We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“DISGUSTED”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Motel 6 Gresham City Center
Ranked #7 of 11 Hotels in Gresham
Tigard, Oregon
1 review
“DISGUSTED”
Reviewed 7 January 2010

booked this hotel off hotwire.com... so i guess this is what happens when you go in blind... when we got there the staff was rude upon arrival.. asked us for our credit card we asked why as it has already been paid by hotwire.com... We need to have the credit card on file so we can charge you for any damages and also since we have only 2 beds rooms only ,if that bed is messed up we can charge you for an extra 10 dollars.. what i said are u kidding me??? and they also took copies of our ID'S ... what is up with that i thought also.. the breakfast was nasty, our room was not up to standards.. we had an out side cracked window.. so if we were to open the window for fresh air the other one would fall in... then the safe we could no get opened so they had to come and reprograme it and that seemed like a hastle.. and then we had troubles with the tv being all fuzzy... they explained that they have sattilite tv... Ok well as well as the rest of the sattalite view population as i may say have way over 16 channels... so the guy came and program the tv again and no change asked him if he was aware of the broken window yea yea yea i am... no chage to u... i hope to shout not... the worst place i have ever stayed....i can keep going on and on... i would not recommend this too no one... will i guess you get what u pay for...

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mermaid2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

128 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    8
    25
    44
    20
    31
See reviews for
53
27
16
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 December 2009

This hotel was at a great location, lots of food around, so we didn't really have to cook. There's also a Safeway nearby, so it was also easy to get groceries.

The outside, it looks like a motel, but in the inside it looks just fine. In the room, it was very dim, the bathroom was very bright, but all in the main living area in every room was just lamps, lamps, and more lamps. The reviews said that the tv's there only had a few channels, but they upgraded it into a comcast box with like 60 channels, so we were entertained while our stay.

The breakfast was small, but it was enough to fill us up, you can make your own waffle, fresh orange juice and coffee, bread with assorted spreads, and cereal & milk. With the make your own waffle, they only have 2 cups and then you have to ask the front desk for more and it will take 5-7 min, so make sure your eating while your waiting because the best food there is would be, the waffles.

Enjoy your stay...

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OutletTripster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix
1 review
Reviewed 16 July 2009

We booked this hotel in advance because we knew we'd be arriving late. If we had seen the place in person before booking we probably would have stayed elsewhere. I thought Howard Johnson hotels were up scale places but not this one. It looks like a motel on the outside. They photo copy your ID when you check in, what's up with that?

The room was very large with lots of space to spread out. The bed was comfortable, the room was quiet and the staff was friendly.

Now the bad news: Clues like juice stains in the ice bucket and stains in the tub made us wonder if the cleaning staff did more than a quick rush through the room. The lights in the room were very dim -- probably to help hide things like worn carpet and broken towel bar. They use CFL bulbs but need brighter bulbs so people can actually see. The place is old and needs to be renovated. The pool is only open during daylight because there is not pool light.

The price was right but I wouldn't come back.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mnmPhoenix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fairbanks, Alaska
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2009

This hotel is about a bllock from the light rail station to the city. Since Portland's mass transit is excellent, it more than compensates for the distance fromt he city. The hotel it self is not fancy, but the room met my needs, the bed was very comfortable. When I told the front desk I booked a room with a refrigerator and microwave, and there was not one in the room,within a half hour both were brought to my room. There was a room safe in the room big enough for my laptop when I was away at my seminiar. Two small quibbles though; an obession with low wattage bulbs throughout the hotel and in the room.. I would have liked a brighter light in the room,and the hours for the breakfast were from 7-9. They should be at least a half hour earlier . Restaurants not a problem here,and there is a Safeway Supermarket right across the street. The fitness center needs serious work..just passable

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jvh54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oregon
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 31 March 2009

My husband, four year old son and my father came down to Gresham for a horse show this last weekend and left with a horrible taste, It started off wrong as I could not understand the woman taking my reservation. It got worse from there. My son had an accident on the bed, which happens when introduced to the unfamiliar at nights, the bed was lined. We had cleaned the spot and requested new sheets. The maid and this creepy man with a thick gold chain started inspecting the dirty sheets, the accident DID NOT seep through onto the mattress, which again, wwaas lined. The creepy man came into our room, without permisson and started ranting in front of my four year old about "all the pee pee all over" my son started crying embarrased and this man turned to us and said "he should be in diaper". The next day I went in to get breakfast for my elderly father who could not walk as fas as the lobby was. There were signs saying "do not take food to you room" blah blah, i made a plate for my dad and went to the desk and told him I was bringing to my room due to the fact that he could not walk that far. The creepy man started in on how I should pay for the bed and then blamed me for peeing the bed!!! It was the worst I have ever been treated. I would not recommend this place to a pack of pigs!

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank benitaaspen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PORTLAND
1 review
Reviewed 15 December 2007

My family and I stayed at the hotel . The rooms are very clean and service was great. Kids enjoyed new hot breakfast items, waffles especially, and the pool. Highly recommend this hotel.

  • Liked — larg and clean room
  • Disliked — good breakfast
  • Stayed December 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank allied100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
portland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 October 2007

My family has stayed at this hotel on three occasions during 2007. We are a new family and don't have alot of money to spend when we are visiting family. Our first two stays were okay, not much to talk about. This last stay on October 14th, 2007 was very nice. We were informed that new owners had recently taken over. The staff was really nice, going to extra lenghts to meet all of our accomodations. I could see that they were making minor changes with a variety of previous problems ( remote controls that work, rooms were nice and clean) So if you are looking for a hotel that is low in price, this hotel is becoming a good choice.

  • Liked — seeing the new improvements
  • Disliked — no opinion
  • Stayed October 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank btrflyhome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gresham
0.9 mi away
Quality Inn Gresham
Quality Inn Gresham
#1 of 11 in Gresham
204 reviews
1.0 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Gresham
0.2 mi away
Clarion Inn
Clarion Inn
#5 of 11 in Gresham
91 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Days Inn Portland/Gresham
3.2 mi away
Super 8 Gresham/Portland Area OR
2.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Cascade Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Motel 6 Gresham City Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel 6 Gresham City Center

Property: Motel 6 Gresham City Center
Address: 1572 NE Burnside Rd, Gresham, OR 97030-5719 (Formerly Howard Johnson Inn - Gresham)
Region: United States > Oregon > Gresham
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 11 Hotels in Gresham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Motel 6 Gresham City Center 2*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Motel 6 Gresham - East is located off of I-85 near shopping and dining. Conveniently located near skiing in Mt. Hood, beautiful Multnomah Falls, and downtown Portland. Guests can enjoy free WiFi access in all modern guest rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Booking.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Motel 6 Gresham City Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Gresham
Gresham Howard Johnson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing