We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Show”
Review of Southgate Cinemas

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Southgate Cinemas
Attraction details
Central Point, Oregon
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Good Show”
Reviewed 20 May 2014

One of the better theaters in the Rogue Valley. The best part is that you can park close to the entrance rather than way across a parking lot. Like most theaters, the sound is turned up way too loud, and the food and drinks are way too expensive.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jane L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    12
    4
    0
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Grants Pass, Oregon
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Accommodating Business”
Reviewed 13 May 2014

We like there expansion remodel. They respond to customer requests. They have always allowed a refill on a large popcorn and now they do the same on a large soda. Nice touch. By joining the Rewards Club, you can earn discounts and free movie tickets. On a fixed budget it all adds up. Thanks.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank 220Steve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grants Pass, Oregon
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Movie theatre!”
Reviewed 22 April 2014 via mobile

Very nice movie theatre. Plenty of rooms and movies going on, the tickets and food/drink are very expensive. So I would suggest that you eat and drink before you go!! Overall it is a clean and friendly environment.

Helpful?
Thank jtatom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grants Pass, OR
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Nice theatre”
Reviewed 5 March 2014

Comfortable seats and all the latest movies. Wide variety of movies with many theatres going at all times. Food is expensive but what theatre isn't the same. Senior discounts on tickets.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank vacationletsgo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grants Pass, Oregon
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Random, discriminatory searches of purses.”
Reviewed 2 March 2014

We've been regular customers at this theater since it opened. Yesterday, right after I'd been to the concession stand and ticket counter WITH my husband, I went back out to get myself a drink and snack and was rudely asked if they could search my purse, both at the concession stand at where they take your ticket... By the same two little guys who had just dealt with us as a couple. I'm most upset that they had the nerve to ask, secondly that they were so rude about it, and third that they lacked the guts to do it until I was alone. We had just spent about $25 on snacks... What exactly did they think I was smuggling in? As a terminal cancer patient, I carry medical equipment and meds that are not the business of some pubescent popcorn peddler at the movie theater, so I absolutely refused, since they have no legal right to search my purse. They informed me that they could ask me to leave for refusing, but they didn't dare.

When I told my husband what happened, he spoke to a manager who claimed they're doing it because people have been smuggling alcohol in.

Well, a couple tips for the amateurs at Southgate:
#1 You let bottled water in. Pretty easy to fill a water bottle with booze and get it past you super sleuths if people want to.
#2 I didn't see ANY other person asked to be searched, and in the bathroom I asked about a half dozen other female patrons with bags as big as mine if they were asked and they all said no.

Rude. They've lost us to Tinseltown. I'd rather spend the extra money in gas than keep this place in business if this is how they treat customers.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank mzlove1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Southgate Cinemas also viewed

 

Been to Southgate Cinemas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing