We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This is a good choice for Government camp.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Lodge at Government Camp
Reviewed 12 January 2013

If you are going to stay in Government camp, The Lodge is a good choice. We have stayed here previously and that experience was not a good one. We decided to give it another chance and were pleasantly surprised. We stayed in unit 4 this time. It is very "lodgie". That is a good thing. My only negative would be the upstairs queen bed us very uncomfortable. The sun, if shining, will wake you up if you are in the loft. There are no blinds. This unit is not very soundproof and if others get up to catch the the first powder, you will hear them.
All in all, we will return.

Room Tip: Avoid east facing units unless you like waking up with the sun.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PDX_1st
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (26)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

21 - 26 of 26 reviews

Reviewed 21 December 2012

We stayed in Unit 6. It was decorated beautifully and comfortably. Perfect location atop of the grocery store. The grocery store and rental staff were very nice and helpful. This unit spared no expense, from the towels to the awesome floor pillow. Which by the way, I have been searching for since I got home. The view from our balcony was gorgeous. Our unit was very clean and appliances were brand new. On recommendation from the staff, we tried Charlies (which from the outside didn't look good). It was the best restaurant there. Each time were were impressed with the quality of our food and the friendliness of the cooks. We will definitely go back to stay at this Condo. I highly recommend it! The location was perfect. Right across from Skibowl and only a few miles from Timberline.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank VBC65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2012

We have stayed at Timberline Lodge may nights. The rooms have always been beyond perfect. We thought this trip we would give their condos a try. Big mistake! To start with, our condo #3, had not been cleaned that well. While my kids were unpacking they found old/dirty underwear and socks in the drawers. Then a very foul smell began to make it's way out of the kitchen. Come to find out the previous tenants must have had fish and the leftovers were still in the sink drain.
There is no coffee, or creamer, or sugar provided either. Even Motel 6 gives you complimentary coffee for the mornings.
My advise, stick to Timberline Lodge up on the mountain and avoid the Lodge/condos in Government camp. Unless you like filthy accommodations. Makes me wonder if the beds are clean. Yuck!

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PDX_1st
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2011

This condo was exceptionally nice...everything! Two things I really appreciated were the friendliness and patience both Amanda and Gesere exuded! Good job, Ladies!! (tell your boss I said so!)
Roni

Room Tip: Ice Axe Grill-good food,pricey, but fun & lots of beer to taste.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ronironironi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2011

We stayed in unit #1. note......These are NOT owned by timberline lodge. They are well managed by timberline. However you are still at the mercy of the respective owner for all appointments except sheets and cleanliness. The appliances are all low end. There are instructions for nothing. Kitchen knives are dull and low end; scissors were unusable. It is definitely "rental" caliber. Though Timberline staff did a great job to help us out with questions as best they could . Mattress quality was just okay. Cable was "basic" package in a child " lock down" mode. You can use pool up at Timberline Lodge.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank II2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2010

We stayed at the Lodge at Government Camp for two nights in may 2010.
What a find! There are no words to describe the experience of staying at this incredibly beautiful lodge.

We found this wonderful place after deciding we should go to Mount Hood and the Timberline Lodge while on our road trip. Prices were rather high and rooms were rather small. Taking a closer look at the website, we found heaven: the lodge at Government Camp. You're still a Timberline guest, but spend the night in Government Camp.

We stayed in unit 4. There is a front desk on the ground level, next to the Govy General store. Free parking is in the back, but limited to one car. No problem for
our rental car! The elevator takes you up to the great hallway and when you enter the lodge, you're overwhelmed with a warm cozy feeling.

A great kitchen with a huge fridge and freezer, self cleaning oven, dishwasher, ... Great room with huge windows, a stove, comfy couches, tv, dvd-player, cd-player,
cd's, dvd's, books, ... and all the luxury one needs. On the balcony is a bbq, so great during the summer!

There is one seperate bedroom with a double bed downstairs and a big bathroom with steam shower. A big plus for the washer and dryer! We could do our laundry!
Great!

Upstairs is another level, an open space with a double bed, comfy chairs, tv and another (somewhat smaller) bathroom. When we woke up in the morning, we could see
it snowing through the huge windows from our bed upstairs. Incredible feeling!

Free wi-fi works great!

An unforgettable stay and if we had the money, we would buy this unit this very moment.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ktkromann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Government Camp
2.8 mi away
Timberline Lodge
Timberline Lodge
#1 of 1 in Timberline Lodge
1,078 reviews
0.5 mi away
Best Western Mt. Hood Inn
Best Western Mt. Hood Inn
#1 of 2 in Government Camp
547 reviews
11.6 mi away
Cooper Spur Mountain Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.5 mi away
Whispering Woods Resort
10.4 mi away
Resort at The Mountain, BW Premier Collection
14.4 mi away
Sandy Salmon Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lodge at Government Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lodge at Government Camp

Address: 30521 E Meldrum St, Government Camp Loop Road, Government Camp, OR 97028-0199
Region: United States > Oregon > Clackamas County > Government Camp
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Speciality Lodging in Government Camp
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lodge at Government Camp is in the center of the historic village of Government Camp. Only an hour east of Portland, Oregon, Government Camp is the hub of Mt Hood, the gateway to Mt Hood recreation. Whether you want to ski, snowboard, fish, hike, bike or just relax and enjoy nature, our Mt Hood condos are ideal for your Mt. Hood vacation. Just 6 miles away from historic Timberline Lodge on Mt Hood in Oregon, the Lodge at Government Camp boasts six spacious Mt Hood condos. Each richly-decorated luxury condominium is unique and inviting, with fully-equipped kitchens, fireplaces, wireless internet, cable TV and comfortable beds. The Lodge at Government Camp offers you the comforts of home in a boutique hotel setting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers so you can book your The Lodge at Government Camp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Lodge At Government Camp Oregon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing