We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice Place” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Grand Lodges

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Government Camp
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Grand Lodges
San Juan Capistrano, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Nice Place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 January 2012

First time to Mt. Hood ski areas and we enjoyed our stay at Grand Lodges, Unit 14. Location and amenities are good, love the underground parking and the unit is roomy, with a very nice kitchen and newer furnishings. Could have used some end tables and lamps in the living room- kind of sparse. Did not have the feel of the usual rental usage (in a good way). Had some complaining about uncomfortable beds, but the Master bed was fine. The staff are very nice. Have a drink at the Tiimberline, but don't get gouged by the excessive dining room prices! The best food we had was at AlpenStube at the Meadows ski area, and pizza at Ratzgeller.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rapster58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    34
    5
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
27
4
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Fargher Lake, Washington, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2012

Rooms were amazing! Heated outdoor pool & jacuzzi was great, kids loved being in a pool outside while it snowed. Staff was wonderful, helpfull & Friendly. Can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeremiah D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 December 2011

I recently had another opportunity to stay at Grand Lodges this winter and once again I was not disappointed. The condos are tastefully done echoing the feel of a true mountain getaway but not lacking in refinement. The kitchens are well stocked and the appliances modern. The beds are another draw and a reason why I would choose to come back. The mattresses are supportive yet soft and spacious. They are the perfect remedy to a body that has spent the day on the slopes. The large down comforters always assure you will stay warm and comfortable. The living area has a healthy sectional couch that is warmed by a generous gas fireplace and offer tons of space for the whole family to lounge together. The bathrooms are well lit and offer good counter space for accessories. The towels are big, fluffy and soft. Few amenities are lacking here. Government camp is a short walk away offering food and drinks with a lively night life during the ski season. I would definitely recommend a getaway here to friends and family!

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kyle M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 December 2011

Just spent Thanksgiving weekend at the Grand Lodges--Mt. Hood is now and finally a destination where luxury is an option. Check in was a breeze, the lodges are a short walk to everything in Government Camp, and the accommodations are immaculate. The kitchen--was stocked with everything to make meals in; the view from the private deck was magnificent; and while it was too rainy to hit the mountain, the kids were able to enjoy a truly heated pool! They got this one right, as often as time permits I'll be back. Parking was a bit tricky the first night, but that's because I hadn't chained up--so what should I expect? Even better, SkiBowl is literally across the street which meant from spontaneous decision to fresh snow took 20 minutes...seriously. I seldom feel compelled to write reviews, but this place was awesome. Only an hour from home but a world away from the drags of the city!

The only reason I bumped the service down was because the front desk lady took a bit too long to end a personal call and tell me how to get to the workout room. No biggie, but at a place this nice you expect a bit more from reception staff. Still very good overall.

Room Tip: Depending on your style choose accordingly. We had a penthouse, kids loved the loft, we loved the ma...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gabriel W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Troutdale, Oregon
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 November 2011

My wife and I wanted to get away from the weekend, and we sure did at the Grand Lodge! We arrived in the afternoon and we went right in the lodge. It is decorated very tastefully with modern touches, yet you know that you are at a mountain lodge. Nice exposed wood beams, mood lighting, and the best part, a loft with a spiral stair case! This is a great value for large families or couples that want to enjoy some time at the mountain. The condo has two large bedrooms, large living area, kitchen and the loft. We had some great food near by, jumped in the hot pool in 28 degree weather watching the night sky as the steam evaporated, and finally bundled up next to the fireplace and watched a movie. The next morning, we enjoyed the mountain view and the fresh snow from the balcony, had some breakfast and went for a hike.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Martini B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Des Moines, Iowa
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 October 2011

We went to Grand Lodges during the off-season--October. The rooms at this new resort are beautiful and spacious. We stayed in a 3BD that was We are Marriott owners in Hawaii and Kauai, and the quality of these rooms was on par with the Marriott properties.There are nice places nearby to take hikes. I recommended going for a hike around Lake Trillium for those who do not regularly hike. It is nice and flat. It's beautiful, especially when the sky is clear and you can see Mount Hood clearly. Timberline Lodge is a fun stop for movie lovers. Part of the Shining was filmed there. There is lots to do and see in the area--Columbia River Gorge, lots of falls, Portland is only an hour away. There are a few restaurants in town. I recommend Huckleberry Inn. Great pancakes and great huckleberry pie!

We went during the off-season. There was not much service.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Iowa5011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westminster, MD
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2011

We had a wonderful week at Grand Lodges Mount Hood last month. We have enjoyed condo vacations very much in the past. Traded a Marriott Vacation Club week for this property, and it with no regrets! Government Camp is a really neat place to visit, everyone is very friendly, and althoug it's a small village, we found good eateries as well. And, it is just 1/4 mile from the entrance to the splendid federal Timberline Lodge where we enjoyed folks skiing and snowboading in the summer. The lodge is a national treasure, reminding us of the excellent work that our US government did under FDR to put folks back to work during the Great Depression. It remains a site of national pride, which was also used to external shots for the film, "The Shining."

The units at Grand Lodges are very, very spacious...2,300 square feet! This is the largest unit in which we have ever stayed. From what we understand, it is the upscale answer to the Collns Lake Resort adjacent to it in the charming alpine village of Government Camp. Beautifully decorated, two gas fireplaces, top-of-the line furniture, appliances, kitchen gadgets....you name it. Of course, in June the property was far from fully-occupied....a bit lonely at times actually, but such a gorgeous setting. Warm enough outside for shorts and sandals, but still some big mounds of snow piled up nearby....all under the compelling view of the awesome snowcapped Mount Hood. Staff was very friendly, but never intrusive with begging us to come to a sales promotion, or whatever. Easy parking in the enclosed, secure garage and a handy elevator and luggage cart always at our disposal.
Hard to think of any suggestions for improvement, but I can venture a couple:
1. A trash chute on each floor would be a vast improvement rather than schlepping our trash down to the dumpster on the garage level.
2. Our 3-bedroom unit has no televison in the medium sized lovely bedroom which had its own huge bath....rather odd. The small 3rd bedroom with bunkbeds had a flat screen on the wall, however.
3. The fitness "center" is really a tiny room which no one seemed to use. The outdoor heated pool is attractive, but sadly right next to the roadway. Placing it between the two main buidings, perhaps with a fitness center there as well...near the small lake, would have been gorgeous, but perhaps not feasible due to the streams running by from the endless melting snow from Mount Hood.
4. Each unit has a huge, beautiful balcony with a large direct-gas grill. Our unit had a breath-taking view of Mount Hood as well, but none of the units had a stick of furniture on them. So very odd as well. It would have been wonderful to have had morning coffee outside on the balcony, but not to stand there the entire time.

Nevertheless, the positives of this fine property far outweigh the negatives. I can only imagine how ideal it is during the long ski season. I hope to return some day!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank truantWestminster_MD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand_Lodges, Front Office Manager at The Grand Lodges, responded to this review, 12 August 2011
Thank you for your review! We're so glad you had a great time and hope to see you back at the Grand Lodges soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Government Camp
0.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN Mt. Hood Inn
BEST WESTERN Mt. Hood Inn
#1 of 2 in Government Camp
4.0 of 5 bubbles 461 reviews
2.8 mi away
Timberline Lodge
Timberline Lodge
#1 of 1 in Timberline Lodge
4.0 of 5 bubbles 888 reviews
10.6 mi away
Resort at The Mountain, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.5 mi away
Sandy Salmon Bed & Breakfast
12.3 mi away
Mt Hood Village RV Resort
0.1 mi away
The Lodge at Government Camp
The Lodge at Government Camp
#2 of 5 in Government Camp
4.0 of 5 bubbles 23 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Grand Lodges? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grand Lodges

Property: The Grand Lodges
Address: 89000 E Government Camp Loop, Government Camp, OR 97028-2509
Region: United States > Oregon > Clackamas County > Government Camp
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Speciality Lodging in Government Camp
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Grand Lodges Mt. Hood, where you'll find enhanced living among the rugged beauty of Oregon's Cascade Mountain Range. More than just a retreat to nature, you'll come to think of Grand Lodges as a home away from home. Large 1,800-2,300 square foot accommodations offer 2-3 bedroom suites, fully appointed kitchens, stone fireplaces, mounted flat screen televisions, outdoor grills, and first-class finishes - providing you with all of the necessary comforts you're accustomed to and then some. Beautiful master bedrooms feature expansive bathrooms, walk-in closets, plush mattresses and second fireplaces in most plans while each suite offers private balconies that lead to awe-inspiring views of the lake and mountains. Located just minutes from the slopes of Ski Bowl, Mt. Hood Meadows and Timberline Lodge, the Grand Lodges offers porch-to-powder shuttle service and an on-demand concierge for your convenience. Plus our guests enjoy the the on-site amenities that include a year-round heated pool, spa, sauna and two fitness centers. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Grand Hotel Government Camp
The Grand Lodges Government Camp, Oregon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing