We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Oasis in Southern Oregon” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Buona Sera Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Buona Sera Inn
Ranked #1 of 18 Hotels in Grants Pass
Certificate of Excellence
Vashon, Washington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Oasis in Southern Oregon”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2012

I lived in the Rogue Valley for years and have recently relocated to WA. I recently needed to find a place for a two-night stay because of a medical appointment in Medford. I know the area, and was really not happy with Medford lodging choices -- I didn't want to pay the rates of the higher-end business-traveler hotels, but I just couldn't bear the thought of two grungy nights at the "6." I decided to take a look at Grants Pass on a whim, and read some of the reviews on the Buona Sera; called at the last minute; and was able to be accommodated for my two-night stay. What a HUGE relief it was to me to arrive at this homey place after my tiring drive down from Seattle! I loved the flowers and the friendly welcome of the hosts, and the old motor court style is so fun -- you just drive right up to your room! There is nothing glamorous about the room decor, but it is charming and comfortable and clean, clean, clean, clean!!!! The bed was very comfortable. I LOVE that there is no icky motel carpeting; instead, they have clean hardwood-type floors. This is truly an oasis if you are passing through Southern Oregon. It's like going to your Aunt's house (if your Aunt doesn't have lots of cats and wake you up with her vacuuming.) I will definitely return.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mld_98070
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

392 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    279
    92
    15
    5
    1
See reviews for
79
177
57
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (130)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Redding
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2012

We have stayed at other older generation motels that have gotten a quaint face lift and appear more B & B than motel and loved them. So we were excited to read the reviews and were excited to stay at the Buona Sera Inn. They have done a lovely job of redecorating, the art work on the outside was done very well, the rooms are very clean. Our room had a kitchen area if someone wanted to cook while staying there. The problem was our reception. They were hesitant to honor the Trip Advisor coupon and from the start we felt like they thought we were trying to cheat them. Then the breakfast in the morning was stale and limited. I had brought back the muffin, coffee and banana to our room and my husband decided he wanted hot chocolate. When he went to the office, they said your wife has already been in and gotten you breakfast. And asked my husband why he was coming back for more. We felt like we were being watched carefully so that we wouldn't cheat them. There were only 2 rooms occupied that night--I know things are tough--but pleasant hospitality wasn't one of the things we experienced. We won't be going back.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank trav4hob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swansea, Illinois
Level Contributor
74 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2012

We stayed one night in an apartment with a living room, 2 bedrooms, and a kitchen because the other rooms with 2 beds were already taken. The place was absolutely spotless and comfortable and the owners are exceedingly friendly.The place is very well decorated with flowers everywhere.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Marcella101420
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Napa, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2012

An exceptional find in Grant's Pass. This cute and well restored mid-century hotel was reasonable priced, our room had an excellent bed and decor, and the helpful owner/hosts obviously take great pride in presenting a well thought out lodging. Without a doubt, this was also the cleanest hotel we have had the pleasure of staying in worldwide-the big chains should take a lesson! P.S. The pastries available at breakfast were wonderful, as was the coffee and tea selection.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ohia_one
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2012

We spent 3 nights with friends at this quaint historic Inn in downtown Grants Pass, Oregon. It has to be one of the cleanest establishments we have ever been in. The rooms are decorated beautifully and not a spec of dust to be found. They are a basic room but comfortable. The Inn Keepers, Peter and Irene and Noel (the poodle) make you feel like you are at home. They made us feel like family visiting them for the weekend. Though on a main street we didn't hear traffic noise at night. Staying at the Buona Sera Inn was a delight. Note--no pool.

Room Tip: Book early. King size beds are limited. I clicked that the swimming pool was terrible in error. T...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LucyNLoca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Olympia, Washington
Level Contributor
394 reviews
102 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 152 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2012

This is a good place to stay in Grants Pass. After reviewing hotel options on this site, triple a, and hotels.com I chose this hotel. Small rooms come with a kitchenette which is an added plus. Innkeepers are friendly and eager to make your stay pleasant.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WhirledTraveler4Peas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2012

Great owners, greeted us as we pulled up with poochie following
Great price- summer Saturday night..86.90 , 25 cheaper than chain hotels
Cute themed rooms, cute decorations, comfy bed, lil couch, fridge and micro. Ice by lobby
Easy parking, small lot, can see car from room
Close to many restaurants and downtown
Very funny sign on back of door warning guest that Ben gay usage will not be tolerated here folks
Irene was cool enough to find me bigger glasses for the whiskey I told I planned on drinking
Very clean, quiet and perfect place to crash when you are on the 5
We wil return if ever in the area again.
Stay here, it's worth very penny.

Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Zeeeeeleven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Grants Pass hotels
1.2 mi away
The Lodge at Riverside
The Lodge at Riverside
#2 of 18 in Grants Pass
4.5 of 5 bubbles 604 reviews
1.0 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Grants Pass
1.3 mi away
Riverside Inn
Riverside Inn
#4 of 18 in Grants Pass
4.0 of 5 bubbles 465 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Best Western Grants Pass Inn
Best Western Grants Pass Inn
#6 of 18 in Grants Pass
4.0 of 5 bubbles 487 reviews
0.6 mi away
Knight's Inn Motel
Knight's Inn Motel
#11 of 18 in Grants Pass
4.0 of 5 bubbles 44 reviews
0.2 mi away
Bestway Inn Grants Pass
Bestway Inn Grants Pass
#13 of 18 in Grants Pass
3.5 of 5 bubbles 51 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Buona Sera Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Buona Sera Inn

Property: Buona Sera Inn
Address: 1001 NE 6th St, Grants Pass, OR 97526-1113
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Oregon > Grants Pass
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 18 Hotels in Grants Pass
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated 15 minutes' walk from Grants Pass city centre, this charming motel offers a continental breakfast. Free Wi-Fi is included in each guest room. Grants Pass Golf Club is 5 miles away.Satellite TV is featured in all rooms at Buona Sera Inn. Comfortably furnished, each room is equipped with a fridge and microwave.Jet Boats, Wine Tours, and Top Rated Restaurants are minutes away from our location. Grants Pass is a great starting point for visiting everything Southern Oregon and Northern California has to offer! You must show a valid photo ID and credit card upon check-in. Please note that all special requests cannot be guaranteed and are subject to availability upon check-in. Additional charges may apply. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing