We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect place in summer”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Best Western Mt. Hood Inn
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Government Camp
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 December 2010

There aren't that many places in Government Camp suitable for one or two night stays during the summer. The Inn is at the end of Government Camp next to the Ice Axe grill. Plenty of free indoor and outdoor parking. The lobby is rather spartan and the front desk is a folding table. It looks like the ran out of money finishing the lobby or perhaps are renovating? Breakfast is served in the lobby - a simple continental breakfast with the addition of warm egg burritos. We had a room with a hot tub which we did not use. The room was quiet and large enough. Wireless internet worked well. Much better deal ($$) than Timberline Lodge and you can always drive up to the Lodge for a drink in the bar before dinner. Staff was friendly.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WorldTravelers25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (537)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

528 - 534 of 537 reviews

Reviewed 12 October 2010

We stayed here for just one night after driving over from Portland and loved it. It's super close to Mount Hood, which was a lovely drive at night and the next morning. The restaurant in the parking lot (Ice Pick?) was really good with a very friendly staff and the hotel breakfast was surprisingly good. Make sure you try the sausages. They were delicious. Room was nice, beds very comfortable and a refrigerator is always welcome for travelers who like a nice, cold soda first thing in the morning. Don't worry, coffee drinkers, there was a pot in the room, too. Very quiet and, I'm pleased to report, bed-bug free!

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TripGrrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2007

When I made my reservations online I was given government rate of $85 plus tax for the night. Unfortunately I did not print out the webpage with the rates. When I checked out I was very shocked to be charged $179, including tax. This is more than double the rate I expected to pay! To be quite frank, I feel like I have been scammed. I make all of my hotel reservations online, for personal use and for work, and this is the first time the email reservation confirmation did not confirm the price. I can't help but wonder if this is deliberate so that the customers cannot use this confirmation as verification of the price they were originally quoted. I contacted the hotel to attempt to have the issue corrected, but they said the government rate applied to military personnel only and would not to anything to correct the error.

Stayed: March 2007
7  Thank SBMomOregon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2006

We stayed here for only one night, but it would be a great place to stay for an extended stay. The room was very nicely furnished with pine furniture. It had a countertop area (separate from the bathroom) with a sink, microwave, coffee maker and fridge. (Only negative for us was that the microwave kept overloading the circuit so we couldn't use it...if were staying longer, we would have had them fix it).
The hotel has a nice large, attractive lobby with a fireplace and a continental breakfast was included.
We didn't spend very much time there at all, but I noticed they had a laundry room, lockers for skis, snowboards, etc, meeting rooms (for large groups I guess) and covered parking.
I would definitely recommend this hotel and stay there again!

  • Stayed: July 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank luv2globetrot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2005

Adequate accomodations near Mt. Hood and good value when compared to the Timberline Lodge. Brewpub next door had great beer and food, but service was marginal! Clean, friendly staff and nicely decorated.

10  Thank SallyJJJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank ronaldb2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MtHoodInn, Front Office Manager at Best Western Mt. Hood Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 2 January 2017
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2016
Google Translation

Room Tip: L’hôtel dans son ensemble est très calme et confortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Thierry L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MtHoodInn, Front Office Manager at Best Western Mt. Hood Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 5 December 2016
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Government Camp
3.3 mi away
Timberline Lodge
Timberline Lodge
#1 of 1 in Timberline Lodge
1,058 reviews
10.1 mi away
Whispering Woods Resort
15.5 mi away
Comfort Inn Portland
Comfort Inn Portland
#62 of 144 in Portland
156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.0 mi away
Resort at The Mountain, BW Premier Collection
13.9 mi away
Sandy Salmon Bed & Breakfast
11.7 mi away
Mt Hood Village RV Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Mt. Hood Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Mt. Hood Inn

Address: 87450 E Government Camp Loop, Government Camp, OR 97028
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Oregon > Clackamas County > Government Camp
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Government Camp
Price Range: £89 - £198 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Mt. Hood Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 56
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Agoda, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Mt. Hood Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Mt Hood Hotel Government Camp
Mount Hood Lodging
Mount Hood Hotel
Mt Hood Inn
Best Western Mt. Hood Inn Government Camp, Oregon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing