We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent hotel right on the river”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Lodge at Riverside
Ranked #3 of 18 Hotels in Grants Pass
Certificate of Excellence
massachusetts
Level Contributor
89 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel right on the river”
Reviewed 7 September 2013

We stayed at the Lodge at Riverside for one night as part of a lengthy road trip through California and Oregon. As we could not get a room at the Crater Lake Lodge even 6 months in advance, we chose to stay here one night, drive to Crater lake for much of the day, then drive to our next hotel in Roseburg. It was a good plan. This hotel is really nice, the rooms were well appointed, the location with the riverside pool and spa was superb, the staff were very nice and friendly, and they had yummy chocolate chip cookies and milk at night. Really an excellent hotel. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nottnott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

611 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    416
    149
    35
    5
    6
See reviews for
177
223
30
94
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (182)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
Reviewed 4 September 2013

This was one of the hotels we stayed on a trip from Portland to San Francisco. The hotel was immaculately clean, set in a beautiful area and included a wine reception, milk and cookies and a very nice breakfast. But the most impressive part was the staff. They were so accommodating, not just one staff member, but all 4 that we met during our 3 day stay: Jessie, Katrina, Aaron and Michelle. Spectacular service!

Room Tip: Get the river view room - well worth the extra $20-30.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank darlene j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Corvallis
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 3 September 2013

Lots of nice updates to an older property right on the river. The room was spacious and comfortable, and the view was fabulous. The staff really took good care of us and even brought fresh baked cookies out to the kids by the pool since they had missed them in the lobby! We stayed in the spring and didn't have any problems with noise at all.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michelle N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Olympia, Washington
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2013

If you want to be drunk, loud, and party all night, this is the spot! Management leaves at 11 pm and you can be do anything you want all night long. If you love loud country music at the first light of dawn, they got you covered. They have a number to call (541-476-6873) after hours to a sister property if any problems occur, this will get a few moments of quiet. When the poor staff person leaves, it starts again. Large groups partying in the parking lot, the hallways, rooms, slamming doors, yelling, crying, fighting. Good times for the party crowd, not so good for a family with a 7 month old baby.

Room Tip: parking lot side rooms have a view of the drunk partying by the cars, the river side rooms have loud...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mmkiss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tamara B, General Manager at The Lodge at Riverside, responded to this review, 5 September 2013
We deeply regret that you did not have a quiet and relaxing stay with us. As you can see by other reviewers, that is not the typical experience at The Lodge at Riverside. Unfortunately, the night that you stayed with us, we did have a couple rooms that were disrespectful to the fact that there were other guests at the hotel and did not care how loud or late into the night they had their fun. Immediately upon receiving the noise complaint, staff from the Riverside Inn (the after-hours contact) called security, who responded and insisted that the party be stopped and everyone return to their rooms. Please know that this type of behavior is not tolerated at The Lodge at Riverside and staff and security respond to any after-hours needs immediately. Again we apologize that this was your experience and wish that you would give us another chance. Sincerely, the staff and management of The Lodge at Riverside
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nc
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 August 2013

The staff at The Lodge at Riverside were so over the top nice and accommodating to us. I am gluten, dairy and egg free for allergy reasons, and I put that in my comments in their reservation form (expecting nothing, just thought I'd mention in case they have items that work for me); the night before our arrival I got a call on my cell phone wondering what they could purchase for me at the grocery store. Literally! A team of three of them planned special muffins, purchased them, bought 2x the supply needed, and greeted me by name and reminded me where to find them etc. Could not believe it.

The Lodge itself is quite nice, a neat location on the river, an enjoyable walk to the cute downtown area. Perhaps stop in Grants Pass. Thanks Lodge team!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kate K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
329 reviews
109 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 200 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2013

There is much to like at this hotel. The staff are, without exception, friendly and helpful. The rooms are, while a little dated, spacious and very clean. The hotel's owners have a done a really impressive job of adding on a lounge to give the hotel some character. The downsides are firstly the price. Its popularity means that it is able to command top prices for what is on offer and that doesn't really add up. I should add that my tip for getting the best price is to go through your rafting company, they will get you the best price.

The second downside is the breakfasts. Provided in a characterless building, the breakfast offering is really poor. Lots of hotels cannot run to a chef for breakfast but that is no excuse for the poor choice and mediocre quality of the food on offer here. Despite really nice staff serving the breakfast, the overall experience was on par with the very worst chain hotel.

Despite all of this, the Lodge is worth a visit. Just do not overpay and look elsewhere for breakfast.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank UKJohnN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salem, Oregon, United States
Level Contributor
123 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2013

We were greeted by very friendly staff and found that every interaction we had with the staff at The Lodge was top notch. We stayed in one of the master king suites. It has plenty of space, a nice jetted top, a nice deck looking out over the river and park. It was quite and relaxing. While we ran out of time and didn't have time to use the pool and hot tub our room overlooked the hot tub and was just a few steps away from the pool as well. The wine happy hour was nice and we enjoyed the breakfast they provided as well. After a long day of driving we really liked the fact that we were able to walk across the street to the taprock and have dinner on the deck overlooking the river. If you are going to take advantage of the Hellgate Jet boat rides your in the perfect spot because they load the boat just across the street. We will be back!

Room Tip: The master king suite was really big. In the future for two people I would probably just rent a kin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paula M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Grants Pass hotels
0.2 mi away
Riverside Inn
Riverside Inn
#4 of 18 in Grants Pass
4.0 of 5 bubbles 483 reviews
1.2 mi away
Buona Sera Inn
Buona Sera Inn
#1 of 18 in Grants Pass
4.5 of 5 bubbles 395 reviews
2.2 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Grants Pass
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Best Western Grants Pass Inn
Best Western Grants Pass Inn
#6 of 18 in Grants Pass
4.0 of 5 bubbles 508 reviews
0.6 mi away
Knight's Inn Motel
Knight's Inn Motel
#11 of 18 in Grants Pass
4.0 of 5 bubbles 47 reviews
8.0 mi away
Best Western Inn at the Rogue
Best Western Inn at the Rogue
#2 of 18 in Grants Pass
4.5 of 5 bubbles 738 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lodge at Riverside? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lodge at Riverside

Property: The Lodge at Riverside
Address: 955 SE 7th St, Grants Pass, OR 97526-3103
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Oregon > Grants Pass
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Grants Pass
#2 Romantic Hotel in Grants Pass
#2 Family Hotel in Grants Pass
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Lodge at Riverside 3*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lodge at Riverside is located along the scenic Rogue River just 2 miles from Interstate 5, convenient to Hellgate Jetboat Excursions, downtown shopping, Historic G Street and Applegate Valley wineries.We offer 33 oversized guestrooms and suites, most with private patios or balconies facing the Rogue River. All rooms feature pillow top beds with feather duvets, robes, iron and ironing boards, hairdryers, coffee makers, air conditioning and refrigerators. Complimentary parking, wireless Internet, cable TV with HBO and local phone calls.All accommodations include an evening wine reception, fresh baked cookies and full hot breakfast.The Lodge also offers meeting and event facilities for up to 300 people. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Ebookers, Agoda, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Lodge at Riverside reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Lodge At Riverside Hotel Grants Pass
Hotel At Riverside

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing