We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nicer than some others in Oregon, but avoid the weekend”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Motel 6 Grants Pass
Ranked #16 of 18 Hotels in Grants Pass
Reviewed 26 March 2012

I stayed in this Motel 6 twice - once for a Tues and Wed stay, and the second time on a Friday night. The difference was dramatic. The first time I had come in after midnight after being stranded on the freeway for 4 hours in a sudden snowstorm with big rigs blocking the road, so I was grateful for a hot shower and a warm bed in a quiet room, which is what I got.
The night clerk was polite and kind, and when I asked him for a quiet room, he was very nice about accomodating my request.
I was surprised to find there was no shampoo, shower gel, or tissues, only two tiny bars of soap, and a mimimum of towels, but the room looked clean, the bed was comfortable (mattress firm) and the room had it's own thermostat to adjust both the heat and the fan, which kept the room toasty warm in winter. The carpet however in one of the rooms, had several large dark brown stains on it, so I kept my socks on!
There is free coffee in the morning - but since I am not a coffee drinker, I brought my own tea bags to make tea. I was disappointed in that the hot water wasn't hot at all, but bathwater warm, and so I had to use water from my own water bottle, and trudge all the way downstairs to heat water in their microwave, which made me rush to make checkout. No biggee, but they should have water hot enough to brew tea with, since not everyone drinks coffee. There was no other food or beverages offered.
The second time I stayed there, they were at full capacity, with lots of young people and unsavory looking characters wandering all over; I was even "hit on" by one young man.
I asked at check in for a quiet room, and the unfriendly woman on the 3pm-11pm shift seemed a little annoyed and condescending at this request.
There was some noise from the couple in the room below me, so I called after 11pm to request a room change, and the new clerk - the same one from my first visit - was very pleasant and kindly offered me another room. I slept well in this other one, a bit away from the noisiest guests.
It seems that it's "hit or miss" with the staff here - some professional, kind, and helpful, and others inattentive, bored, and unfriendly.
I would stay here again, because it's very inexpensive, and in a nicer location than many other Motel 6's, with a Fred Meyer a few minutes drive away, and many restaurants, even a library, not to mention all the other wonderful sights of Grants Pass.
I would not go on a Fri, Sat, or Sun night however, I'd always impress upon them the need for a quiet room, and I'd bring my own hot water pot for the room, along with my own jug of water, and some food, as all they have are candy and snack vending machines.

Room Tip: Request a quiet room, as the walls are somewhat thin, and if that room still is not actually quiet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jane S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (102)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

88 - 94 of 102 reviews

Reviewed 25 February 2012

The little missus and I used to live in Grants Pass a couple of years ago and we return every year for business and to reconnect with old friends and family. During our last visit, we stayed at the motel 6 - we were very familiar with it and the way it has been maintained over the years. We were confident of what we'd get, too, and weren't suprised. The room we stayed in for three days was clean and quiet and the motel itself was well kept, As always, Motel 6 offers some of the most reasonable rates; particularly good when you find a location that is maintained and managed like this one.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tim L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2011

My expectations are from a a motel of this caliber are simple. Quiet and clean. This hotel gets a one star on both counts. There was literally two clumps of dark curly hair on the bathroom floor. Hair on the floor of the shower. And no joke...hair in the bed! I would have said the room was not cleaned from whoever stayed the day before, except the sheets on the bed were made. If the room was ever cleaned, it was a one star quality.

Secondly, it was very noisy. Like another reviewer said, its not like the people were that noisy, it was that the walls were super thin. It sounded almost like they were in the same room as me. Dingy, dirty and noisy.

I read some of the other reviews and its hard to believe they are rating the same place! What a dive.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rick g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2011

I've stayed at many Motel 6's -- but this one is one of the cleanest one's I've been to. Very quiet, and you will get a great night's sleep.

Good price, good sleep, great location off the I-5.
I'll stay here again in a heart beat!

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Robert_VanCity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2011

Our room was a little below what we have experienced at other Motel 6's. Water damage and staining on walls in the bathroom. I am 5'9' and the toilet in the bathroom was made for someone much taller, I felt like a little kid with my feet dangling in the air. Bedding was clean but carpet was not even close to clean. Location is ok and easy to get to. Did not use it but pool looked nice. Very helpful, knowledgeable, and friendly lady at check-in.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Thank RLB_28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2011

A small hotel with divine beds just down the street. No shampoo, fridge, etc. BUT soft towels, new beds, new upgraded sheets and comforters. Pool and really nice.

Stayed: July 2011, travelled solo
1  Thank lafenix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2011

We stayed one night at the beginning of our trip and one at the end. The first night was a typical Motel 6 room, just enough room and tidy. The second stay we were booked into what was obviously an old and very tired room. It was smaller, no tub, only a shower stall. The shower looked like it had been years since it been cleaned or scrubbed so I wasn't comfortable using it. The people next door partied into the night and we tripped over beer cans and cigarette butts on our way out in the morning. The hotel grounds looked OK and the staff was helpful. If I stayed again, I would just ask for one of the better rooms. We received a senior rate of only $51.00 per night.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lindlee1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Grants Pass hotels
0.1 mi away
Shilo Inn Grants Pass
Shilo Inn Grants Pass
#15 of 18 in Grants Pass
198 reviews
0.5 mi away
Bestway Inn Grants Pass
Bestway Inn Grants Pass
#13 of 18 in Grants Pass
55 reviews
0.1 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#14 of 18 in Grants Pass
135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Buona Sera Inn
Buona Sera Inn
#2 of 18 in Grants Pass
428 reviews
1.9 mi away
Best Western Grants Pass Inn
Best Western Grants Pass Inn
#6 of 18 in Grants Pass
561 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grants Pass Travelodge
Grants Pass Travelodge
#17 of 18 in Grants Pass
341 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Motel 6 Grants Pass? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel 6 Grants Pass

Address: 1800 NE 7th St, Grants Pass, OR 97526-3404
Region: United States > Oregon > Grants Pass
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 18 Hotels in Grants Pass
Price Range: £50 - £59 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Motel 6 Grants Pass 2*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Motel 6 Grants Pass Oregon is located within walking distance to area restaurants, and shops are nearby. Wildlife Images public tours are 12 miles. Enjoy our seasonal outdoor heated pool. Wi-Fi is available in all modern guest rooms for a fee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Motel 6 Grants Pass reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Motel Six Grants Pass
Grants Pass Motel Six
Grants Pass Motel 6

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing