We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful stay”
Review of Pacific Reef Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Pacific Reef Hotel
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Gold Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 June 2013

We stayed at the Pacific Reef Resort for one night while enjoying the Oregon Coast. The room was spacious, beautifully decorated and perfect for our stay. We walked on the beach and enjoyed a gorgeous sunset from our window. Would recommend it highly if you are in the area!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TN_Traveler60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (918)
There are newer reviews for Pacific Reef Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

611 - 617 of 918 reviews

Reviewed 4 June 2013

We were very impressed by this resort. There are a number of upper and lower motel units which face the ocean. We stayed in one of the condo units. It was a complete apartment, attractively furnished and decorated. Upstairs is a large lofted bedroom with king-size bed and view of the ocean. A complete bathroom upstairs. Downstairs is a full kitchen, actually well stocked for cooking and dining in. There is pullout king-sized sofa bed in the downstairs living room and a full bath downstairs. The unit would easily accommodate 4. There was an easy walk to the long beach. We did look at some of the other "resort" motel units along the beach and came away with no doubts that this Resort packs more bang for the buck.
We enjoyed Anna's by the Sea as a good and quirky restaurant. Rollin' in Dough is a hit for breakfast/brunch/lunch.

Room Tip: Choose a condo unit or one of the units with sea view.
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hedy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2013

This place is great! The room was huge and nice. Bedroom and bathroom upstairs and kitchen living room and another bathroom downstairs. The employees are friendly and helpful.
Nice walk to the beach. It is quite a walk though, about 200 yards, so don't bring your elderly parents here and expect they can go to the beach. Even if you are not able to go to the beach the view is great. We had three deer out on the grassy area to watch. Both a patio on the ground floor and a balcony on the upper. This place is wonderful for wildlife watching. Years ago when it was called the Sand and Sea we stayed here and had a raccoon come up to our patio and eat from our hand. Another time I was sitting on the patio and had a skunk walk by me that was close enough to reach out and pet. I didn't do that of course. Chances are that you will see some kind of wildlife out your back door here.
The price for the room we had was the best part. We stayed the night before in Willits CA and had just a basic motel room for the same price as this condo. I hope they strive to keep prices low. We will be back again and again.
The only bummer was the hot tub was closed for remodel. But that's okay 'cause next time it will be better.
Over all i love Gold Beach. If you are in the area and need a place to stay I say go for it. Even if you don't stay @ Pacific Reef. This is a nice little town with great people.

Room Tip: Jerry's boat ride is fun. Here again you will see wildlife. Bring a jacket.
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MountainBugg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2013

This hotel was recommended to us by Tu' Tu' Tum because we have a small dog. We found it VERY clean and upgraded. The view is great and there were 2 deer on the lawn grazing at dusk! What a view; the lawn, ocean and deer grazing. We will come back. The 2 restaurants next door were excellent "The Chowder House" and "Spinners".

Room Tip: We had ocean view ground floor.
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Linda G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2013

My husband, son, and I stayed here May 13-17 while visiting family. I booked a condo unit because we wanted some space, and because the website said the condos had washer/dryer units. On check-in, though, I discovered there was no W/D in our condo. The front desk clerk explained that they took them all out some time ago due to a problem with a long-term tenant breaking several of them. This was an issue for us because we packed clothing based on being able to wash clothes. We ended up being able to do laundry at our family's house so I didn't press the issue, but I did tell them they needed to update their website to reflect this.

Besides that, though, this was a great place to stay. I would estimate that our condo (#4) had approximately 1100 sq.ft. We had lots of room to spread out. Had 2 queens upstairs with a full bath and balcony overlooking the dunes and ocean, and then a full bath downstairs along with a stainless/granite kitchen, large living room with sleeper sofa, and a porch. We could not have been happier with the condition of the unit itself.

Note: While soap, shampoo, conditioner, and lotion are provided, there is no hair dryer, so make sure you pack your own.

Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
2  Thank barney01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2013

I'll give them props for their ocean view and proximity to the beach. To call this place a "resort" is kind of shady. No pool or fitness room (maybe we missed it). We stopped into this roadside motel off the highway. We were attracted to the ocean view. The price was right so we checked in. The room was large and had a great private deck overlooking the ocean about 200 yards from the beach. The view was awesome. The part that wasn't...we specifically asked about the wireless before checking in. The guy said "you should have no problem". OK...we did have a problem. When we called the night guy... admitted that they were "upgrading the router" and he'd "re-boot it" for me...and apologized and without prompting...said "we've been working on this for a while". He said wait 10 minutes and try again...and that if that didn't help...go into the common area, it'll be better. He assured me that "the technician" would be there in the morning. Anyway..the internet sucked in the morning too. I would have rather had an honest answer up front...than to have to mess around with it all night and then again in the morning...especially if they knew it was bad. There were a lot of options on Gold Beach...next time I'll try another one.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AspenSpin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2013

The condo room - or I should say apartment - is more than we expected. It is two floors with the first having a full bath, full kitchen with granite counters and table, and living area. The second floor has a full bath and the master bedroom. Both floors have doors that can be closed and locked inside the condo, separating them from the condo entry stairway.

There was a nice view from both levels over the grassy area to the beach. We did not go out to the beach since it was rainy and chilly and our main reason for the stay was just an overnight stop on our coastal ride. We were given coupons for $5 off each breakfast in the on premise Chowder House Restaurant.

My only disappointment was having "Short Sheets" in the bed. That happens when a flat sheet is used on the mattress instead of a fitted sheet. This results in the end of the mattress not being covered, exposing the mattress to the feet of tall folks.

And yes, the office is closed for the night with a security guard on the grounds who can handle any immediate problems. If you have any needs or concerns you would need to get them resolved before the clerk leaves. (Many hotel/motel offices are closed at night in smaller facilities.)

All being said we would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: The condo rooms cannot be beat for space and value.
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MikeInPennsylvania
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gold Beach hotels
0.0 mi away
Gold Beach Inn
Gold Beach Inn
#4 of 8 in Gold Beach
536 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ireland's Rustic Lodges
Ireland's Rustic Lodges
#3 of 8 in Gold Beach
696 reviews
1.7 mi away
Jot's Resort
Jot's Resort
#8 of 8 in Gold Beach
128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
SureStay Plus Hotel Gold Beach
0.3 mi away
Azalea Lodge
Azalea Lodge
#5 of 8 in Gold Beach
110 reviews
0.2 mi away
Inn of the Beachcomber
Inn of the Beachcomber
#5 of 5 in Gold Beach
277 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pacific Reef Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pacific Reef Hotel

Address: 29362 Ellensburg Ave, Gold Beach, OR 97444-7718
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Gold Beach
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Gold Beach
Price Range: £55 - £135 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Pacific Reef Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gold Beach Oregon Lodging. #1 Rated Ocean Rooms in Gold Beach. The finest in Southern Oregon Coast Ocean Front Lodging is found at Pacific Reef Resort in beautiful Gold Beach. Our Gold Beach Or. accommodations include motel, hotel, vacation rentals and beach front condos. Located just 35 miles north of the California and Oregon boarder, at the mouth of the world famous Rogue River with its great fishing and exciting Jetboat Tours into the Rogue River Wilderness. Come visit the Southern Oregon Coast and Gold Beach. Experience the hospitality and lodging we have to offer at Pacific Reef Resort in Gold Beach Oregon. Listen to the soothing sounds of the surf as you enjoy our relaxed and beautifully furnished oceanfront rooms. Relax and enjoy our recently renovated economy rooms with just a short walk along our private trail to the beach below. Our luxurious two story condominiums overlook the Pacific Ocean and come with a fully equipped kitchen, living room, flat screen TV and two private patios. Relax and enjoy our numerous amenities as you watch the sunset and listen to the sound of the surf. One of our most popular units, this isolated Beach Cottage is just steps from the sand and surf, ideal for those looking to kick back and immerse themselves in coastal living. The Ocean Penthouse offers the most expansive views of the Pacific Ocean. At over 600 sq feet, this spacious room can accommodate up to 6 people and is ideally suited for larger groups. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers and getaroom.com so you can book your Pacific Reef Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pacific Reef Resort - Gold Beach Hotel Gold Beach
Pacific Reef Gold Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing