 in Gold Beach
125 reviews
0.1 mi away
Gold Beach Resort
Gold Beach Resort
#2 of 8 in Gold Beach
752 reviews
0.4 mi away
Azalea Lodge
Azalea Lodge
#6 of 8 in Gold Beach
104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn of the Beachcomber? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn of the Beachcomber

Property: Inn of the Beachcomber
Address: 29266 Ellensburg Ave, Gold Beach, OR 97444-7719
Region: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Gold Beach
Amenities:
Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Gold Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Inn of the Beachcomber 2.5*
Number of rooms: 47
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Inn of the Beachcomber reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn Of The Beachcomber Hotel Gold Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing