We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cozy, cute, clean and comfy.”
Review of Motel Del Rogue

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Grants Pass
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Motel Del Rogue
Ranked #8 of 18 Hotels in Grants Pass
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 2 October 2013

My family of 5 adults stayed at The Motel del Rogue in August 2013. I think we stayed in room 3, which isn't on the river but was perfect for us! My husband and I had our own room, the three adult children stayed in the other room together and watched tv and chatted etc.There are tons of games in a closet. The kitchen was perfectly outfitted, for a long stay even. There are bbqs, chairs and chaises down near the river, Really cozy fun after a day rafting on The Rogue!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Welink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
moteldelrogue, Owner at Motel Del Rogue, responded to this reviewResponded 5 October 2013

We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay. when families like you are able to be comfortable and happy we feel that all of our hard work is worth it.

Thanks. We hope that you will be able to return one day.

Constance, Kevin and Sylvia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (181)
There are newer reviews for Motel Del Rogue
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

63 - 69 of 181 reviews

Reviewed 21 September 2013

Step back into a little piece of Heaven...where the air is easier to breathe, the gentle sound of the river and crickets lull you to sleep, and the rustic atmosphere is soothing to the soul...and you'll find Motel Del Rogue. It is wonderful to step back into time before all the noise of the modern world.

Our family stays at this motel whenever we come to visit. We've found the proprietors to be friendly, helpful and very accommodating. The rooms are clean, comfortable and the rates reasonable. My husband and I first rented room 4 and were so thrilled with the atmosphere, cleanliness and wonderful service, that whenever we travel to Grants Pass, this is where we stay.

Being animal lovers, we particularly loved the visits from their kitties

We would highly recommend your stay here.

Room Tip: Any of the cabins are wonderful, and they can accommodate large families as well.
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jenny F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
moteldelrogue, Owner at Motel Del Rogue, responded to this reviewResponded 23 September 2013

We are so delighted that you keep coming back!

We try so hard to make this a home away from home and feel gratified when people feel so comfortable.

Thank you so much.

You are the reason that we do what we do.

Sincerely,

Constance, Kevin and Sylvia
(and the kitties)

PS: We inherited 17 feral cats when we bought the Motel Del Rogue 13 years ago. We have spade and neutered 24 and are down to 10 - no babies in 4 years. It has been a real challenge.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2013

We haven't stayed in Grants Pass before, but we do like rustic Americana style motels. so we went to our favorite site "Trip Advisor" and picked Motel Del Rogue on Hiway 99 over the bridge. Kevin and Sylvia couldn't be nicer and we were thrilled with our room 7. Right on Rogue River. (Yes, a little quieter stretch), but nice deck and chairs, lots of trees. Full kitchen and a second bed for my late night reading jags! Yes, it's older, but so cozy. And clean. Staying two nights so we can take in Jacksonville, Or. And two flat screen TV's to watch the Ducks football game!

Room Tip: Go online and check photos first, do your research. It is down away from the hiway. We had picked r...
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lovestotravelx2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
moteldelrogue, Owner at Motel Del Rogue, responded to this reviewResponded 5 October 2013

Thank you for your nice comments. This section of the Rogue is unusually quiet and pretty.
Sometimes our proximity to Highway 99 makes people think it will be noisy. In reality it is only a 45mph two lane road and we sit down closer to the river than to the road.

It is also nice for us to see people enjoying the decks.

We hope that you will come back.

Constance, Kevin and Sylvia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2013

Very quaint place, reasonable rates. We booked a single room with queen bed and when we arrived, we were upgraded to a 2-bedroom with kitchenette. Nice outdoor deck with tables and chairs. woodsy and clean. Right on the Rogue River. I'm sitting here right now looking at the geese and watching the occasional river rafts pass by. The manager\owner (not sure which) is so friendly and accommodating. Definitely a place to return to. The only downside is nearest restaurant about 1/2 mile down the road. There is also a good deli 1/4 mile away. We enjoyed deli sandwiches while sitting outside on the deck. Weather is sunny and warm in the 80's.

Room Tip: opt for the upgrade to upper room. nice river view.
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SueDE2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
moteldelrogue, Owner at Motel Del Rogue, responded to this reviewResponded 23 September 2013

We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay and are willing to share your experience.

Our policy is to always upgrade if we have the room.
We love that our guests love our beautiful property, rustic, historic rooms and attention to cleanliness and detail.

Thank you so much,

We enjoyed having you here!

Constance, Kevin and Sylvia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2013

I had been looking for a place for us to stay just as a stopover driving from Sacramento to Gold Beach, OR. The chain hotels were nearly the same cost as this darling place, and I'd much prefer to keep a Mom and Pop place going than the big corp hotel. We were due to arrive after 9ish. We gave them a call from the road to let them know and they were aware and so friendly and kind. As you drive in their driveway, it's like the sweetest little park, sitting area in the middle, lush and green. Anyhoo, we pulled up and walked in the office and we were greeted like family. Got the paperwork done quickly and was told our room was right next door. The motel kitty, Fillibuster followed us in and gave us a quick tour. Cute little room-think the sweetest room in your grandma's house. Fireplace, queen sized bed, cute mini kitchen with yummy fresh smelling coffee awaiting a brew with all the accoutrements like cream (in the fridge) and a variety of sugars, teas and hot chocolate. Nice little bathroom, but the best part, and we didn't really have a long enough stop over to enjoy it was the covered patio overlooking the Rogue River. Oh bliss!! I want to go back. Oh, the sheets on the bed were wonderful, like ones you have at home, again not like the ones at the aforementioned chain hotels... : ) If you're looking for a place that has charm, no workout area, but also doesn't take your credit card until you're leaving, please stay here. You won't regret it...

Room Tip: I believe we were in Room 4, I think it's the only one that has a covered porch overlooking the...
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank timskim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
moteldelrogue, Owner at Motel Del Rogue, responded to this reviewResponded 11 September 2013

Dear Previous Guest,

We are sad, too, that you did not enjoy your stay. Yes, your bathroom is on our list of winter projects. The previous owners had placed the hot water heater in the attic and it leaked. We replaced it with a Tankless On-Demand Hot Water Heater and have not, yet, remodeled the bathroom. Your extra toilet paper was placed on a shelf - not under the sink - so that you would be able to access it without opening the cabinet. Thank you for reminding us that it should be in clearer view and that the bathroom should remain on the top of our repair list.

Our potential "gold mine" has been in operation for over 80 years and was in terrible disrepair when we bought it. We saw the beauty and the potential and we truly bust out the elbow grease and effort every single day to try to make it the best that it can be for our guests. It can be daunting, but we persevere. We know that there is always more to do and want to have your feedback.

We wish that you had told us of your concerns. We will always do anything to please our guests. We would have been happy to move you to another room or even to another property.

We are glad that you appreciated that we managed to have the River's Edge Restaurant stay open to accommodate you and that you enjoyed it.

Thank you for acknowledging Kevin's hospitality as well. It is his passion and he really loves his guests.

We hope that you will keep in touch with our reviews and perhaps come back another time.

Thank you for your stay and your input.

Sincerely,

Constance, Kevin and Sylvia Marr

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2013 via mobile

We were looking forward to staying here after a very long day on the road. The positive..the friendly and caring owners. We arrived late (didn't even go into our room due to time restraints) and they called the restaurant to tell them we were coming. Restarant (rivers edge) was fantastic and relaxing. We headed back to get a good nights sleep...ugh.... peeling ceiling paint in main room, mildew all over the bathroom ceiling , holes in bathroom screen so insects could enjoy our company, and 3 spiders greeted us! I made the mistake of looking in the cabinet under the bathroom sink for toilet paper...OMG..closed it quickly..not sure if it was dry rot or wet wood.
We are sad because Kevin, the owner was so nice and helpful. A little elbow gease, a lot of paint, and replacing tired old items and they would have a goldmune

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank momincv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
moteldelrogue, Owner at Motel Del Rogue, responded to this reviewResponded 23 September 2013

Dear Guest,

We totally understand your discomfort and are so sorry!

The previous owners had installed a hot water heater in the attic of your room (???) and it burst earlier this spring. We replaced it with a great tankless hot water system that supplies you with endless hot water and were not able to repair under the sink or the ceiling before our very busy season began. We did place a shelf in the bathroom for extra toilet paper and cleaned and dried under the sink. We then nailed the cabinet doors shut so that no one would have the experience that you did. Apparently we should have used bigger nails. Of course, this is just a stop gap measure and that bathroom is on our list to paint and remodel during the winter.

We thank you for your stay and for your understanding that we try very hard to make our rooms welcoming, clean and comfortable. We encourage your feedback when you are actually on the property. We will always put you in a different room or even at a different property to make you happy.

We do what we do because we think the Motel Del Rogue is special and we like to share it.

Sincerely Yours,

Constance, Kevin and Sylvia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2013

The pictures and reviews of the Motel Del Rogue were so appealing to me and my wife that I felt like there had to be a catch. But there isn't.

If luxury is your thing, look elsewhere. That's not what this place is about. The place has been around for a while, and looks it, but the buildings and landscaping are lovely in a low-key, organic kind of way. Inside, the decor and furniture is funky and homey, but everything is squeaky clean and in good working order. It feels welcoming and relaxed, more like a vacation home that's been in the family for generations than a typical motel.

Here's something that kind of typifies the place: when we first explored the kitchen in our two-room suite, we were confused because there was a coffee maker and coffee filters, but we didn't see any coffee. Then we noticed a Ball jar sitting near the coffee filters, and realized that it was full of freshly ground, high-quality coffee. That's the Motel Del Rogue: no fancy packaging, just straightforward hospitality at a high level.

Kevin, who runs the place, is a warm, friendly guy who seems to genuinely enjoy chatting with the guests. We highly recommend that you patronize his establishment. We will certainly find a reason to come back, and for more nights the next time.

Room Tip: We were in rooms 8 and 9 on the upper level of the two-story building nearest the office. Wonderful...
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nightchef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
moteldelrogue, Owner at Motel Del Rogue, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2013

Dear Guest,

We are happy that you enjoyed your stay and appreciated what the Motel Del Rogue has to offer.

We work hard to keep the rooms as spotless and comfortable as possible even though it is an 80 year old property.

We used to bring our own coffee and a french press when we traveled so we definitely wanted to provide the locally roasted, organic fair-trade coffee to our guests.

It's people like you who keep us loving what we do.

Thanks! We hope that you will come back soon.

Constance, Kevin and Sylvia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Grants Pass hotels
2.3 mi away
Riverside Inn
Riverside Inn
#4 of 18 in Grants Pass
523 reviews
2.1 mi away
The Lodge at Riverside
The Lodge at Riverside
#3 of 18 in Grants Pass
639 reviews
3.0 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Grants Pass
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Buona Sera Inn
Buona Sera Inn
#1 of 18 in Grants Pass
416 reviews
1.0 mi away
Best Western Grants Pass Inn
Best Western Grants Pass Inn
#7 of 18 in Grants Pass
541 reviews
2.2 mi away
Knight's Inn Motel
Knight's Inn Motel
#10 of 18 in Grants Pass
60 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Motel Del Rogue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel Del Rogue

Address: 2600 Rogue River Highway, Grants Pass, OR 97526
Region: United States > Oregon > Grants Pass
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Grants Pass
#5 Family Hotel in Grants Pass
#5 Romantic Hotel in Grants Pass
Price Range: £67 - £107 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 15
Also Known As:
Hotel Del Rogue
Del Rogue Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing