We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“On the Roadwith Ester and Chester”
Review of Buona Sera Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Buona Sera Inn
Ranked #2 of 18 Hotels in Grants Pass
Certificate of Excellence
Bellingham, Washington
1 review
“On the Roadwith Ester and Chester”
Reviewed 20 April 2014

This vintage motel certainly met our expectations. We spent three nights in this spotlessly clean and nicely appointed room...located only minutes from downtown Grants Pass.The owners went out of their way to make our stay enjoyable. We will not hesitate to reccomend the Buena Sera to friends passing through Southern Oregon.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gary K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

405 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    287
    96
    16
    5
    1
See reviews for
83
182
59
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (132)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Chehalis
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2014

We spent one night in this hotel. It is a small, family-owned property. The building is older, but the hotel is clean and comfortable. The owners have obviously worked really hard to make it nice. The bed was good, the bathroom was spotlessly clean. The office closes at 10 p.m., but we weren't going to be able to arrive until about midnight. They had us ring the bell and they came up and let us in. Very nice people! We talked to them a bit more in the morning when we were checking out and they are super-friendly. They understand what good customer service is. We will stay here again if we get back to Grants Pass.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Terri P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Skull Valley, Arizona
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2014

The hotel is a gem. From the helpful service and great price to the sweet individually decorated rooms, you could not ask for more in a budget lodging. The owner/operators are part of the appeal, both were welcoming, friendly and very thoughtful. I was travelling alone and felt extremely safe. I suppose if you want a pool or hot tub, or to be in a wooded setting, you would need to book a more expensive property (think double the price!) but otherwise I cannot imagine a reason for staying anywhere else. The rooms may be small, but have everything you need for a quick, easy stay. I will definitely stay again and recommend this property whole-heartedly!

Room Tip: The rooms near the lobby are farthest from the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank elated2be1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rancho Belago,Ca
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2014

Just finished a 4 day return to my "home-away-from-home" as this is how I've come to feel about this "little gem". I decided to try one of the other "economy suite" (last stayed in "Starry Nights"). While staying in the "Park View", I enjoyed the extra room the "kitchenette area" afforded but would agree with some other reviewers, traffic noise more noticable in this location(especially with sound of snow tires on wet asphalt). The new owners were especially gracious and the Keurig coffee machine a fun way to experience new tastes. So often "motel coffee" has been sitting for some time and this allowed me to have hot chocolate before bed. Once again, great stay.

Room Tip: Very close to "Old Town Grants Pass"- don't miss the soda fountain in the pharmacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ca-native48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Albert, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2014

Definitely not your standard corporate chain. How many motel room microwaves incorporate a FM radio and a tape recorder? The bird cage (sans bird) on a shelf was a bit out of the ordinary but somehow fit the decor nicely. Each room is apparently different.

The owner operators were very friendly and accommodating, the premises spotless and well maintained. It's nice to escape the mundane uniformity of the chains once in a while.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank halotic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kirkland, Washington
1 review
Reviewed 26 January 2014

As we wer travelling from CA to WA we found this place. We enjoyed our stay and felt right at home.The folks were so nice and accomadating. The room was so clean, I felt like I was at a freinds home or B&B. The Sateen sheets and luxurious towels wer just like home. We will be back.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank momdragon2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cary, North Carolina
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 23 January 2014

I just can’t say enough about the wonderful experience my husband and I had while staying nine nights at the Buona Sera Inn. We had driven across the country from North Carolina and arrived at Buona Sera on December 8th—just a day after the snow/ice storm hit! What timing, huh? We had reserved a 2- bedroom unit with a kitchen, but we were unable to occupy the room for most of our stay. As a result of record-breaking low temperatures the motel suffered frozen pipes in several rooms, including the room we reserved. The pipes in the motel didn’t get fixed immediately because hundreds upon hundreds of homes and businesses in town experienced frozen pipes as well. It took days for things to thaw and get a plumber on site. So, we spent most of our stay in a very clean and nicely decorated single room. We were very comfortable. The owners at the motel, John and Mardie, were so sorry for the inconvenience, but it was really no inconvenience for us at all. That’s because John and Mardie checked with us every day to make sure we had everything we needed--from towels to information about the local area. I’m sure that the owners had to be extremely stressed out with all of the logistical problems they had to encounter in order to keep the motel running after such a crippling storm. But that didn’t stop them from being as friendly as anyone can be! There seemed to be nothing they wouldn’t be willing to do for us. They always greeting us and other guests with a genuine smile and took care of everyone else’s cares before their own. In short, they bent over backward to make sure we were enjoyed our stay. Weeks have now passed since we stayed there. I don’t look back upon it all and think so much about the icy streets and sidewalks and bitter cold. I look back and think more about what a safe and comfortable place my husband I stayed in and what kind and generous people there are out in the world.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EMROOZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Grants Pass hotels
1.3 mi away
Riverside Inn
Riverside Inn
#4 of 18 in Grants Pass
505 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Lodge at Riverside
The Lodge at Riverside
#3 of 18 in Grants Pass
629 reviews
1.0 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Grants Pass
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Knight's Inn Motel
Knight's Inn Motel
#11 of 18 in Grants Pass
56 reviews
1.5 mi away
Best Western Grants Pass Inn
Best Western Grants Pass Inn
#7 of 18 in Grants Pass
533 reviews
0.9 mi away
Shilo Inn Grants Pass
Shilo Inn Grants Pass
#13 of 18 in Grants Pass
191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Buona Sera Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Buona Sera Inn

Property: Buona Sera Inn
Address: 1001 NE 6th St, Grants Pass, OR 97526-1113
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Oregon > Grants Pass
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 18 Hotels in Grants Pass
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Buona Sera Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated 15 minutes' walk from Grants Pass city centre, this charming motel offers a continental breakfast. Free Wi-Fi is included in each guest room. Grants Pass Golf Club is 5 miles away.Satellite TV is featured in all rooms at Buona Sera Inn. Comfortably furnished, each room is equipped with a fridge and microwave.Jet Boats, Wine Tours, and Top Rated Restaurants are minutes away from our location. Grants Pass is a great starting point for visiting everything Southern Oregon and Northern California has to offer! You must show a valid photo ID and credit card upon check-in. Please note that all special requests cannot be guaranteed and are subject to availability upon check-in. Additional charges may apply. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Buona Sera Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing