We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bummer”
Review of Motel Del Rogue

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Grants Pass
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Motel Del Rogue
Ranked #8 of 18 Hotels in Grants Pass
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
California
Level 5 Contributor
90 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Bummer”
Reviewed 8 September 2013 via mobile

We were looking forward to staying here after a very long day on the road. The positive..the friendly and caring owners. We arrived late (didn't even go into our room due to time restraints) and they called the restaurant to tell them we were coming. Restarant (rivers edge) was fantastic and relaxing. We headed back to get a good nights sleep...ugh.... peeling ceiling paint in main room, mildew all over the bathroom ceiling , holes in bathroom screen so insects could enjoy our company, and 3 spiders greeted us! I made the mistake of looking in the cabinet under the bathroom sink for toilet paper...OMG..closed it quickly..not sure if it was dry rot or wet wood.
We are sad because Kevin, the owner was so nice and helpful. A little elbow gease, a lot of paint, and replacing tired old items and they would have a goldmune

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank momincv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
moteldelrogue, Owner at Motel Del Rogue, responded to this review, 23 September 2013
Dear Guest,

We totally understand your discomfort and are so sorry!

The previous owners had installed a hot water heater in the attic of your room (???) and it burst earlier this spring. We replaced it with a great tankless hot water system that supplies you with endless hot water and were not able to repair under the sink or the ceiling before our very busy season began. We did place a shelf in the bathroom for extra toilet paper and cleaned and dried under the sink. We then nailed the cabinet doors shut so that no one would have the experience that you did. Apparently we should have used bigger nails. Of course, this is just a stop gap measure and that bathroom is on our list to paint and remodel during the winter.

We thank you for your stay and for your understanding that we try very hard to make our rooms welcoming, clean and comfortable. We encourage your feedback when you are actually on the property. We will always put you in a different room or even at a different property to make you happy.

We do what we do because we think the Motel Del Rogue is special and we like to share it.

Sincerely Yours,

Constance, Kevin and Sylvia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

179 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    132
    31
    4
    8
    4
See reviews for
77
61
10
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Mass.
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2013

The pictures and reviews of the Motel Del Rogue were so appealing to me and my wife that I felt like there had to be a catch. But there isn't.

If luxury is your thing, look elsewhere. That's not what this place is about. The place has been around for a while, and looks it, but the buildings and landscaping are lovely in a low-key, organic kind of way. Inside, the decor and furniture is funky and homey, but everything is squeaky clean and in good working order. It feels welcoming and relaxed, more like a vacation home that's been in the family for generations than a typical motel.

Here's something that kind of typifies the place: when we first explored the kitchen in our two-room suite, we were confused because there was a coffee maker and coffee filters, but we didn't see any coffee. Then we noticed a Ball jar sitting near the coffee filters, and realized that it was full of freshly ground, high-quality coffee. That's the Motel Del Rogue: no fancy packaging, just straightforward hospitality at a high level.

Kevin, who runs the place, is a warm, friendly guy who seems to genuinely enjoy chatting with the guests. We highly recommend that you patronize his establishment. We will certainly find a reason to come back, and for more nights the next time.

Room Tip: We were in rooms 8 and 9 on the upper level of the two-story building nearest the office. Wonderful...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nightchef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
moteldelrogue, Owner at Motel Del Rogue, responded to this review, 28 August 2013
Dear Guest,

We are happy that you enjoyed your stay and appreciated what the Motel Del Rogue has to offer.

We work hard to keep the rooms as spotless and comfortable as possible even though it is an 80 year old property.

We used to bring our own coffee and a french press when we traveled so we definitely wanted to provide the locally roasted, organic fair-trade coffee to our guests.

It's people like you who keep us loving what we do.

Thanks! We hope that you will come back soon.

Constance, Kevin and Sylvia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fresno CA
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2013

If you are looking for a nice modern hotel, go somewhere else. However, I was looking for something a little different for this portion of our family vacation. We found the perfect spot. I call this place "funky", but in a completely adorable way. To start, Kevin greeted us with a smile outside the motel as we pulled in at 10:00 at night. He welcomed us right into our room where we had a good nights sleep. The next day we were able to explore the grounds. The motel backs up to the Rogue River with easy walking access down to the river. The entire back of the property along the river has lounge chairs, picnic tables and BBQs for the guests' use. There is a large grassy area with a volleyball net for the kids to play. The rooms are adorable in my opinion. Definitely a retro look with the furnishings, but clean and comfortable. We stayed in room 5 which has a separate bedroom with a queen bed, and a queen bed and trundle bed in the main room. The kitchen had everything you could need--refrigerator, microwave, coffee maker, table, etc. This room also had a covered porch overlooking the Rogue. My entire family LOVED this place. The best part was the hospitality of the owners Kevin and Constance. They went out of their way to make us comfortable. My husband is already talking about going back next year!

Room Tip: Make sure you get a room with a porch overlooking the Rogue.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Janice L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
moteldelrogue, Owner at Motel Del Rogue, responded to this review, 23 August 2013
Dear Janice,

You just made our day! When guests like you are happy it reminds us of why we do what we do. It goes both ways - we enjoy our guests and want them to feel at home here.

Thank you so much for helping us get the word out about our lovely spot on the Rogue River.

We are happy that your family was able to take advantage of the grounds, the river and enjoyed your stay at the Motel Del Rogue.

We look forward to your return!

Sincerely,

Constance, Kevin & Sylvia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
1 review
Reviewed 18 August 2013

This place is outstanding. Beautiful, unique, memorable, friendly, almost out of this world. It's folksy but hip, Americana but old world, inexpensive but retro chic. Each unit is a complete suite with kitchen, and individually decorated and cared for. It's everything a family owned business could hope to be. Quaint doesn't do it justice. It's one in a million.

If you're driving between San Francisco and Portland, it's the perfect place to stay. It's like a vacation every night you're here and it's just past half way, but in spirit—it's the best of both. Literate, even. How's that for a hotel review?

But yes, it's all that. Best hotel in the price range in town, by far. But as classic motels go, it's like a dream.

Room Tip: They have a small set of unique rooms and they are familiar with them all. They won't steer you...
See more room tips
Green Features: They are examples of thoughtful, responsible, environmentally run local and family run hotel owners.
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Journalish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
moteldelrogue, Owner at Motel Del Rogue, responded to this review, 23 August 2013
Dear Journalish,

We are delighted that you were delighted! Thank you.

We bought the Motel Del Rogue in 2000 - it had been remodeled in the late 1960's. The carpet was red and black shag, the curtains orange vinyl and the furniture 1970's hotel laminate. We tried to retrieve some of the history and yet modernize the comfort (new mattresses, laminate floors, organic fair-trade coffee etc.). We really tried to restore the integrity of the place.

Guests like you keep us energized and encouraged. You are why we are here!

Sincerely,

Constance, Kevin and Sylvia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Townsend, Washington
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2013

Owners were really friendly and welcoming. The rooms were homey bright and clean. You can see the rouge river out the window and its only a few steps away. Cabins were built in 1930s and the place still has an old world time forgotten feel.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Philip R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
moteldelrogue, Owner at Motel Del Rogue, responded to this review, 18 August 2013
We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay.

We always appreciate feedback and your comments help us to keep getting better.
Thank you!

Constance, Kevin and Sylvia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Medford, Oregon
1 review
Reviewed 13 August 2013

We loved our stay at the Motel Del Rogue. Having been previous small-hotel owners, we appreciated the quirky yet comfortable qualities, and the charm of the owners and their daughter. If you are looking for a 4 star exclusive hotel with spa bathrooms, this is not the place for you. But if you want a getaway where you can look out over the river from your room, your balcony, or riverside, this is IT! We liked our room--quirky furnishing, but that's fine with us. The room was very very clean. The bed was very very comfortable, and the linens were crisp and clean. The bathroom was small, but having experience in small hotels, this did not surprise or displease us--very period! The room had everything we needed, really, including a fridge. We loved the balcony and watching the river go by. A perfect place to have a drink and snacks or light takeout. We found it to be very quiet and relaxing, and slept very well. We would definitely go back!

Room Tip: Definitely get a upper floor room with balcony. They have photos of the rooms on their website, so y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SandyMW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Terre Haute, Indiana
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2013

I was really excited to stay at the Motel Del Rogue because of its location on the Rogue River and its good website. However, we were very disappointed with this motel. The only thing not disappointing about this stay was the owners who were exceptional... they were kind, warm, and enthusiastic. Our room was a different story. It was not inviting at all. Almost every square foot of floor space and wall space was covered with second-hand furnishings. It felt crowded, and none of the furniture was comfortable. The floor was covered in a wood laminate that was soft in many places, making one feel as though the floor might give way. The bathroom wasn't clean, with hairs on the toilet and sink. The towels and linens didn't smell fresh. And, worst of all was the noise. We stayed in a room on the first floor, and we could hear every footstep in the room above us. The floor was squeaky and the walls were thin. I complained to the owners about the noise and received 15% of the price, which I appreciated, but I would never stay here again given all the issues.

Room Tip: Rooms on the second floor are probably quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JLS1010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
moteldelrogue, Owner at Motel Del Rogue, responded to this review, 10 August 2013
Dear Previous Guest,

We are very sad that you were disappointed in your stay at the Motel Del Rogue. Had you come to us right away we would have been happy to move you to another room or even to another property. We would have done anything possible to rectify your problem. We only have two rooms that are downstairs from another room.

The room where you stayed had a plumbing issue recently and the floor warped. We will need to wait until the fall to repair it.

Many guests do not like scented laundry soap so we do not use it. We are very conscientious about washing all towels and bedding after every guest. We sanitize with steam and try hard to clean with detail. We apologize that your room was not cleaned to your or our standards.

Most of our guests appreciate the vintage furnishings and really enjoy the retro feel. We do find that some guests are used to a more cohesive decor that is found in a chain property. We do try to pre-warn our guests that we are not a "cookie cutter" lodging option.

We appreciate your feedback.

Sincerely,

Constance, Kevin and Sylvia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Grants Pass hotels
2.3 mi away
Riverside Inn
Riverside Inn
#4 of 18 in Grants Pass
505 reviews
2.1 mi away
The Lodge at Riverside
The Lodge at Riverside
#3 of 18 in Grants Pass
630 reviews
2.4 mi away
Buona Sera Inn
Buona Sera Inn
#2 of 18 in Grants Pass
405 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Grants Pass
1.0 mi away
Best Western Grants Pass Inn
Best Western Grants Pass Inn
#7 of 18 in Grants Pass
533 reviews
2.2 mi away
Knight's Inn Motel
Knight's Inn Motel
#11 of 18 in Grants Pass
56 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Motel Del Rogue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel Del Rogue

Property: Motel Del Rogue
Address: 2600 Rogue River Highway, Grants Pass, OR 97526
Region: United States > Oregon > Grants Pass
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Grants Pass
#5 Family Hotel in Grants Pass
#5 Romantic Hotel in Grants Pass
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 15
Also Known As:
Hotel Del Rogue
Del Rogue Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing