We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Charming Little Place...Clean as a Whistle!”
Review of Buona Sera Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Buona Sera Inn
Ranked #1 of 18 Hotels in Grants Pass
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 September 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Buono Sera in Grant's Pass with our little dog, Daisy. The room was more than perfect for our night on the road! A bedroom, bathroom and kitchen...all clean as could be. It's a cute, older place...owners lovely people. And the price was fantastic! Most important: peaceful sleep in a clean environment!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nostrovia1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (416)
There are newer reviews for Buona Sera Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

299 - 305 of 417 reviews

Reviewed 5 September 2013

The title of my review is intended to make the point that an experienced traveler's expectations should be consistent with the room rate being paid.

It had been years since my wife and I had stayed in any sort of motel. Over the years we have indulged ourselves with 5 Star hotels all over the world. However, we wanted to begin driving between Idaho and California and Grants Pass looked like an ideal half way point. Our goal in driving was to reduce costs. So for the first time ever, we selected the "budget" category of accommodations on TA rather than luxury accommodations. After reading the few negative TA reviews about Buona Sera, which I always do first, I had two concerns, noise and attitude at the front desk.

As well, I had my own concern over the issue over selecting a "budget motel" regarding the condition of the room and the cleanliness issue. My wife and I have run into mold in the corners of showers, even in rooms of supposed five star hotels costing five times as much as what we paid at Buona Sera, and that is a real "turn off."

On the issue of housekeeping, I would congratulate the management of Buona Sera. Even though the room, fixtures and even the the TV were dated, I looked and could not find any dirt, mold or unmaintained surfaces. To our delight, the floors of our room were hardwood and linoleum (in the bathroom) and immaculate. . . . every corner and crevice.

As for the negatives reported by other TA contributors, namely attitude at the desk and noise, it is impossible to know what may have led to the complaints of others about treatment but here is our experience. We arrived just before the office closed at 10:00 pm. The gentlemen in charge was welcoming and friendly, genuinely friendly. I expressed a concern about noise, because the motel is "U" shaped and the rooms on each end of the "U" front a busy street. The motel desk clerk, who could have been the owner or an employee (I didn't ask) said (without resistance) that the rooms on the south side of the motel, room #s 10 and higher back up to a secondary street with low traffic volume. He offered to give us a room at the same price as the room we had booked which was one removed from the main street even though he had already prepared the room we had booked. He was friendly, courteous and helpful. The room we ended up with, #10 was the same small size that we had booked, with a full size bed. It was a bit dated (unimportant) but spotless (extremely important). The room was quiet and the mattress was of good quality. Considering the room rate, the accommodations were exceptional.

As for breakfast, if full-featured, American or typical European breakfast is essential, then you need to stay elsewhere and pay more. We had a good cup of coffee available in the office of Buona Sera and there were muffins, sweet rolls and granola bars available.

We intend to make Buona Sera our regular stop between California and Idaho. It is a cute, pleasant, inexpensive and spotlessly maintained motel.

Room Tip: Room #s10 and higher back up to a side street and are probably better for light sleepers. But my be...
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TonyTraveler2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2013

We had come to Grants Pass for our 40th high school reunion. We were in need of a place that had a full kitchen and two bedrooms. The "Tuscany" room in the Buona Sera had a great kitchen and nice two bedrooms. It also had a livingroom. It was a very clean and comfortable stay. Nice change from the big chain motels. Wonderful air conditioning. The new owners are wonderful! Pasteries, fruit and single serve coffee maker are available each moring. Great to be able to pick the coffee you like. We will be returning for sure.

Room Tip: All rooms have a frig and microwave. This is a one story place so easy access. Only the "Tusc...
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DLSpuclats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2013

This motel proved to be just as clean and well furbished as described by previous reviewers. We were looking for something other than a basic motel and we found comfort and a good nights sleep at the Buona Sera Inn. We didn't expect such a great breakfast!! We traveled on, rested and well-fed!

Room Tip: We stayed in the Starry Night room. In the back and away from traffic noise; very large bathroom to...
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Karalee M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2013 via mobile

We stayed here on the way from LA to Seattle and will be back. Wonderful, friendly owners are all about customer service and hospitality. Super clean, inventive decor and we could park outside our room door. We felt safe and rested well. Great spot.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank normee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2013

This was a great choice when arranging our 4th anniversary trip to Grants Pass, and we'd give a 4 1/2 rating if possible. We planned a long weekend and were on a budget, so research was necessary to avoid being stuck with bad accommodations. Owners John and Mardie are awesome, and obviously really care about their establishment and clientele. The Buona Sera is an older motel that underwent a recent remodel and received a beautification award from the mayor. The property was very clean and our room was spotless-not a footprint, spider web, hair in the shower or speck of dust on the TV screen. The Pergo floor is better than carpet in a ground floor room in a motor inn. We stayed in #12, the Mona Lisa room (a Mona Lisa print is in order), and the themes are quaint indicators of pride of ownership. This room has a recessed front that is covered, with a cast iron table and chairs under the overhang. The room is quite small, with a large bathroom with a cozy but wonderful tile shower with an oversized showerhead and a height adjustment-I freeze in big showers. The towels were high quality real towels that matched the décor, not the usual white fare. Our brass bed was top-shelf; newer firm mattress w/a pillowtop. We had a fridge and microwave, but no coffee in the room (tasty coffee in the office). Older motels generally have a lack of sound-proofing and there is some noise intrusion; we slept with the AC fan on so there was no problem. The AC/heater is oversized for the unit and cools very well. The only drawbacks may be the lack of water amenities (pool/spa), cook to order breakfast, flat screen TVs, ice machine or vending machines, and some noise. You can get those things at the place down the road-and pay for them, too- and they are likely as noisy. Good city maps are available at the visitors center downtown, and it would be nice if there were some of them in the office. Considering the cleanliness, deceptively great location, fair rates and dedicated ownership, it is a great value. Not ideal for kids, but we feel other peoples children are grossly overrated, anyway. We'd not consider staying anywhere else upon our return.

Room Tip: GP desperately needs a noise ordinance for vehicles!!!! Many people in Grants Pass seem to have a t...
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JidnGlo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2013

We stayed one night in this motel as we were passing through Grants Pass. It was immaculate. You would be hard pressed to find a dirty spot in the room. The furniture seems antique and in excellent shape. It appears someone takes a lot of pride in their establishment. The room is not up I date but the meticulous care taken proves that you don't have to have everything new. The staff was friendly and helpful. The breakfast was fairly ordinary with just a few muffins, yogurt and fruit. It was a bit noisy early on the the evening from traffic noise but was quiet by 10 or 11. This is definitely a great place to stay over.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EliannaR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Grants Pass hotels
1.3 mi away
Riverside Inn
Riverside Inn
#4 of 18 in Grants Pass
523 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Lodge at Riverside
The Lodge at Riverside
#3 of 18 in Grants Pass
639 reviews
1.0 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Grants Pass
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Best Western Grants Pass Inn
Best Western Grants Pass Inn
#7 of 18 in Grants Pass
541 reviews
0.6 mi away
Knight's Inn Motel
Knight's Inn Motel
#11 of 18 in Grants Pass
60 reviews
0.9 mi away
Shilo Inn Grants Pass
Shilo Inn Grants Pass
#13 of 18 in Grants Pass
195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Buona Sera Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Buona Sera Inn

Address: 1001 NE 6th St, Grants Pass, OR 97526-1113
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Oregon > Grants Pass
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 18 Hotels in Grants Pass
Price Range: £47 - £80 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Buona Sera Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated 15 minutes' walk from Grants Pass city centre, this charming motel offers a continental breakfast. Free Wi-Fi is included in each guest room. Grants Pass Golf Club is 5 miles away.Satellite TV is featured in all rooms at Buona Sera Inn. Comfortably furnished, each room is equipped with a fridge and microwave.Jet Boats, Wine Tours, and Top Rated Restaurants are minutes away from our location. Grants Pass is a great starting point for visiting everything Southern Oregon and Northern California has to offer! You must show a valid photo ID and credit card upon check-in. Please note that all special requests cannot be guaranteed and are subject to availability upon check-in. Additional charges may apply. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Buona Sera Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing