We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Bait and Switch Sales Tactics”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western Mt. Hood Inn
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Government Camp
Certificate of Excellence
Seattle, Washington
1 review
“Bait and Switch Sales Tactics”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2014

Do NOT Make Reservations with Mt. Hood Best Western. They use Bait and Switch Sales Tactics and have horrible customer services. They are running a scam.


I googled Hood River Or hotels. I got the number and called and specifically asked if the hotel was in hood river. The reservation associate said yes and booked my hotel saying it was the last room available. I went to check in to the hotel in Hood River, and there was no reservation. Apparently the reservation associate had made the hotel reservation for Mt. Hood Oregon. I spoke with Megan there before noon the day of the reservation, and she refused to cancel the reservation, refused to apply the credit to the other hotel, refused to transfer me to a manager. I asked her if she would refund the amount if another customer booked the room, and she again refused. I asked her specifically about this and Megan confirmed that if I didn't show up I would be billed for the room and another customer would also be billed for that same room.
I stayed in the Hood River Best Western. The representative from Hood River even called Megan, but informed me Megan "was very rude" to her on the phone as well, and Megan again stated she would not credit my reservation even though I was staying at another Best Western and her team had made the error and she was now rebooking other customers.

Do NOT Make Reservations with Mt. Hood Best Western. They use bait and switch sales tactics, book the wrong reservations, and then charge the credit card even before you can stay at the hotel or catch the error. Megan at the Best Western Mt. Hood has the worst customer service presence I've ever experienced, and this was not just the case with me, but also when she spoke with her colleague at another Best Western.

Apparently these Best Westerns are independently owned. The Mt. Hood Hotel is ruining it for the rest of them.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank seattle537
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DirectorSocialMedia, Front Office Manager at Best Western Mt. Hood Inn, responded to this review, 1 August 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

We would like to apologize that their was a mistake during booking. Our employees would never say that we are the Best Western Hood River Inn. Unfortunately their was a mistake during the booking of your reservation. Our phone number is listed for the Best Western Mt. Hood Inn. Since a reservation was made we have to charge the room as it was a room that we had considered sold for the night and we were not selling it to anyone else. This would have been the case for any other guest attempting to cancel their room the day of check in. There is absolutely no bait and switch tactics mentioned. I would like to again apologize for the miscommunication.

Regards,

Lee M. Brown
Best Western Mt. Hood Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

475 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    202
    156
    57
    38
    22
See reviews for
182
174
34
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Portland, United States
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014

Our room was good, spacious and had a jacuzzi tub, but we never used it. It wasn't a warm weekend but our room was 80 degrees and never really cooled down, so that would be our only complaint. Staff was friendly.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Theresa W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DirectorSocialMedia, Front Office Manager at Best Western Mt. Hood Inn, responded to this review, 27 July 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope you come back to visit us and Mt. Hood again soon!

Sincerely,

Lee M. Brown
Best Western Mt. Hood Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cary, North Carolina
Level Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014

Considering the reasonable rate, the room was very spacious and comfortable. The view of Mt. Hood from our big sliding glass window was wonderful! We had three people , but there was plenty of closet and drawer space. We enjoyed having a refrigerator in the room. The staff was friendly and helpful. Breakfast was tasty, but what you would expect for a Best Western selection. There were a couple of hot selections, cereal, yogurt, muffins, bagels, juices, etc.

Our biggest complaint was not being able to open the window. No air conditioning would have been tolerable, if we could have let in the outside air during the cool night. There was a ceiling fan, but during the afternoon the temperature was too hot to stay in the room.

That being said, the convenience of having Mt Hood and surrounds so close would be enough to stay there again... maybe just not in July and August.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a mountain view; some have a view of the parking lot.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ginger H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DirectorSocialMedia, Front Office Manager at Best Western Mt. Hood Inn, responded to this review, 1 August 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

We are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. Our windows are locked at a certain distance for guest safety reasons. We are looking into some other options for safety measures so that we can have those windows open fully and the cool mountain breeze can blow through. Our location in relation to everything that Mt. Hood has to offer is absolutely amazing. We hope that you come back to visit again soon.

Sincerely,

Lee M. Brown
Best Western Mt. Hood Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raleigh, North Carolina
2 reviews
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2014

My wife and I stayed at the Mt Hood Best Western on July 5th 2014. We had made the reservation weeks before. Approximately one week before our stay we received an email from the hotel informing us that it was not air conditioned and to help cool the rooms offered tips such as opening the windows and turning on the bathroom fan to help pull cool air through the room. Since several of the properties that we stayed in on our two week tour of the Pacific NW were not air conditioned and we did not have a problem given the the night air was usually sufficient to cool the room we didn't think twice about not staying at this hotel. However, upon our arrival we found in our west facing room the the windows had all been blocked to prevent them from being opened more than three inches. This width of opening is seriously inadequate to cool a room that had been receiving the afternoon sun. When we complained about not being able to open the window sufficiently to cool the room we were informed that the physical blocks on the windows were to prevent guests from falling or jumping from the window (presumably to escape the heat). Considering the room rates at this hotel a person would think that management would address the hot room issue with a little more than just an email.

If you decide to stay at this hotel bring along a set of allen wrenches so you can remove the window block and have some chance of cooling your room.

Room Tip: Request an east facing room or bring allen wrenches so you can remove the window blocks in order to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dean S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeffrey S, General Manager at Best Western Mt. Hood Inn, responded to this review, 15 September 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

We are terribly sorry you had such a bad experience with the heat during your stay. Thank you for acknowledging that we do send out heat advisories via email as so many guests claim we do not. We have window restrictions on to prevent small children form leaning on the screen and falling out of the window. It is most regrettable that you would inform the public how to remove a public safety device. I certainly hope no one gets injured as a result. We hope you come see us again in the cooler months of the year.

Thank you,

Jeffrey Smith
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
109 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2014

I was very surprised at how nice this place was. It is walkable to town (15 minutes) and has a indoor hot tub. The continental breakfast was nice too, yogurt, fruit, french toast, cereal and oatmeal. I did not have a car and walked over to the mt. hood express stop to ride up to Timberline. It cost $2

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tulsadivers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DirectorSocialMedia, Front Office Manager at Best Western Mt. Hood Inn, responded to this review, 1 August 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

We are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay. All local bars and restaurants and the town are within walking distance. Great to hear that you were able to utilize the Mt. Hood Express, it really is a great option for our guests without vehicles. We hope that you come back to visit again soon!

Sincerely,

Lee M. Brown
Best Western Mt. Hood Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2014

Looking at the number of negative reviews based on the lack of AC, I would think management would start considering this a serious issue. We received an email from the hotel 2 days before we arrive to warn us the hotel can get hot, but they provide fans. First, that's not enough time to find another hotel when everything else is booked - they should have warned us when we made the reservation 2 months ago. 2nd, the fans don't work. The days were only 75 degees max outside during our stay. The 1st night, the room was 82 degrees, 2nd night, the room was 87 degrees! We ran the fans (worthless) and opened the window the allowed 4" (ridiculous for cooling). By the morning, the "cool mountain evening" had allowed us to get the room down to 77 degrees. This is absolutely the last time I stay in this hotel until they get AC - period. The rest of the hotel is fine, but if it's so darn hot we can't sleep or relax, it's a complete waste of our money. Wake up folks, look at all the complaints and stop making excuses to every negative review about the heat - invest in some AC already! For those of you considering staying here in the summer months, re-consider if you don't like sleeping in 80+ degree rooms.

Oh, and by the way, this hotel has the slowest WiFi of any hotel I've ever stayed in, and I've had some slow WiFi before. My guess is the entire hotel shares a single dial-up line between all guests - it's really the only explanation. In this day and age, it surprises me when I can't get decent internet service from a hotel that's not supposed to be on the low end of the budget. Some of us need to keep in contact with work while away, ridiculously slow internet is simply unacceptable.

Room was clean, well appointed, staff was courteous, breakfast was typical for the type of hotel. But for me, the heat and the slow WiFi are enough to keep me from coming back again.

Consider yourself warned before you book this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NWTraveler44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeffrey S, General Manager at Best Western Mt. Hood Inn, responded to this review, 15 September 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

We understand that it can get quite hot during the summer months. We do our best to inform our guests that we do not have air conditioning. Our internet has been upgraded to the fastest speeds available. There are times when demand for internet is so great that the entire town's internet slows. We have worked with our vendors and there is simply not enough lines to carry the bandwidth to our remote location. We pride our self on our beautiful location and encourage our guests to come see the beaut that is Mt. Hood.

Thank you,

Jeffrey Smith
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tigard, Oregon
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2014

If you go here when it is hot there is NO air conditioning. The windows will only open 4 inches due to legal reasons so the room will not cool off until early morning. If you buy a non-refundable room you will find this out AFTER you pay. The hotel is very clean and the staff are very nice. My only issue was the air conditioning and closed windows. In the winter or when it is cool that is fine but middle of July in 93 degrees it is a big issue. (especially at almost $200 a night)

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
3 Thank jameskZ9587NS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DirectorSocialMedia, Front Office Manager at Best Western Mt. Hood Inn, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Dear Valued Guest.

We have had an abnormally warm summer up here in Government Camp, OR. We do not have air conditioning in our hotel as the temperature rarely gets above 70 degrees up here on the mountain during the day. The cool nights on the mountain drop the temperature in the rooms significantly. We hope that you enjoyed your time here on Mt. Hood and come back to visit soon.

Sincerely,

Lee M. Brown
Front Desk Manager
Best Western Mt. Hood Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Government Camp
3.3 mi away
Timberline Lodge
Timberline Lodge
#1 of 1 in Timberline Lodge
4.0 of 5 bubbles 898 reviews
10.1 mi away
Whispering Woods Resort
10.0 mi away
Resort at The Mountain, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.9 mi away
Sandy Salmon Bed & Breakfast
11.7 mi away
Mt Hood Village RV Resort
13.5 mi away
No photo provided
Salmon River Inn
#1 of 2 in Brightwood
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Mt. Hood Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Mt. Hood Inn

Property: Best Western Mt. Hood Inn
Address: 87450 E Government Camp Loop, Government Camp, OR 97028-0108
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Oregon > Clackamas County > Government Camp
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Government Camp
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Mt. Hood Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 56
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo, Evoline ltd, Agoda, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Mt. Hood Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Mt Hood Hotel Government Camp
Mount Hood Lodging
Mount Hood Hotel
Mt Hood Inn
Best Western Mt. Hood Inn Government Camp, Oregon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing