We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and Comfortable”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western Mt. Hood Inn
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Government Camp
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 January 2014

The Mt. Hood Inn at Government Camp is one of the few hotels available close to the skiing on Mt. Hood. As a single traveler, one of the many condo choices wasnt a great option. Its not a super cheap place, but you pay for the Best Western standard. They offer a parking garage, indoor hot tub, fitness room and a decent if uninspired complimentary breakfast. The lobby with the wood fireplace is very cozy. In the evening they offer chili or beef stew and fresh baked cookies. Also nice are the coin operated indoor ski lockers. The rooms were clean, quiet and nicely furnished. With the snow conditions, there were a couple of roof slides during the night, and those can be attention getting. Staff is very friendly, and helpful. If you are there in the winter ask about the reduced lift ticket offers. (Liftopia.com can be a better deal, but depends on what they have available and how last- minute your trip is.) Try the Mt. Hood Brewery next door for some great micro-brews, a fun atmosphere and some good food choices.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank fotini622
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MtHoodInnManager, Manager at Best Western Mt. Hood Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 21 January 2014

Dear Valued Guest,
With so many beautiful places to visit in Oregon, we really appreciate when our guest's choose to stay with us. With our European style lobby design, our guests often unwind after a long drive, or a fun day on the mountain around the fireplace. The variety of restaurants in our village continues to grow with new choices as well as the seasoned favorites. The Ice Axe Grill brew pub next door is always a popular choice. We appreciate your feedback and detailed information that you have shared with future guests. We hope that you can join us again when you are back on Mt Hood.
Sincerely,
Lisa Galbraith
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (531)
There are newer reviews for Best Western Mt. Hood Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

377 - 383 of 531 reviews

Reviewed 13 January 2014

We stayed here last Friday night. I was not impressed! Upon arrival, our room was cold and we couldn't get the heat on. I called the desk and was told that I had to get down on the floor, in a dark corner, and look through the grate to see a reset button and then I had to press it with a pen tip. Seriously? Then I realized that we didn't have blankets on the bed. Husband went to the desk and was given some natty blankets. Then we woke up to a power outage (not BW's fault) but there was no generator! We had to get dressed and packed in the dark! When I realized that we'd left something (because we packed in the dark!) and returned in the afternoon, there was no way to access the safe because there was no manager there. Seems like a manager should be on duty at 4 pm on a busy Saturday...

The place is conveniently located for skiing, but shabby and ill-prepared for emergencies.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LOMama2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MtHoodInnManager, Manager at Best Western Mt. Hood Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 17 January 2014

Dear Guest
In reviewing your feedback from your stay with us last week, I want to address the problems that you experienced.
We have recently upgraded all of our room heaters from manual to digital. Sometimes we run into a hiccup and one will need to be reset. In the process of replacing equipment, we have to do an equally good job of keeping all staff trained on equipment as we upgrade the property.
Your access to the safe deposit box is also a new staff training issue that we have addressed. We do have a generator onsite, unfortunately the timing of its' scheduled maintenance and last weekend's storm overlapped.
Our generator is fully operational for whatever else this years' weather sends our way.
Please consider another stay in the future. We hope that you will experience what our other guests have truly enjoyed about our property.

Thank you
Lisa Galbraith
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2014

I would definitely stay here again. The staff was so friendly from check in to check out. The rooms were very clean and comfortable. I am kinda a germaphobe when it comes to a hotel room, but this one was great! The breakfast had a little bit of everything to choose from and was kept well stocked. . There was someone sanitizing the area constantly. Overall was the nicest hotel I have stayed at in a very long time. I would definitely recommend it to friends and family.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
1  Thank Kelli P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MtHoodInnManager, Manager at Best Western Mt. Hood Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 21 January 2014

Dear Valued Guest,
We love receiving positive feedback from our return guests. We appreciate your business and look forward to seeing you again hopefully this winter.
Thank you again.
Sincerely,
Lisa Galbraith
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2014

We stayed here November, 2013.
Nice lobby with a warm fire place.
A spacious & clean room. Very comfortable bed with fresh linens.
Close to ski area and Timberline lodge.
The breakfast was adequate and we were satisfied.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aligela C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MtHoodInnManager, Manager at Best Western Mt. Hood Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2014

Thank you for your review. We focus on a quality experience for our guest's from the moment that you walk into the lobby. We hope that your travels bring you back into the NW again soon.
Thank you.
Lisa Galbraith

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2014

This hotel is our go to place when skiing at Mt hood, it is always clean, the folks are very helpful and the location is perfect! We love staying at this hotel. The breakfast is very good for being included in the room rate and just perfect before hitting the slopes.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Callie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MtHoodInnManager, Manager at Best Western Mt. Hood Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 21 January 2014

This hotel was perfect for our visit. Parking, breakfast, check in, advise on sight seeing from front desk, clean room, fresh linens, The location was great for skiing at Mt Hood and attending a wedding at Timberline Lodge. Would stay again!

Dear Valued Guest,
We truly appreciate such positive reviews. We are always working to improve our guest's visits, and it always makes the staff feel good when people have such a great stay. So glad to hear that the wedding went well.
Hopefully you and your family can join us again when the time is right for you.
Sincerely,
Lisa Galbraith
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2014

This hotel was perfect for our visit. Parking, breakfast, check in, advise on sight seeing from front desk, clean room, fresh linens, The location was great for skiing at Mt Hood and attending a wedding at Timberline Lodge. Would stay again!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Ben H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MtHoodInnManager, Manager at Best Western Mt. Hood Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2014

Thank you for your review. We love it when our guest's are able to enjoy so much of the variety that Mt Hood has to offer. We are so glad that your vacation and family time was such a success. Thank you
Lisa Galbraith

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2014

The location is good for skiing & the price is affordable—wish it were in the main part of Government Camp, though. You can walk to the Ice Axe Grill, but not much else (it's a bit of a hike into town). The lobby is nice (it has a fireplace), there are lockers for your skis & the breakfast looked decent.

Our room was clean & comfortable (and had a partially obstructed mountain view), but it smelled funky. When we expressed our concern, the front desk was very responsive—they came up to look into the situation right away, but unfortunately they weren't able to move us to another room.

Overall it was a good value, but not fancy or particularly charming. I would stay here again, but it wouldn't be my first choice.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank theholidaygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MtHoodInnManager, Manager at Best Western Mt. Hood Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2014

We appreciate your review on our prices and value. Our staff works together closely to address any concerns that occur during our guest's stays.
It is true that, depending on the weather conditions, it is sometimes easier to drive up into Govy. Whether you walk, drive or snowshoe into the village, it is just a short distance to ski shops, restaurants and evening venues.
Thank you
Lisa Galbraith

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Government Camp
3.3 mi away
Timberline Lodge
Timberline Lodge
#1 of 1 in Timberline Lodge
1,043 reviews
12.0 mi away
Cooper Spur Mountain Resort
10.1 mi away
Whispering Woods Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.5 mi away
Comfort Inn Portland
Comfort Inn Portland
#60 of 144 in Portland
156 reviews
10.0 mi away
Resort at The Mountain, BW Premier Collection
13.9 mi away
Sandy Salmon Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Mt. Hood Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Mt. Hood Inn

Address: 87450 E Government Camp Loop, Government Camp, OR 97028
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Oregon > Clackamas County > Government Camp
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Government Camp
Price Range: £113 - £182 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Mt. Hood Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 56
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Best Western Mt. Hood Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Mt Hood Hotel Government Camp
Mount Hood Lodging
Mount Hood Hotel
Mt Hood Inn
Best Western Mt. Hood Inn Government Camp, Oregon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing