We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, Nice hotel, No A/C”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Best Western Mt. Hood Inn
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Government Camp
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 August 2014

Mt. Hood still gets hot in the Summer, from 80-95. This hotel has no A/C in the room. Just a fan by the window. So as I slept at night it was a stuffy 82 degrees. My hotel mate had the bed by the fan, for which he still slept on top of the bed because it's too hot. I do not recommend in Summer, especially if you are dressing for a formal event. Otherwise it's great for the location. Walking to all the the shops, excursions, bars and restaurants.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Shellie Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DirectorSocialMedia, Front Office Manager at Best Western Mt. Hood Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your review. Our hotel is perfectly located in relation to all of the great activities Mt. Hood has to offer. We hope that you come back to visit again some time soon!

Regards,

Lee M. Brown
Best Western Mt. Hood Inn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (540)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

329 - 335 of 540 reviews

Reviewed 4 August 2014

I went to Government Camp for a wedding during the weekend of August 1-3rd, 2014. It was one of the hotter weekends this year. Unfortunately, very few establishments in this region have AC. Our room was very hot. It would cool down a little at night, but once the sun shined in the morning the room would heat right back up. The bed also was pretty uncomfortable, so needless to say I didn't get very much sleep. It was easy to book the room. The check in and check out process was easy. The price is a bit high for something that is pretty much a no frills hotel. Parking can be a real pain when the hotel is near or at capacity. They have a small lot and a parking garage. The parking garage is really difficult to maneuver in. When I returned to the hotel my first night, I had to park in the last spot under in the garage. To get out of the spot I had to move a bunch of garbage cans. My room was missing the coffee pot, but they kept brewed coffee in the lobby, so this was just a minor issue. Saying all of that, I'd still stay here...although I'd probably research a few other properties before staying here -- especially if the weather is supposed to be hot.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Mark L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeffrey S, General Manager at Best Western Mt. Hood Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 15 September 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

We do our best to inform all of our guests we do not have air conditioning. It was much warmer than normal this summer. We do have plenty of outdoor parking available. We hope your experience does not discourage you from coming to see us again.

Thank you,

Jeffrey Smith
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2014

I didn't expect this hotel in a small town catering to skiers would be much; however, I was wrong. The lobby is very nice, with a breakfast area and computers for use.
Our room was clean and comfortable. I like that the sink area is located outside of the toilet, tub and shower. Although there is no air conditioning, we were very comfortable. The window opens about four inches and they provide an oscillating, tower fan.
The breakfast choices are somewhat minimal, but we didn't come here for a gourmet breakfast, so that's fine. Staff were helpful and efficient.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank P K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DirectorSocialMedia, Front Office Manager at Best Western Mt. Hood Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope that you come back to visit us again sometime soon.

Sincerely,

Lee M. Brown
Best Western Mt. Hood Inn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2014

Very pleased with this hotel. Very clean room and beds were comfortable. Only downside was no air conditioning although we were able to open a window and had fans. They had a nice pasta bar in the evening and breakfast was good. Nice to have a laundry to use also.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank phyllis4136
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DirectorSocialMedia, Front Office Manager at Best Western Mt. Hood Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay and our beds! Using the fans provided in the rooms and cool mountain breeze really does cool down the room quickly in the evening. We are also very glad to hear that you enjoyed our evening snack and our breakfast. Our laundry facility is a built in bonus that many guests utilize. There is nothing better than some clean clothes to start your Mt. Hood adventure off right. We hope that you come to visit us again soon, there are endless activities to participate in here on the mountain.

Sincerely,

Lee M. Brown
Best Western Mt. Hood Inn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2014

Never stay here if the outside temperature is over 80 degrees. There is no AC and the windows are locked with a small opening of 4 inches (a so-called law), blocked by the curtains and window frame. We later discovered there is no law. There is no air movement or ventilation through this opening at all. We were only given a small, cheap fan. We even tried putting a bucket of ice in front of it, but all the ice did was melt. The overnight room temperatures exceeded 95 degrees, causing us to both suffer heat exhaustion. We were forced to either leave our door open all night to achieve minimal air flow or to sleep in our car. We noticed most room doors were propped open, which was concerning. Hotel security should be a top priority. The in room temp was 82 degrees at 8am and had already climbed to 85 degrees by 8:30am. The hotel offers no refunds and no apologies. As a winter resort this lodging is probably OK, as a summer stay it is intolerable. Untrained and unfriendly staff.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cooper37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeffrey S, General Manager at Best Western Mt. Hood Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 15 September 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

We do our best to inform all of our guest that we do not offer air conditioning. It was a warmer than normal summer. We would never advise a guest to leave their door open. We offer an exhaust fan, a tower fan, and a ceiling fan to help move air into the room. We did apologize multiple times but it was unaccepted. Unfortunately, we cannot offer refunds based on an amenity we do not offer. I would recommend checking out and staying at another property if you feared heat exhaustion as our guests health is very important to us.

Thank you,

Jeffrey Smith
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2014

Good experience for the price, room was clean and bed was comfortable - good pillows!
The breakfast was an average continental, it was fine. Does have a lot of traffic noise, it's right along the highway. No air conditioning, so you will need to leave the window open on hot nights. The weather was warm, but there are fans in the room.

Room Tip: Try to get room way from highway side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Frances S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DirectorSocialMedia, Front Office Manager at Best Western Mt. Hood Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We are also glad to hear you liked the pillows! Our hotel does get warm on some of the hotter days up hear on the mountain. Great tip on keeping the windows open! The night breeze can quickly cool down the room. We hope you come back to visit again soon!

Sincerely,

Lee M. Brown
Best Western Mt. Hood Inn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2014

We stayed at the Best Western on June 1st on our 48 day West trip. The hotel is really nice with a lodge type feel. Very clean room with a very nice bathroom and clean carpets. We were allowed to check in early and the staff was very helpful and friendly. It is probably the best place to stay if you are going up to Mt. Hood for loacation and cost.

We took advantage of their guest laundry on the first floor. We had a large comfortable room and the area is real quiet.

Room Tip: I don't think there is a bad room so no worries.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thesteevesgroup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DirectorSocialMedia, Front Office Manager at Best Western Mt. Hood Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 27 July 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for the kind words, it truly is appreciated. We hope that you come back to stay the next time you decide to come explore Mt. Hood.

Regards,

Lee M. Brown
Best Western Mt. Hood Inn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Government Camp
3.3 mi away
Timberline Lodge
Timberline Lodge
#1 of 1 in Timberline Lodge
1,071 reviews
12 mi away
Cooper Spur Mountain Resort
10.1 mi away
Whispering Woods Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10 mi away
Resort at The Mountain, BW Premier Collection
13.9 mi away
Sandy Salmon Bed & Breakfast
12 mi away
Mt Hood Village RV Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Mt. Hood Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Mt. Hood Inn

Address: 87450 E Government Camp Loop, Government Camp, OR 97028-0108
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Oregon > Clackamas County > Government Camp
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Government Camp
Price Range: £93 - £201 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Mt. Hood Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 56
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Agoda, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Mt. Hood Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Mt Hood Hotel Government Camp
Mount Hood Lodging
Mount Hood Hotel
Mt Hood Inn
Best Western Mt. Hood Inn Government Camp, Oregon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing