We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place....minus the carnival right next door!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Pacific Reef Hotel - Gold Beach
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Gold Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Richland, WA
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great place....minus the carnival right next door!”
Reviewed 28 July 2014 via mobile

We enjoyed our stay with the exception of the carnival taking place right next door. Clanking equipment and screaming kids along with flashing lights easily drowned out the peaceful sound of the crashing waves and the beautiful sunset we had hoped for.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jeff T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gene P, Owner at Pacific Reef Hotel - Gold Beach, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post your review to our TripAdvisor page. We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed Pacific Reef, and the amenities that we provide. We apologize that you had to deal with the carnival noise. Unfortunately we do not have any control over the noise or lights that they use. Once again we apologize, if it was something within our control we most certainly would have taken care of it. Safe travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

839 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    374
    284
    116
    35
    30
See reviews for
193
461
41
52
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (268)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Sunnyvale, United States
Level Contributor
100 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2014

We stayed at the Pacific Reef for one night. We had an upgraded room facing the beach. NOTE that the hotel is about 100 yards from the beach with sand dunes in between. Overall it was good. But little things kept me from raising their rating. First, the carpet was very stained. We kept our shoes on. I had three light bulbs not functioning in the room. The heater didn't work. They failed to install strike plates on the front door so the the wood frame is getting destroyed. The new style curved shower curtain rod was installed upside down so the hocks didn't lock on the ends. On the positive side, the beds were great, the furniture is new, the bathroom was very clean, and the linens were excellent. And instead of a standard continental breakfast, they gave us a $10 credit at the local restaurant. What this place needs is an old Marine to inspect each room each day. And then get it fixed.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kevin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gene P, Owner at Pacific Reef Hotel - Gold Beach, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post your review to our TripAdvisor page. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed the bed, new furniture, linens, and cleanliness of the bathroom. We apologize that you felt the room was lacking in some areas. We will take into consideration the issues that you raised, and address all of them accordingly. Safe travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lethbridge
2 reviews
Reviewed 22 July 2014

Internet was a bit of a problem but we're on vacation not business. Room was very clean and well maintained. The girl working front desk did everything possible to help. Also went above and beyond duty to make sure our room was ready on time

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yam17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gene P, Owner at Pacific Reef Hotel - Gold Beach, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post your review to our TripAdvisor page. We are very happy to hear that you had a great customer service experience while at Pacific Reef. We apologize that the internet caused you a bit of a problem, we are currently working on a comprehensive solution. We apologize that the solution was not fully in place during your stay. Thank you again for posting your review. Safe travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2014

the room was a value room but was wonderful the beds were comfortable the coffee was great the location was good not far from the beach and they accepted our dog I would stay here again anytime the staff was friendlyand the location was right one on onean

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Deborah S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gene P, Owner at Pacific Reef Hotel - Gold Beach, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post your review to our TripAdvisor page. We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your time at Pacific Reef, and found your overall experience to be perfect. We hope to see you at Pacific Reef again soon. Thank you again for taking the time to post your review. Safe travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eureka, CA
Level Contributor
26 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2014

For years we have come here because the property, affording an ocean view from a private balcony (with a screened sliding door, which means you can leave it open to sea breezes and sound of the surf), is an easy stroll to Spinners Restaurant. Those qualities remain. However, in this traveler's opinion our visit last week failed to deliver the value of our room's $175 (with tax) price tag. For that amount, I feel we should have had at least one easy chair, two tea bags, and a shower cap. (We can pack along the tea bags and the shower cap, but the easy chair is another matter.) And though we were given vouchers to apply toward breakfast at The Chowder House next door, we missed the on-site continental breakfast that used to come with the room. (On-site continentals mean breakfast in bed or at the little table in your room, a private touch of luxury.) Oh, and also, the entire price of the room was charged to our card upon booking, not upon arrival. But the room, though expensive, was quiet, the bed was OK, and the view was spectacular. Just bring your own tea bags and shower cap (and maybe a muffin or two) and expect to be charged upon booking

Room Tip: Upstairs room have private balconies, vaulted ceilings, and a better view.
See more room tips
Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank inabedofroses
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gene P, Owner at Pacific Reef Hotel - Gold Beach, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post your review to our TripAdvisor page. We appreciate all of the feedback that we receive, and utilize it to further improve our property. We will take your thoughts into consideration. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed the view from your room, while staying at Pacific Reef. Thank you again for staying with us, and taking the time to post your review to our TripAdvisor page. Safe travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2014 via mobile

It was nice to stay in a nonchain hotel. The room was a good value, clean, quiet however the bathroom was small and a bit outdated. The restaurant voucher they provided to go towards breakfast was a nice bonus and the food was very good. The beach access and views ate the major reason we like this place and would stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Yumn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gene P, Owner at Pacific Reef Hotel - Gold Beach, responded to this review, 17 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post your review to our TripAdvisor page. We are glad to hear that you found our property be a good value while staying with us. We are also very happy to hear that you enjoyed breakfast at the Chowder House. We hope to see at Pacific Reef again soon. Thank you again for your review. Safe Travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
INDIO
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2014

Really enjoyed our stay here. Staff is very friendly and the room, especially the bed, was very comfortable. Our room was in the very back of the property and we had our own private back yard from where we could watch the ocean and beautiful sunsets.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JAMES A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gene P, Owner at Pacific Reef Hotel - Gold Beach, responded to this review, 17 July 2014
Thank you for posting your review to our TripAdvisor page. We strive to give all of our guests a great customer service experience, and we are happy that we were able to provide that to you. Watching the sunset over the pacific ocean is spectacular, and it is great to know that you were able to enjoy that while staying with us. Thank you again for posting your review. Safe travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gold Beach
0.1 mi away
Ireland's Rustic Lodges
Ireland's Rustic Lodges
#3 of 8 in Gold Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 661 reviews
0.0 mi away
Gold Beach Inn
Gold Beach Inn
#4 of 8 in Gold Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 496 reviews
1.7 mi away
Jot's Resort
Jot's Resort
#8 of 8 in Gold Beach
3.0 of 5 bubbles 120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
25.0 mi away
Brookings Inn
Brookings Inn
#7 of 8 in Brookings
3.0 of 5 bubbles 190 reviews
0.3 mi away
Gold Beach Resort
Gold Beach Resort
#2 of 8 in Gold Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 734 reviews
0.3 mi away
Azalea Lodge
Azalea Lodge
#6 of 8 in Gold Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pacific Reef Hotel - Gold Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pacific Reef Hotel - Gold Beach

Property: Pacific Reef Hotel - Gold Beach
Address: 29362 Ellensburg Ave, Gold Beach, OR 97444-7718
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Gold Beach
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Gold Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Pacific Reef Hotel - Gold Beach 3.5*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
#1 Rated Oceanfront Lodging and Vacation Rentals. Pacific Reef Hotel sits on 6 acres overlooking the Pacific Ocean with direct access to the the beach. Oceanfront guests will enjoy clean & comfortable rooms, a nightly 16 minute outdoor theater presentation and a $10 Breakfast Room Credit to the Chowder House. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda and getaroom.com so you can book your Pacific Reef Hotel - Gold Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pacific Reef Resort - Gold Beach Hotel Gold Beach
Pacific Reef Hotel
Pacific Reef Gold Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing