We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Potential to be one of the best in town - but disappointing. Needs new management.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Grants Pass
Ranked #9 of 18 Hotels in Grants Pass
Certificate of Excellence
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
37 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Potential to be one of the best in town - but disappointing. Needs new management.”
Reviewed 19 June 2010

We have used this chain in other places and found it to generally be comfortable, a step above "budget". When we had to find a hotel to spend a week while we dealt with some family issues, we needed to find the right place and have our stay be worry free. The area is full of small independent motels, but we were unsure of the quality. Even though this one cost 60% more than other places, we decided to go with a sure thing rather than deal with the unknown. Our general criteria - Clean, Comfortable, Internet. We were not looking for luxury, just a place to retreat to at the end of a very long day.

The Good -
* Average room size, but comfortable. Includes small desk, easy chair, mini-fridge.
* Bed is comfortable and includes both firm and soft pillows - we had a great sleep.
* Fast, problem-free WiFi in room.
* Sound proofing worked well - and was put to the test with a road construction project going on outside our window.
* Breakfast bar was a nice bonus (including both hot & cold selections) as was the morning paper.
* The tub was huge! Someone over 6' tall could actually get everything in at the same time.
* Location - at one of two ends of town and right off the freeway, easy to get anywhere in the area. Several stores, restaurants in walking distance.

The Bad -
* Cleanliness - Even after bringing it to their attention it took 3 complaints (over 2 days) and threats of moving to get hair (from previous guest) removed from the bathroom floor. If our business in the area had not been so all consuming, we would have left after the first night. Desk staff was nice, and appeared to respond appropriately, but apparently communication is an issue as well. The message was not delivered across shifts or departments. I ended up buying wipes and making sure surfaces were actually clean and sanitary. We did get a 10% discount so the room cost only 50% over the local places.

* Smoking Rooms across the hall from non-smoking rooms. Every time we left our room we had to deal with the smoke coming from the rooms across the hall. Most places use different smoking/non-smoking floors for a reason.

Bottom line -
This hotel misses on two of our main criteria - cleanliness & worry free. We will try one of the small local places next trip. If I am getting a budget hotel, at least I will be paying a budget price.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Setati
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

182 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    60
    73
    26
    14
    9
See reviews for
56
64
13
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Sandton
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2010

Arrived very late no booking was made to feel very welcome Excellent front of house staff as well. The most comfortable beds ever

Stayed May 2010, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank MercurySandton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ladera Ranch, CA
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 February 2010

First off...I don't stay at Holiday Inns (express or otherwise). In fact, I usually won't stay in anything less than a Marriott, but what are you going to do in Grants Pass? I was terrified when I made reservations and knew it was going to be a miserable stay.

I was profoundly shocked when we drove up to the property however. It's on a slight hill next to a busy road. Easy to find and well kept...on the outside. Check-in went flawless. The clerk was friendly, quick, and professional. The lobby was clean and comfortable with sofas and table lamps and reading materials (like a small library setting). Off the lobby was a dining room which served a free breakfast every morning.

We went up to our room on the third floor. There are elevators, but no bell staff to help with bags. The halls were clean and brightly lit. Our room was on the front of the building, so we had no traffic noise (which other reviews have claimed on the other side of the building). Our room had 2 queen beds, with sheeted down comforters and 4 pillows on each bed (2 firm & 2 soft). The room was VERY clean (this was my greatest fear of a discount chain motel). If I think it's clean...99% of the population will thinks it's nearly sterile. The bathroom looked like it had a new shower curtain on an extended, curved rod (giving the tub a roomier feel). There were more than enough towels. The soaps and lotions were sparse (1 small shampoo, 2 bars of soap, and a lotion). There is also a hairdryer, a microwave, a coffee maker (with tea and coffee provided) and a mini fridge. Everything was clean and fresh.

The beds were comfortable enough. The pillows were satisfactory. The bedding itself may have been a little excessive, even in January. We had to turn on the wall unit A/C to keep the room cool enough.

The only downside which keeps this property from getting 5 stars is the noise level. The floors and walls are made of cardboard and duct tape. We could hear even the slightest movement from upstairs and foot steps in the hall. We had a service dog with us, and when she barked the noise could be heard at the end of the hall from a closed room. I can only imagine what they heard up and downstairs from our room. Thankfully, the dog isn't much of a barker, usually.

The next morning, we went downstairs for breakfast and were treated to not only the usual danish, bagels, and coffee...but cold cereal, fruit, english muffins, sausage, and omelets. The food was far from stellar, but when you just need to grab something quick before you jump back on the road, it was pretty substantial (and did I mention...FREE).

We will definitely stay here again...and bring earplugs for our next stay.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SallyBrownsMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nashville, TN
Level Contributor
863 reviews
164 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 836 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2009

We stayed at this hotel on our journey from the redwoods to Crater Lake this month. The best rate we could get walking in on a Sunday afternoon was $119 (senior rate/AAA rate) -- the highest rate that we paid on the trip. Price aside, the Grant's Pass Holiday Inn Express was a great place to stay. We had an attractive, spacious, clean room on a non-smoking/non-pet floor. The king-size bed provided a very comfortable night's sleep. We loved the flat-screen TV and sofa. The work table was very useful. The bathroom was clean and up-to-date. The window provided a pretty view of the mountains. A microwave oven and small refrigerator were also in the room. We were very happy with the room and amenities. (I always enjoy the soap, shampoo, conditioner, and lotion that HI Express provides.)

The free breakfast was great! We enjoyed the scrambled eggs, sausage, bread/muffins, boiled eggs, yogurt, apple and orange juices, fresh fruit, coffee and tea. The best item is always the hot cinnamon rolls.

I made use of the business center which currently has only one computer. They could certainly use a second one since several guests were needing the use of the computer. HI should certainly want their guests to be able to locate the next HI hotel on their journey.

The front desk staff were very pleasant and helpful. I requested more information than I normally would, and the clerk was helpful in almost every instance. The only thing she couldn't provide was a printed hotel directory which is evidently not available at this time.

I would definitely stay here again if traveling through the area.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RetiredTravelerTN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Annapolis, Maryland
Level Contributor
60 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2009

Grants Pass seemed like the logical place to stay the night when we were driving from Bend to Brookings. After reading some of the reviews here, I wasn't too sure about keeping our reservation at the Holiday Inn Express. But I'm glad we did. At check-in, we were pleasantly greeted. The motel is located conveniently near the main highways and on a hill. The motel looked new and was well kept. Our room was located on the 3rd floor and had a nice view of the surrounding hills. The room itself was clean and comfortable with a microwave and mini-refrigerator. We slept soundly and comfortably. For breakfast, there were a variety of items: eggs, pancakes, cereal, yogurt, and hot cinnamon buns (yummy). Check-out was fast, friendly, and efficient. We weren't disappointed at all with our choice. We thought that it was a good value.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hulagirl74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
medford
1 review
Reviewed 14 September 2009

This hotel was nice and clean but the staff were not!! The two ladies at the front desk were more than rude, they were downright Nasty!!!! My friend was getting ready for her wedding at this hotel. Upon leaving in the lobby, she asked the two ladies at the front desk for a paper towel to dry the stem on her flower bouquet; all the bride got was rolled eyes and sighs!!! The two ladies at the desk were rude to everyone in the wedding party, they were making rude comments to one another about the bride!!! Maybe it was jealousy. They acted like they were so put out over a paper towel. They told the bride to go the bathroom in her white flowing gown, and basically to help herself!! Never staying there again!!! Those ladies give the rest of the staff a bad rep.

  • Stayed September 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 5540J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington
Level Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed 12 August 2009

This is the 2nd time we stayed at this hotel. Both times have been enjoyable stays. The rooms have been super clean, well stocked, and staff is always friendly and helpful. We also stayed in Holiday Inn Express in Klamath Falls which also was exceptional.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dedelynne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Grants Pass hotels
2.0 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Grants Pass
1.9 mi away
Riverside Inn
Riverside Inn
#4 of 18 in Grants Pass
4.0 of 5 bubbles 483 reviews
1.7 mi away
The Lodge at Riverside
The Lodge at Riverside
#3 of 18 in Grants Pass
4.5 of 5 bubbles 611 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Best Western Grants Pass Inn
Best Western Grants Pass Inn
#6 of 18 in Grants Pass
4.0 of 5 bubbles 508 reviews
1.5 mi away
Buona Sera Inn
Buona Sera Inn
#1 of 18 in Grants Pass
4.5 of 5 bubbles 395 reviews
2.0 mi away
Shilo Inn Grants Pass
Shilo Inn Grants Pass
#14 of 18 in Grants Pass
3.5 of 5 bubbles 181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Grants Pass? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Grants Pass

Property: Holiday Inn Express Grants Pass
Address: 105 NE Agness Ave, Grants Pass, OR 97526-3901
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Oregon > Grants Pass
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Grants Pass
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Grants Pass 2.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Grants Pass is conveniently located at the junction of Interstate 5 and the Redwood Hwy (Hwy 199). Our lodging offers you easy access to Rogue River thrills, antique shopping, wildlife watching and wine tasting. Seasonally, catch the exciting action of Grants Pass Downs horse racing, enjoy summer theater and art, try whitewater rafting, fishing or a jet boat excursion on the wild and scenic Rogue River. Shop in the open air at the Southern Oregon Public Market and in the Historic Towne Centre or enjoy a round of golf at one of the local courses. The Holiday Inn Express hotel accommodations feature: Simply Smart guest bath and bedding, Smart Roast in-room coffee, free local and 800 calls and free wireless HSIA. Enjoy a unique breakfast experience at our new Express Start breakfast bar served every morning. Featuring a selection of cheese omelets, bacon, biscuits and gravy, scrambled eggs, sausage, fruits, juices, cereals, breads/pastries & muffins, and even hard boiled eggs. We have also created the world's best tasting cinnamon roll. Visit Grants Pass, OR and Stay Smart at the Holiday Inn Express hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, IHG, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Grants Pass reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Grants Pass Hotel Grants Pass
Holiday Inn Grants Pass
Grants Pass Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing