We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“what a great place to stay”
Review of Motel Del Rogue

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Grants Pass
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Motel Del Rogue
Ranked #8 of 18 Hotels in Grants Pass
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 2 November 2013

This is one of the nicest places we have stayed...The owners and the help make this a great place to stay when you vist Grants Pass. Don't over look staying here when you visit this part of Oregon..
The prices are excellent and my wife and I know you will have a wonderful time at your stay and don't forget your camera.

Room Tip: Spend your time on the river front
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 599pat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (181)
There are newer reviews for Motel Del Rogue
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

59 - 65 of 181 reviews

Reviewed 28 October 2013

This is a rustic motel, and very charming. The owners have put a lot of work and money into it to make it a wonderful experience: several rooms back up to the river and they have private balconies overlooking it, with a table and chairs.

We had a bedroom, along with a kitchen, complete with a large refrigerator. A partition separated the kitchen from another bed- we used it as a mini-livingroom as it had a nice-sized flat screen tv; the bedroom had one also, and there were plenty of cable channels!

We stayed a few days, but had to leave the motel the night before my birthday because of new guests coming in. We had to leave the larger room the night before we left because of new guests, but the smaller accommodation was darling with a small kitchenette- and its own balcony with a river view as well.

The motel is a work in progress-- working on our own 979 sq ft little house in Thousand Oaks, CA is costing an arm and a couple of legs, so it doesn't take a lot of imagination to guess what putting back together an 80-year-old building next to a river must cost both in labor and money. I don't know about Kevin and Constance
's situation but it can sure take a lot of borrowing to make a place comfortable and homey.

Our little Chihuahua loved it- could tell by the kind of tail-wagging and the lack of barking to which he is usually prone.

Constance introduced us to maybe the best health food store in the universe, as well-Gooseberries! Her daughter's tennis instructor where we could see deer at this time of the year (which we did, every day :o) ).

If I can squeeze enough out of a refi of a reverse mortgage, I sure hope to come back in 2014!

And if we win Publishers Clearing House $7k-a-week-for-life I would sure love to donate enough to Kevin and family to help them fix the place up to their hearts' desire (might even get us the same 2 -room accommodation :o) )!

Room Tip: We were looking for something with cooking facilities that had some atmosphere and a rival motel dir...
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Saronne1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
moteldelrogue, Owner at Motel Del Rogue, responded to this reviewResponded 31 October 2013

Dear Saronne1,

We love to know that our guests are comfortable when they are here and want to return when they leave.

That is why we are here.

You are right - the amount of money, time and effort to resurrect an old gem is astounding. We had no idea and just keep trying to hang on and make it better as we are able. Thank you for noticing and enjoying all of our hard work.

We hope to see you again.

Safe travels,

Constance, Kevin & Sylvia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2013

It's quite inexpensive, it's a very, very old building in which everything works like it was built yesterday. Good bed, and a deck outside over the Rogue river with the fridge and microwave included on the deck. Nothing to gripe about here at all. Would be great for a couple as well as singles, and I understand that they have suites, but I was alone so I don't know.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank retired_old_jj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
moteldelrogue, Owner at Motel Del Rogue, responded to this reviewResponded 31 October 2013

Dear retired_old_jj,

It was nice to have you here and great that you enjoyed your stay.

Thank you so much for the feedback. We really want to know what our guests feel about the Motel Del Rogue.

We hope to see you again.

Safe Travels.

Constance, Kevin and Sylvia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2013

We have been coming to the Motel del Rogue for several years as a pre-vacation decompression on the Rogue river before we hit the high pressure vacationing world of the Oregon Shakespeare Festival.
Constance and Kevin are consummate hosts. Sylvia is quite a bonus! Friendly and informative with an addition of stimulating discussion. The grounds are excellent. We stay in one of several rooms that have a large deck for breakfast overlooking the peace of the Rogue River, and we have dinners on the extensive lawn, cooked on the provided barbecues, sitting at one of the many tables, watching the birds fly by as the sun ebbs. It is sweet! Wine touring in the Applegate valley by day, gourmet (albeit self-cooked) meals by night.
The rooms we have stayed in come with kitchens, gourmet coffee and eclectic 60's retro decor. It just feels very good to be there.

Room Tip: Ask for what you want. Deck on the river? Separate bedrooms? Living area, kitchen? They have it...
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Linda R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
moteldelrogue, Owner at Motel Del Rogue, responded to this reviewResponded 31 October 2013

Dear Linda R,

It makes us feel so good to see families on the deck, in the yard, down by the river...

We wanted the Motel Del Rogue to feel like home and for our guests to have anything that they need to enjoy this amazing spot.

We hope to see you, again, soon!

Constance, Kevin and Sylvia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2013

My family of 5 adults stayed at The Motel del Rogue in August 2013. I think we stayed in room 3, which isn't on the river but was perfect for us! My husband and I had our own room, the three adult children stayed in the other room together and watched tv and chatted etc.There are tons of games in a closet. The kitchen was perfectly outfitted, for a long stay even. There are bbqs, chairs and chaises down near the river, Really cozy fun after a day rafting on The Rogue!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Welink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
moteldelrogue, Owner at Motel Del Rogue, responded to this reviewResponded 5 October 2013

We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay. when families like you are able to be comfortable and happy we feel that all of our hard work is worth it.

Thanks. We hope that you will be able to return one day.

Constance, Kevin and Sylvia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2013

Step back into a little piece of Heaven...where the air is easier to breathe, the gentle sound of the river and crickets lull you to sleep, and the rustic atmosphere is soothing to the soul...and you'll find Motel Del Rogue. It is wonderful to step back into time before all the noise of the modern world.

Our family stays at this motel whenever we come to visit. We've found the proprietors to be friendly, helpful and very accommodating. The rooms are clean, comfortable and the rates reasonable. My husband and I first rented room 4 and were so thrilled with the atmosphere, cleanliness and wonderful service, that whenever we travel to Grants Pass, this is where we stay.

Being animal lovers, we particularly loved the visits from their kitties

We would highly recommend your stay here.

Room Tip: Any of the cabins are wonderful, and they can accommodate large families as well.
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jenny F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
moteldelrogue, Owner at Motel Del Rogue, responded to this reviewResponded 23 September 2013

We are so delighted that you keep coming back!

We try so hard to make this a home away from home and feel gratified when people feel so comfortable.

Thank you so much.

You are the reason that we do what we do.

Sincerely,

Constance, Kevin and Sylvia
(and the kitties)

PS: We inherited 17 feral cats when we bought the Motel Del Rogue 13 years ago. We have spade and neutered 24 and are down to 10 - no babies in 4 years. It has been a real challenge.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2013

We haven't stayed in Grants Pass before, but we do like rustic Americana style motels. so we went to our favorite site "Trip Advisor" and picked Motel Del Rogue on Hiway 99 over the bridge. Kevin and Sylvia couldn't be nicer and we were thrilled with our room 7. Right on Rogue River. (Yes, a little quieter stretch), but nice deck and chairs, lots of trees. Full kitchen and a second bed for my late night reading jags! Yes, it's older, but so cozy. And clean. Staying two nights so we can take in Jacksonville, Or. And two flat screen TV's to watch the Ducks football game!

Room Tip: Go online and check photos first, do your research. It is down away from the hiway. We had picked r...
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lovestotravelx2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
moteldelrogue, Owner at Motel Del Rogue, responded to this reviewResponded 5 October 2013

Thank you for your nice comments. This section of the Rogue is unusually quiet and pretty.
Sometimes our proximity to Highway 99 makes people think it will be noisy. In reality it is only a 45mph two lane road and we sit down closer to the river than to the road.

It is also nice for us to see people enjoying the decks.

We hope that you will come back.

Constance, Kevin and Sylvia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Grants Pass hotels
2.3 mi away
Riverside Inn
Riverside Inn
#4 of 18 in Grants Pass
523 reviews
2.1 mi away
The Lodge at Riverside
The Lodge at Riverside
#3 of 18 in Grants Pass
639 reviews
3.0 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Grants Pass
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Buona Sera Inn
Buona Sera Inn
#1 of 18 in Grants Pass
416 reviews
1.0 mi away
Best Western Grants Pass Inn
Best Western Grants Pass Inn
#7 of 18 in Grants Pass
541 reviews
2.2 mi away
Knight's Inn Motel
Knight's Inn Motel
#10 of 18 in Grants Pass
60 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Motel Del Rogue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel Del Rogue

Address: 2600 Rogue River Highway, Grants Pass, OR 97526
Region: United States > Oregon > Grants Pass
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Grants Pass
#5 Romantic Hotel in Grants Pass
#5 Family Hotel in Grants Pass
Price Range: £67 - £107 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 15
Also Known As:
Hotel Del Rogue
Del Rogue Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing