We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Surprized and Amazed”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Grants Pass
Ranked #9 of 18 Hotels in Grants Pass
Certificate of Excellence
Ladera Ranch, CA
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Surprized and Amazed”
Reviewed 6 February 2010

First off...I don't stay at Holiday Inns (express or otherwise). In fact, I usually won't stay in anything less than a Marriott, but what are you going to do in Grants Pass? I was terrified when I made reservations and knew it was going to be a miserable stay.

I was profoundly shocked when we drove up to the property however. It's on a slight hill next to a busy road. Easy to find and well kept...on the outside. Check-in went flawless. The clerk was friendly, quick, and professional. The lobby was clean and comfortable with sofas and table lamps and reading materials (like a small library setting). Off the lobby was a dining room which served a free breakfast every morning.

We went up to our room on the third floor. There are elevators, but no bell staff to help with bags. The halls were clean and brightly lit. Our room was on the front of the building, so we had no traffic noise (which other reviews have claimed on the other side of the building). Our room had 2 queen beds, with sheeted down comforters and 4 pillows on each bed (2 firm & 2 soft). The room was VERY clean (this was my greatest fear of a discount chain motel). If I think it's clean...99% of the population will thinks it's nearly sterile. The bathroom looked like it had a new shower curtain on an extended, curved rod (giving the tub a roomier feel). There were more than enough towels. The soaps and lotions were sparse (1 small shampoo, 2 bars of soap, and a lotion). There is also a hairdryer, a microwave, a coffee maker (with tea and coffee provided) and a mini fridge. Everything was clean and fresh.

The beds were comfortable enough. The pillows were satisfactory. The bedding itself may have been a little excessive, even in January. We had to turn on the wall unit A/C to keep the room cool enough.

The only downside which keeps this property from getting 5 stars is the noise level. The floors and walls are made of cardboard and duct tape. We could hear even the slightest movement from upstairs and foot steps in the hall. We had a service dog with us, and when she barked the noise could be heard at the end of the hall from a closed room. I can only imagine what they heard up and downstairs from our room. Thankfully, the dog isn't much of a barker, usually.

The next morning, we went downstairs for breakfast and were treated to not only the usual danish, bagels, and coffee...but cold cereal, fruit, english muffins, sausage, and omelets. The food was far from stellar, but when you just need to grab something quick before you jump back on the road, it was pretty substantial (and did I mention...FREE).

We will definitely stay here again...and bring earplugs for our next stay.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SallyBrownsMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

182 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    60
    73
    26
    14
    9
See reviews for
56
64
13
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Nashville, TN
Level Contributor
863 reviews
164 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 837 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2009

We stayed at this hotel on our journey from the redwoods to Crater Lake this month. The best rate we could get walking in on a Sunday afternoon was $119 (senior rate/AAA rate) -- the highest rate that we paid on the trip. Price aside, the Grant's Pass Holiday Inn Express was a great place to stay. We had an attractive, spacious, clean room on a non-smoking/non-pet floor. The king-size bed provided a very comfortable night's sleep. We loved the flat-screen TV and sofa. The work table was very useful. The bathroom was clean and up-to-date. The window provided a pretty view of the mountains. A microwave oven and small refrigerator were also in the room. We were very happy with the room and amenities. (I always enjoy the soap, shampoo, conditioner, and lotion that HI Express provides.)

The free breakfast was great! We enjoyed the scrambled eggs, sausage, bread/muffins, boiled eggs, yogurt, apple and orange juices, fresh fruit, coffee and tea. The best item is always the hot cinnamon rolls.

I made use of the business center which currently has only one computer. They could certainly use a second one since several guests were needing the use of the computer. HI should certainly want their guests to be able to locate the next HI hotel on their journey.

The front desk staff were very pleasant and helpful. I requested more information than I normally would, and the clerk was helpful in almost every instance. The only thing she couldn't provide was a printed hotel directory which is evidently not available at this time.

I would definitely stay here again if traveling through the area.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RetiredTravelerTN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Annapolis, Maryland
Level Contributor
60 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2009

Grants Pass seemed like the logical place to stay the night when we were driving from Bend to Brookings. After reading some of the reviews here, I wasn't too sure about keeping our reservation at the Holiday Inn Express. But I'm glad we did. At check-in, we were pleasantly greeted. The motel is located conveniently near the main highways and on a hill. The motel looked new and was well kept. Our room was located on the 3rd floor and had a nice view of the surrounding hills. The room itself was clean and comfortable with a microwave and mini-refrigerator. We slept soundly and comfortably. For breakfast, there were a variety of items: eggs, pancakes, cereal, yogurt, and hot cinnamon buns (yummy). Check-out was fast, friendly, and efficient. We weren't disappointed at all with our choice. We thought that it was a good value.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hulagirl74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
medford
1 review
Reviewed 14 September 2009

This hotel was nice and clean but the staff were not!! The two ladies at the front desk were more than rude, they were downright Nasty!!!! My friend was getting ready for her wedding at this hotel. Upon leaving in the lobby, she asked the two ladies at the front desk for a paper towel to dry the stem on her flower bouquet; all the bride got was rolled eyes and sighs!!! The two ladies at the desk were rude to everyone in the wedding party, they were making rude comments to one another about the bride!!! Maybe it was jealousy. They acted like they were so put out over a paper towel. They told the bride to go the bathroom in her white flowing gown, and basically to help herself!! Never staying there again!!! Those ladies give the rest of the staff a bad rep.

  • Stayed September 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 5540J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington
Level Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed 12 August 2009

This is the 2nd time we stayed at this hotel. Both times have been enjoyable stays. The rooms have been super clean, well stocked, and staff is always friendly and helpful. We also stayed in Holiday Inn Express in Klamath Falls which also was exceptional.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dedelynne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albany, Oregon
Level Contributor
89 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2009

When we go on mini-vacations we always take our grandson.
I always make sure the Holiday Inn I am staying at has a nice pool.

I brought up the Grants Pass Holiday Inn Express Web page, and it had a beautiful pool and hot-tub. There would be plenty of room --as the pool is usually what we go for and our grandson loves to swim.

The pool is pictured, and then a staircase up to the Holiday Inn Express which seems to be on top of a butte. Gorgeous!

What do I find when I get to Grants Pass, "The Best Western" and "Holiday Inn Express" share a pool. What a nightmare, tons of people, way overloaded. It was 102 degrees.

I watched as people left and they mostly headed for "The Best Western" exit, so most of the occupants were from the Best Western. (Which makes sense, because the pool is closer to the Best Western.) The grand staircase we took takes you down to the Best Western, which happed to have cheaper rates.
I'll never stay at that Holiday Inn Express again.
It was also very noisy, right off the freeway, children’s toys were all over the entrance way, I went to get away, not to think I was at home in a toy room.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tessOregon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marrero, Louisiana
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2009

Stayed there for one night. Very nice rooms. Helpful staff providing us with late checkout so we could go on Hell's Canyon Jetboat excursion the next day. After accidentally shutting the door too hard at 5 in the afternoon an elderly woman next door threatened me and was verbally abusive, using words I can't use on this site, the staff was helpful moving us to another room and willing to take action if the threats continued.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank luvtravel99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Grants Pass hotels
2.0 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Grants Pass
1.9 mi away
Riverside Inn
Riverside Inn
#4 of 18 in Grants Pass
4.0 of 5 bubbles 484 reviews
1.7 mi away
The Lodge at Riverside
The Lodge at Riverside
#3 of 18 in Grants Pass
4.5 of 5 bubbles 611 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Best Western Grants Pass Inn
Best Western Grants Pass Inn
#7 of 18 in Grants Pass
4.0 of 5 bubbles 509 reviews
1.5 mi away
Buona Sera Inn
Buona Sera Inn
#1 of 18 in Grants Pass
4.5 of 5 bubbles 395 reviews
2.0 mi away
Shilo Inn Grants Pass
Shilo Inn Grants Pass
#14 of 18 in Grants Pass
3.5 of 5 bubbles 181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Grants Pass? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Grants Pass

Property: Holiday Inn Express Grants Pass
Address: 105 NE Agness Ave, Grants Pass, OR 97526-3901
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Oregon > Grants Pass
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Grants Pass
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Grants Pass 2.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Grants Pass is conveniently located at the junction of Interstate 5 and the Redwood Hwy (Hwy 199). Our lodging offers you easy access to Rogue River thrills, antique shopping, wildlife watching and wine tasting. Seasonally, catch the exciting action of Grants Pass Downs horse racing, enjoy summer theater and art, try whitewater rafting, fishing or a jet boat excursion on the wild and scenic Rogue River. Shop in the open air at the Southern Oregon Public Market and in the Historic Towne Centre or enjoy a round of golf at one of the local courses. The Holiday Inn Express hotel accommodations feature: Simply Smart guest bath and bedding, Smart Roast in-room coffee, free local and 800 calls and free wireless HSIA. Enjoy a unique breakfast experience at our new Express Start breakfast bar served every morning. Featuring a selection of cheese omelets, bacon, biscuits and gravy, scrambled eggs, sausage, fruits, juices, cereals, breads/pastries & muffins, and even hard boiled eggs. We have also created the world's best tasting cinnamon roll. Visit Grants Pass, OR and Stay Smart at the Holiday Inn Express hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Expedia, IHG, Priceline, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Grants Pass reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Grants Pass Hotel Grants Pass
Holiday Inn Grants Pass
Grants Pass Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing