We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice rooms. Great view!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Mt. Hood Inn
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Government Camp
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 July 2014

Considering the reasonable rate, the room was very spacious and comfortable. The view of Mt. Hood from our big sliding glass window was wonderful! We had three people , but there was plenty of closet and drawer space. We enjoyed having a refrigerator in the room. The staff was friendly and helpful. Breakfast was tasty, but what you would expect for a Best Western selection. There were a couple of hot selections, cereal, yogurt, muffins, bagels, juices, etc.

Our biggest complaint was not being able to open the window. No air conditioning would have been tolerable, if we could have let in the outside air during the cool night. There was a ceiling fan, but during the afternoon the temperature was too hot to stay in the room.

That being said, the convenience of having Mt Hood and surrounds so close would be enough to stay there again... maybe just not in July and August.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a mountain view; some have a view of the parking lot.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Ginger H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DirectorSocialMedia, Front Office Manager at Best Western Mt. Hood Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

We are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. Our windows are locked at a certain distance for guest safety reasons. We are looking into some other options for safety measures so that we can have those windows open fully and the cool mountain breeze can blow through. Our location in relation to everything that Mt. Hood has to offer is absolutely amazing. We hope that you come back to visit again soon.

Sincerely,

Lee M. Brown
Best Western Mt. Hood Inn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (537)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

336 - 342 of 537 reviews

Reviewed 21 July 2014

My wife and I stayed at the Mt Hood Best Western on July 5th 2014. We had made the reservation weeks before. Approximately one week before our stay we received an email from the hotel informing us that it was not air conditioned and to help cool the rooms offered tips such as opening the windows and turning on the bathroom fan to help pull cool air through the room. Since several of the properties that we stayed in on our two week tour of the Pacific NW were not air conditioned and we did not have a problem given the the night air was usually sufficient to cool the room we didn't think twice about not staying at this hotel. However, upon our arrival we found in our west facing room the the windows had all been blocked to prevent them from being opened more than three inches. This width of opening is seriously inadequate to cool a room that had been receiving the afternoon sun. When we complained about not being able to open the window sufficiently to cool the room we were informed that the physical blocks on the windows were to prevent guests from falling or jumping from the window (presumably to escape the heat). Considering the room rates at this hotel a person would think that management would address the hot room issue with a little more than just an email.

If you decide to stay at this hotel bring along a set of allen wrenches so you can remove the window block and have some chance of cooling your room.

Room Tip: Request an east facing room or bring allen wrenches so you can remove the window blocks in order to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Dean S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeffrey S, General Manager at Best Western Mt. Hood Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 15 September 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

We are terribly sorry you had such a bad experience with the heat during your stay. Thank you for acknowledging that we do send out heat advisories via email as so many guests claim we do not. We have window restrictions on to prevent small children form leaning on the screen and falling out of the window. It is most regrettable that you would inform the public how to remove a public safety device. I certainly hope no one gets injured as a result. We hope you come see us again in the cooler months of the year.

Thank you,

Jeffrey Smith
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2014

I was very surprised at how nice this place was. It is walkable to town (15 minutes) and has a indoor hot tub. The continental breakfast was nice too, yogurt, fruit, french toast, cereal and oatmeal. I did not have a car and walked over to the mt. hood express stop to ride up to Timberline. It cost $2

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Tulsadivers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DirectorSocialMedia, Front Office Manager at Best Western Mt. Hood Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

We are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay. All local bars and restaurants and the town are within walking distance. Great to hear that you were able to utilize the Mt. Hood Express, it really is a great option for our guests without vehicles. We hope that you come back to visit again soon!

Sincerely,

Lee M. Brown
Best Western Mt. Hood Inn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2014

Looking at the number of negative reviews based on the lack of AC, I would think management would start considering this a serious issue. We received an email from the hotel 2 days before we arrive to warn us the hotel can get hot, but they provide fans. First, that's not enough time to find another hotel when everything else is booked - they should have warned us when we made the reservation 2 months ago. 2nd, the fans don't work. The days were only 75 degees max outside during our stay. The 1st night, the room was 82 degrees, 2nd night, the room was 87 degrees! We ran the fans (worthless) and opened the window the allowed 4" (ridiculous for cooling). By the morning, the "cool mountain evening" had allowed us to get the room down to 77 degrees. This is absolutely the last time I stay in this hotel until they get AC - period. The rest of the hotel is fine, but if it's so darn hot we can't sleep or relax, it's a complete waste of our money. Wake up folks, look at all the complaints and stop making excuses to every negative review about the heat - invest in some AC already! For those of you considering staying here in the summer months, re-consider if you don't like sleeping in 80+ degree rooms.

Oh, and by the way, this hotel has the slowest WiFi of any hotel I've ever stayed in, and I've had some slow WiFi before. My guess is the entire hotel shares a single dial-up line between all guests - it's really the only explanation. In this day and age, it surprises me when I can't get decent internet service from a hotel that's not supposed to be on the low end of the budget. Some of us need to keep in contact with work while away, ridiculously slow internet is simply unacceptable.

Room was clean, well appointed, staff was courteous, breakfast was typical for the type of hotel. But for me, the heat and the slow WiFi are enough to keep me from coming back again.

Consider yourself warned before you book this hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank NWTraveler44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeffrey S, General Manager at Best Western Mt. Hood Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 15 September 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

We understand that it can get quite hot during the summer months. We do our best to inform our guests that we do not have air conditioning. Our internet has been upgraded to the fastest speeds available. There are times when demand for internet is so great that the entire town's internet slows. We have worked with our vendors and there is simply not enough lines to carry the bandwidth to our remote location. We pride our self on our beautiful location and encourage our guests to come see the beaut that is Mt. Hood.

Thank you,

Jeffrey Smith
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2014

If you go here when it is hot there is NO air conditioning. The windows will only open 4 inches due to legal reasons so the room will not cool off until early morning. If you buy a non-refundable room you will find this out AFTER you pay. The hotel is very clean and the staff are very nice. My only issue was the air conditioning and closed windows. In the winter or when it is cool that is fine but middle of July in 93 degrees it is a big issue. (especially at almost $200 a night)

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
3  Thank jameskZ9587NS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DirectorSocialMedia, Front Office Manager at Best Western Mt. Hood Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2014

Dear Valued Guest.

We have had an abnormally warm summer up here in Government Camp, OR. We do not have air conditioning in our hotel as the temperature rarely gets above 70 degrees up here on the mountain during the day. The cool nights on the mountain drop the temperature in the rooms significantly. We hope that you enjoyed your time here on Mt. Hood and come back to visit soon.

Sincerely,

Lee M. Brown
Front Desk Manager
Best Western Mt. Hood Inn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014

We stayed here on 7/1/14. Rooms have a decent amount of space. The bed was comfortable and everything was clean. Be prepared to sweat, though. YIKES! There is no A/C. Our first room was on the sun-setting side of the hotel and the room was 87F. We moved across the hall and it was 10-15 degrees cooler. However, even with 2 floor fans and 1 ceiling fan, the room never got below 73F. Not terrible, but the outside temperature got down to 52F! The fitness room was so hot, it was almost unbearable.

Room Tip: If you are staying here during warmer weather, do NOT choose a room on the sun-setting side. These...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank kv52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DirectorSocialMedia, Front Office Manager at Best Western Mt. Hood Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

We would like to apologize for the abnormally warm temperatures. Usually most days up here on the mountain max out at slightly above 70 degrees. The temperature drops quickly in the evening to cool the rooms. We do our best to let all guests know that we do not have air conditioning. It is not listed on our website as an amenity and we send out an email to all guests beforehand stating that we do not have air conditioning. This gives all guests enough time to cancel their reservation in advance. We hope that you enjoyed your visit to Mt. Hood and hope that you come back again soon.

Sincerely,

Lee M. Brown
Front Desk Manager
Best Western Mt. Hood Inn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2014

This is the first review of a hotel or hotel service in my life. Although I usually spend more than 50 nights a year in various hotels worldwide I never felt the need to write a review. Most of the time - "you get what you pay for". There are different expectations when staying in a hotel next to Buckingham Palace for $3,000 per night and very different when staying in a remote village of Mongolia or Kirghistan at $5 per night. Nonetheless, there is a basic expectation of being able to sleep in various degree of comfort (or lack thereof) for at least a few hours...

The Best Western in Government Camp is a GOOD hotel except for the fact that I suffered HEAT EXHAUSTION after attempting to sleep there last week (June / July 2014). Overall the place is well maintained, clean while the staff (on average) is rather friendly.

I understand very well there is really no need for AC in a mountain location. That is not the issue. There is no AC in similar or even more upscale mountain hotels in Switzerland, Austria, Germany, France etc. There is obviously no AC in remote villages of Mongolia, China, Kazakhstan or Russia. The only difference is - the hotel guest has the FREEDOM to open the window since in the mountains it is usually cooler outside in the evening!

I do not know who came up with the idea to block the windows (all open only 4") in the hotel during hot summer days. It is absolutely insane! After trying to cool down from the heat exhaustion in the hotel bathtub I moved to my car for the night where I could run the AC and then sleep with open windows.

The hotel accommodates guests traveling with pets but cannot designate rooms for guests who would like to have the comfort of sleep at night...

This was my third visit to the Best Western. I do not recall having similar experiences last summer or the summer before. Maybe temperatures this year were somewhat higher or the "window policy" changed recently. One way or another I am not planning my next July visit to Best Western in Government Camp unless I can open my window.

Room Tip: Rooms with windows that open. East (back) side away from Rt. 26.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SLCUSMH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DirectorSocialMedia, Front Office Manager at Best Western Mt. Hood Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

I would like to apologize for the issue with the heat. We have been experiencing an abnormally warm summer. Our hotel does not have air conditioning and it clearly states that on our website. We do our best to accommodate our guests as best as possible by providing multiple fans in each room as well as some tips to keep your room cool. Again, I would like to apologize for the heat that we are experiencing this summer and we hope that you will come back again next summer.

Regards,

Lee M. Brown
Best Western Mt. Hood Inn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Government Camp
3.3 mi away
Timberline Lodge
Timberline Lodge
#1 of 1 in Timberline Lodge
1,061 reviews
10.1 mi away
Whispering Woods Resort
15.5 mi away
Comfort Inn Portland
Comfort Inn Portland
#64 of 144 in Portland
156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.0 mi away
Resort at The Mountain, BW Premier Collection
13.9 mi away
Sandy Salmon Bed & Breakfast
11.7 mi away
Mt Hood Village RV Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Mt. Hood Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Mt. Hood Inn

Address: 87450 E Government Camp Loop, Government Camp, OR 97028
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Oregon > Clackamas County > Government Camp
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Government Camp
Price Range: £89 - £163 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Mt. Hood Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 56
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Agoda, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Best Western Mt. Hood Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Mt Hood Hotel Government Camp
Mount Hood Lodging
Mount Hood Hotel
Mt Hood Inn
Best Western Mt. Hood Inn Government Camp, Oregon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing