We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great View Condos on the Beach, Yeah! Resort...really?”
Review of Pacific Reef Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Pacific Reef Hotel
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Gold Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 July 2013

This is a great place to stay on the Oregon Coast. The day we rolled in, it was foggy in Brookings but clear and nice in Gold Beach, just a half hour north.We had 4 adults and a baby in an upstairs oceanview condo (#2) and the rooms, furnishings, and view were all terrific. The path down to the beach is an easy walk and it's a great stretch of beach to walk, relax, and play on.
The king bed upstairs was very comfortable, and there were no complaints about the murphy bed downstairs. There's a nice deck upstairs with rocking chairs to while away the time while taking in the ocean and all its glory. Bathrooms upstairs and down are convenient.The kitchen is fully equipped. Everything is clean and in good repair throughout.
But wait...resort? What am I missing here? Most resorts I've been to have a swimming pool and hot tub. This had no pool and a non-working hot tub, which apparently has been out of commission for an extended period of time. The internet reception was not adequate. The food in the Chowder House next door was disappointing -- got 2 bowls of "clam chowder" and between them, there was ONE clam in ONE of the bowls, NONE in the other. Also, I called the front desk three times around 5-7 pm and never got an answer.
So, I'll give the accommodations 4 stars, but don't expect the amenities that usually accompany what you think of when you think "resort", because they just ain't here. As long as you don't have those expectations, you'll most likey be happy!

Room Tip: The oceanview condos are excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MoonshineOregon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (951)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

635 - 641 of 951 reviews

Reviewed 19 July 2013 via mobile

This hotel was a fine place to spend a quick night as we traveled through the area. If it had been our destination I would have been disappointed. We stayed in one of the small rooms off the front parking lot and from other reviews I now see that the larger condo rooms closer to the beach are probably much nicer. Our room was adequate for the most part, old bedding and decor, very nice towels. My one real criticism is that when I went to get in the shower I saw pink and black mold - yuck!

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cheryl G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2013

Our room was fairly spacious, nicely decorated, with a large balcony that had two new rocking chairs - we enjoyed watching the sunset in the rockers. A nice view of the ocean, with a short trail leading to the beach. The only downside was a sagging mattress and a none-too-happy skunk in the neighborhood. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mamajax44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2013

Based on other reviews I guess we were just unlucky with our experience. We were excited to stay at this resort (???) because the pictures shown on the website showed the nicer condos overlooking the ocean. In reality there is also a whole strip of rooms overlooking the parking lot that do not have a view at all. We had originally booked one of the non-view rooms but prior to arrival had called again to discuss room options with the staff. We upgraded to what they referred to as an ocean view room. Indeed, when we got in our room it did have a marginal view, but it was the smallest room you could ever imagine (smaller than a child's room) and the bathroom was claustrophobic. There was an old tired bed which was very uncomfortable, dirty torn carpet, no room for any bedside tables, and the wifi promised did not work at all, despite several trips back to the front desk for help. We enjoyed a walk down to the beach but noticed at bedtime that there didn't seem to be any hot water - just lukewarm. I guess we should have taken this more seriously but it didn't occur to me that there would be none in the morning for a shower. Painfully, we discovered in the morning that there was no hot water at all for our showers. We also had trouble with the smoke alarm going off several times in our room until we climbed up on a chair to remove it from the connection. To their credit they did agree to give us a partial refund for our stay, but this room should not have been given to anybody, especially after we made a concerted effort to ensure a decent room with a view. I would never stay here again and I would not recommend it to anyone else.

Room Tip: Do not stay in 118Q!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Karen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gene P, Owner at Pacific Reef Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2013

Room 118 is one of our smallest rooms, but most guests find it cozy and adorable. The view offered is very nice. We did recognize his unhappiness and offered him a solution and our apologies for the inconvenience. The manager talked with the guest and he seemed satisfied with the solution when he left.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2013

The family and I showed up and where a little concerned based on the fact the front lobby had a "be right back" sign up. After about 10 mins the clerk showed up. Nice enough, we had reserved one of the beach front condos, and we were very impressed. Short walk to the beach, slept our 5 easily across the two stories. Looks very new. Only complaint is that the wifi is extremly slow.

Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
1  Thank Scott R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2013

Due to other reviews on T.A., we diverted from going inland towards Grants Pass and headed up the coast into Oregon. The drive is incredible. If you're at all photo- minded, you can find yourself stopping constantly to photograph the amazing rocky terrain dropping right into the Pacific, with evergreen forests blanketing the hills and ridges. It's spectacular!

Once at the hotel and upon surveying the rooms, we quickly decided to upgrade to one of the ocean- front units. The folks at the front desk were friendly, helpful and extremely accommodating. They let me know that the end unit on top (#220) was " everyone's favorite," and once there, we knew why: gorgeous room - large, modern, clean, quiet, with a wonderful balcony and spectacular view of the beach and the surrounding area. But there was nothing to match the sound of the waves crashing on the beach -- our all-time favorite method of soothing our souls and falling peacefully asleep at night .

A wonderful stay, a gentle and peaceful stop -- just what we needed.

Room Tip: Go for the ocean-front rooms -- we'll worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelingtee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2013

One of our stops going up the coast. We enjoyed our stay, was a very cozy room. Had great view of the ocean, easy walk to the beach. The bed was comfotable, staff was great! Shower a little small. But we would stay again.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Azgirl18_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gold Beach hotels
0.1 mi away
Ireland's Rustic Lodges
Ireland's Rustic Lodges
#3 of 8 in Gold Beach
711 reviews
0 mi away
Gold Beach Inn
Gold Beach Inn
#4 of 8 in Gold Beach
546 reviews
1.7 mi away
Jot's Resort
Jot's Resort
#8 of 8 in Gold Beach
128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
SureStay Plus Hotel by Best Western Gold Beach
0.2 mi away
Inn of the Beachcomber
Inn of the Beachcomber
#5 of 5 in Gold Beach
280 reviews
0.3 mi away
Azalea Lodge
Azalea Lodge
#5 of 8 in Gold Beach
111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pacific Reef Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pacific Reef Hotel

Address: 29362 Ellensburg Ave, Gold Beach, OR 97444-7718
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Gold Beach
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Gold Beach
Price Range: £53 - £77 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Pacific Reef Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gold Beach Oregon Lodging. #1 Rated Ocean Rooms in Gold Beach. The finest in Southern Oregon Coast Ocean Front Lodging is found at Pacific Reef Resort in beautiful Gold Beach. Our Gold Beach Or. accommodations include motel, hotel, vacation rentals and beach front condos. Located just 35 miles north of the California and Oregon boarder, at the mouth of the world famous Rogue River with its great fishing and exciting Jetboat Tours into the Rogue River Wilderness. Come visit the Southern Oregon Coast and Gold Beach. Experience the hospitality and lodging we have to offer at Pacific Reef Resort in Gold Beach Oregon. Listen to the soothing sounds of the surf as you enjoy our relaxed and beautifully furnished oceanfront rooms. Relax and enjoy our recently renovated economy rooms with just a short walk along our private trail to the beach below. Our luxurious two story condominiums overlook the Pacific Ocean and come with a fully equipped kitchen, living room, flat screen TV and two private patios. Relax and enjoy our numerous amenities as you watch the sunset and listen to the sound of the surf. One of our most popular units, this isolated Beach Cottage is just steps from the sand and surf, ideal for those looking to kick back and immerse themselves in coastal living. The Ocean Penthouse offers the most expansive views of the Pacific Ocean. At over 600 sq feet, this spacious room can accommodate up to 6 people and is ideally suited for larger groups. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Odigeo so you can book your Pacific Reef Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pacific Reef Resort - Gold Beach Hotel Gold Beach
Pacific Reef Gold Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing