We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK for a day”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Mt. Hood Inn
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Government Camp
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 June 2014

We stayed here for 1 night for a wedding on Mt. Hood. It was fine - basic, clean, older but suited our needs. The cons were the shower (very small plastic stall w/ wobbly door) & that a previous guest had clearly been smoking in the room (no-smoking room) & it smelled. There is no AC (didn't need it) & the windows only open a crack, so despite our best efforts to air it out, it stunk. The hotel was full, so there was no opportunity to move rooms.
It was more expensive than I expected during off-season ($210 for a King bed room) for an older hotel, but there weren't many options & the hotel was fully booked, so clearly there is a demand. If I come to Mt. Hood again, I'd likely look for other options unless the Best Western gets a substantial refresh.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank suzabanana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DirectorSocialMedia, Social Media Director at Best Western Mt. Hood Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 29 June 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

We are so sorry to hear that their was a smoke odor in your room. We do not allow smoking in any room. Our housekeepers are very good about recognizing the rare incidents when it does occur and they are able to clean the room effectively to get rid of the smell. We must have missed it in your room. As amazing as it is up here during the winter months, our summer months are just as busy if not busier than winter. We are glad you came to visit Mt. Hood. We hope you come back to explore with us again sometime soon.

Sincerely,
Lee M. Brown
Social Media

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (540)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

349 - 355 of 540 reviews

Reviewed 19 June 2014

Stayed here one night in June while traveling through Oregon while on vacation. Excellent experience. Friendly staff. Quiet room. No complaints other than lacked air conditioning, probably because late spring and summer are slower seasons for them in ski country.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank David R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DirectorSocialMedia, Social Media Director at Best Western Mt. Hood Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

We are so happy to hear that you found our hotel to be a comfortable place for you to rest your head during your busy vacation. We hope you stop by again the next time you are passing through!

Sincerely,

Lee Brown
Social Media Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014

Very nice room (#220), with jacuzzi spa, which we enjoyed. The location is easy to find - only if arriving from the south/west! However, we came in from the east side, drove through "downtown", then back out to the highway without seeing it - turned around for another go, and there it was. Being on the highway, it's really noisy and I had trouble sleeping (but I'm a country boy, and maybe extra sensitive). Underground parking is a nice feature. Right next door is the Mt. Hood Brewing Co. (see that review) for dinner and drinking. Very pleasant desk clerk (same young woman, both arriving and departing - hope she gets overtime). Room was well-appointed and perfectly clean. Free wi-fi, plus lots of free movies. Standard breakfast buffet in a very nice lobby area. I would recommend this place for a quick stay, but it is a LONG walk from "downtown" shops etc.

Room Tip: highway side rooms are noisy - and also the hotter ones.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Charlie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DirectorSocialMedia, Social Media Director at Best Western Mt. Hood Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

We are very glad that you were able to locate us on your second time through. We are sorry to hear that you found your room to be too noisy due to the highway, we wish we could have accommodated you better. You did seem to enjoy quite a few things about the hotel as well and that is great to hear! We hope that you will come visit us in Government Camp, Or again soon.

Sincerely,

Lee Brown
Social Media Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2014

Room was very noisy. We changed rooms and still had poor sleep as they moved us to a room over the parking garage door opener. The fitness center had no water and no air flow. The equipment was nice. The lack of sleep just made the overall experience poor and we would stay elsewhere when we go back to Government camp.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Mike M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DirectorSocialMedia, Front Office Manager at Best Western Mt. Hood Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

We would like to apologize for the noisy room. We always do our best to accommodate our guests who request a room change. during our summer months we are quite busy and are often limited in the remaining rooms available. Thank you for coming to visit the Mt. Hood Inn

Sincerely,

Lee M. Brown
Front Desk Manager
Best Western Mt. Hood inn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2014

I stayed for a night in the jacuzzi room. The bed is uncomfortable and you'll be tossing and turning all night because of the pressure points. Their was a condom in the bible, & their was a large stain on the left lampshade near the jacuzzi. The in room coffee maker lid came off. I told the staff about the issues, & they didn't offer a price adjustment or offer any resolutions. Customer service is important,and even a 10% discount would have been nice to apply due to hotel relying on customer experience to make a customer happy and avoid negative feedback. In the future, I would recommend that you check your room first before unpacking, due to unforeseen issues with the room. You have a lot of people in their 20's and college people staying here. The younger crowd doesn't have respect for the rooms, and if nobody says anything, they will continue to take advantages of future guests. I told the manager about the issues with the room and the manager laughed at me plus I was still charged full price.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank FireForge1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DirectorSocialMedia, Social Media Director at Best Western Mt. Hood Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 8 June 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

We are sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay. Our beds have been chosen based on customer preference, and most of our guests have no issues with the beds we offer. Of course we would like to apologize for the unused condom in the bible and the stain on the lamp shade. I can assure you that these issues have been resolved. Our General Manager recalls speaking with you on the phone and at no time did you mention wanting a discount or refund. This review is the first time we are hearing anything about your request. We here at the Best Western Mt. Hood Inn always do whatever it takes to make sure that all of our guests are happy with their stay. We are sorry to hear that you felt taken advantage of. We wish we had an opportunity to resolve these issues of your concern during your stay. We hope that you will return to give our hotel another chance.

Sincerely,
Lee Brown

Social Media Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2014

We recently returned to the Inn for the second year in a row. Last year our room was on the non-Hwy 26 side of the hotel. This year the temperature was warmer and we were on the Highway side. The only option is to open the window because there is no AC...they say because it is a "mountain environment". Living in the NW mountains our entire lives, AC is a nice hotel feature in July or August in the NW....especially when you are located on one of the busiest highways in the state. We checked on switching room, no luck.

The "spa" tub in the room was dirty with sand like dirt and hairs. The king mattress seemed broke and slanted on one side. The sink faucet was broke and leaked water everywhere. It didn't matter when we closed the window to calm the Highway noise, because the old worn out windows provide almost no noise reduction. Needless to say, we were up early to the constant train-like sound of semi traffic. Good news, the free breakfast is solid. The cost seems high for what you get--particularly for being off ski season.

In summary, this Best Western is probably best for people who don't go to the area much, or who are infatuated as tourists by the Mt Hood. We will likely just camp next year of rent a cabin in the area.

Room Tip: Do not rent a room on the hwy 26 front side of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank outdoorjunkies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DirectorSocialMedia, Social Media Director at Best Western Mt. Hood Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

We are sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay with us. We do not have air conditioning as it rarely gets hot enough up here to warrant it. We do get a few hot days throughout the summer. For those days we offer guests advice on how to keep the rooms cool. We would like to apologize for the issues you encountered in your room and I can assure you that if there was an issue it has been fixed. We are glad to hear you enjoyed the continental breakfast! We hope that you will return to the Mt. Hood Inn, and give us another chance.

Sincerely,

Lee Brown

Social Media Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014

I enjoyed my stay here! The room was large and clean. The lobby was beautiful. The afternoon snacks were very nice and the breakfast was delicious. There is a nice microbrewery next door and you can easily walk into town.

My only complaint is that there was no air conditioning in the room. I imagine that most of the time this is not an issue but the room got very hot in the afternoon. The heat lingered into the evening. I tried opening the window but there is a highway right outside. It was quiet with the window closed and too loud with it open. Tradeoffs!

Room Tip: Make sure the room isn't directed toward the afternoon sun.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NewName123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DirectorSocialMedia, Social Media Director at Best Western Mt. Hood Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 7 June 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and all we have to offer. You are correct, for the most part air conditioning is very rarely necessary up here on the mountain due to the mild weather. We do get the rare hot day up here and clearly you were here for one of those. We would like to apologize for the warm room and next time you stay we will make sure to give you some tips on how to keep the room cooler. We hope you come back to explore Mt. Hood again with us sometime soon!

Sincerely,

Lee Brown

Social Media Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Government Camp
3.3 mi away
Timberline Lodge
Timberline Lodge
#1 of 1 in Timberline Lodge
1,071 reviews
12 mi away
Cooper Spur Mountain Resort
10.1 mi away
Whispering Woods Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10 mi away
Resort at The Mountain, BW Premier Collection
13.9 mi away
Sandy Salmon Bed & Breakfast
12 mi away
Mt Hood Village RV Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Mt. Hood Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Mt. Hood Inn

Address: 87450 E Government Camp Loop, Government Camp, OR 97028-0108
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Oregon > Clackamas County > Government Camp
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Government Camp
Price Range: £93 - £201 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Mt. Hood Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 56
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Agoda, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Mt. Hood Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Mt Hood Hotel Government Camp
Mount Hood Lodging
Mount Hood Hotel
Mt Hood Inn
Best Western Mt. Hood Inn Government Camp, Oregon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing